Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Digital timer for use with irrigation systems. Suitable for use with ½" hoses.

Digital timer for use with irrigation systems. Suitable for use with ½" hoses.
Average Customer Rating:
2.294 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
9
7 of 17(41%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Review 1 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as Hozelock
14 Jul 2012
By Dalt
, Grantham
" Having 2 sets of watering systems i was not to keen on spending £50 on another timer. So instead i bought the digital timer which has proved to be just as efficient ,if not better than the Hozelock at double the price.
Although Hozelock has a great reputation this is not to be sneered at with it's very modest price tag. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Neat bit of kit
15 Jun 2012
By Lazyoldgit
, Norfolk
" Just to correct one error in the description - this takes 2xAA batteries, not AAA.
I set it up in all of 5 minutes. It's dead easy to use and will trigger the water for one of a series of set intervals of up to 3 hours but at times that are not programmable (you have a choice of 6am, 9am and 6pm). However, you can fiddle with the timer to get roughly what you want.
As an example I selected the settings to run my sprinklers for 30 minutes (hosepipe ban just been lifted here) at 6am and 6pm every day but I actually want the water to come on at 7am and 7pm so I simply set the clock an hour behind the actual time.
Looks a bit cheap and nasty but another huge saving (it was bought on a 28% off promo) over the big brand options. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant water timer
17 Jul 2013
By Normski1331
, Colchester
" Great bit of kit!
Easy to set up, clear digital readout, lots of watering options, & so much cheaper than my previous timer (Hozelock ).
"
Review 4 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value irrigator
1 Jul 2012
By TheIrrigator
, West Somerset
" The irrigator is well constructed and easy to install and programme with the instructions provided.
I have only used the unit for one week but have experienced no problems except the fixed times for on and off i.e. 6am and 6pm. As I am only interested in using once a day, I set the clocb back two hours to permit me to time the watering to commence at 8pm.
Good unit, good price.
Yet again Well done Screwfix.
It's so good a friend has bought one also. "
Review 5 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap, but it works
23 Apr 2012
By NotMe
, Hampshire
" Not really programmable - instead you select from a handful of preselected programs to choose the watering interval, and also select one of a set of watering durations. More than enough for most usage, and simple to use.
Use brand new batteries - if it thinks that they are worn down then it takes the fail-safe option of not switching on... which fooled me at first. Once I realised what it was doing I figured that is better than it turning on and not having the juice to switch off again. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mains Water timer
30 May 2013
By LateDev
, Milton Keynes
" As per the review Title, the description given is not wholly accurate. This is a timer that will only work normally under mains water pressure, so is no good for attaching to a low pressure system.
As far as the timer goes, it is extremely good value for money doing the job of irrigating plants on a regular basis inside the greenhouse.
Like a said it is mains water pressure only which is a shame, since I would have loved to attached this to a water butt, to save money on water.
"
Review 7 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Twice a day water timer
18 Jun 2012
By thstratford
, Stratford upon Avon
" Reasonable value, basic on/off water timer with fixed 12 hour interval. 6am and/or 6 pm. Not ideal times for watering. Simple answer, if you want to water at 10pm (as I do) set internal clock back by 4 hours. Simples!!!. "
Review 8 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality
10 Jul 2013
By Leftinthelurch
, Leicestershire
" Initially thought this was very good but after less than a week it filled with water and packed up. I now see that later in the review list other people have complained about the same thing happening. "
Review 9 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good While It Lasted
28 May 2014
By RW46
, Forest of Dean
" For the first year this worked all season without any problems controlling a rainwater fed drip irrigation system in my greenhouse. I was impressed by the range of settings. I stored it over winter after removing the batteries. This year I installed new batteries and initially it worked OK. However, after 2 days the timer reset itself and after a further 2 days it stopped completely. When it works a good timer, pity about the reliability. "
Review 10 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible! Don't buy this!
4 Aug 2013
By ABCB
, Leamington Spa
" I bought this to water plants in the greenhouse while I was away on holiday for 3 weeks.
How it was still working when I got back, I have no idea as the whole thing was full of water (presumably from the rain, though it could be from the mains water, I suppose) when I got back the other day. When I disconnected it, the entire thing: batteries, circuit board, etc. were all swimming in rusty water, so it had clearly filled up early on.
Next time I shall buy one that's more expensive and more reliable. This is an example of cheap turning out to be rather expensive as it only lasted a few weeks.
"
Review 11 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor design
2 Aug 2013
By Guffers
, West Midlands
" Had 2 units - both failed due to insufficient sealing so that water leaked into the pcb controls. Screwfix credited the cost efficiently but purchased alternative unit from elsewhere. "
Review 12 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not work
24 Jul 2013
By garden4fun
, Hampshire
" Bought one 3 weeks ago & it filled up with water. Returned it for a replacement & it did the same.
My opinion is - not functional. "
Review 13 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Filled up with water
19 Jul 2013
By TCSC47
, Midlands
" The timer filled up with water within 5 mins of first operation and ceased to work. I went back to replace it but there were none left in stock, so got my money back. I note that at the time of writing (July 2013) there do not appear to be any stock anywhere. I presume it has been taken off the market. I hope they sort out the problems because it has a simple but adequet operating system and is an excellent price.
(If it had worked it would be 5 stars for value, but as it didn't, it dosn't really have any value, and so merits no stars) "
Review 14 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
absolute rubbish
18 Jul 2013
By Anonymous
, Berkshire
" It worked for a day and a half and then the battery light started flashing to say the batteries were flat, they were still fully charged (Duracell with charge indicator).
Tried Energiser, exactly the same thing happened.
"
Review 15 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One out of three worked
26 Jun 2013
By Knotty1655
, Church Eaton
" I bought two of these and fitted them on the same day. After half an hour, one had failed, so I returned it for an exchange unit.
Fitting that one next day, the display immediately filled with water and failed.
on the third visit to Screwfix, (10 miles away), the staff gave me my money back and said they would report the problem.
I bought a replacement from Aldi, which has worked fine.
The original Screwfix unit that worked is still going well after three weeks, but my confidence has been shaken in this product.
Good value if it works!
"
Review 16 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is rubbish
9 Jun 2013
By Meeee
, Luton
" I bought one of these and the digital display filled with water. I changed it and the same thing happened. I changed it again and it worked once and stopped working. So I changed it gain, the same thing happened. I got fed up with this so I fitted a Hozelock Electronic watering timer-pro with a remote rain sensor. This cost £59.98. O.K. this is a lot of money, but what a wonderful gadget. Well worth the money. "
Review 17 for Digital Timer for Irrigation Systems
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
you get what you pay for
24 Apr 2013
By smudgaa
, Loughborough
" About to take back the second unit. The first ceased to work after 2 or 3 days, it filled up with water not good for electrics.
On the second unit (straight out the box) none of the setting buttons work. You cannot set the time or the delay.
Is it as the person in Screwfix said 'It may be a bad batch' but what ever I do not think I would rely on it to water my tomatoes will on holiday.
"