Product Reviews

Classic RJ45 Crimping Tool

Classic RJ45 Crimping Tool
Average Customer Rating:
2.182 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
4 of 11(36%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Review 1 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rj45 crimp tool
2 Jan 2016
By
, Essex
" Good quality tool, does the job, easy to use. Good instructions on how to crimp "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just the job
25 May 2016
By
, Tunbridge Wells
" Seems good quality, there were great instruction supplied which made life easy "
Review 3 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Did the job
30 Oct 2015
By
, camberley
" Bought these to fit the RJ45 plugs also bought.
They worked OK for what I wanted and did what they said they would on the instructions.
When stripping the outer cover you have to be careful not to press too hard but this is stated on the instructions.
If you are careful they work well and fitted the plugs that I needed to.
Can't advise about reliability as only bought them this week.
"
Review 4 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
13 Dec 2009
By
, WGC
" It is a very good tool for making of RJ45 ends, the only issue I had is that the cutter for removing the outer sheaf is a little bit too close and can cut the inner cores so ending up going back to my side cutters for the initial preparation but the tool is excellant for crimping the ends. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
couldnt crimp not 1 rj45plug
7 Sep 2011
By
, london
" after wasting about 20 rj45 plugs and alot of cat5 cable, i had have a closer look to see what was going wrong. Maybe i had the only faulty crimper in their range? I realized that evry time you aply presure, the teeth slide into the side of the metal contacts of the rj45 plugs and actually pulls have them out rather than compress them in. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NOT recommended
14 Dec 2015
By
, Weybridge
" The crimping tool is too flimsy - looses alignment and even with a lot of fiddling it's really hard to get a rj45 plug crimped on with all connections working...
Spend a bit more money and get a better bit of kit - mines going in the bin.
"
Review 7 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Entirely unfit for purpose
8 Feb 2015
By
, St Neots
" This tool is simply not robust enough, there's too much movement in the pivot of the tool and the teeth which depress the pins of the plug when crimping slide down the side of the pins as mentioned my other reviewers.
I only wish I had read the reviews before purchasing as I would not have wasted my time. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont waste your time
9 Oct 2014
By
, leominster
" the teeth slide into the side of the metal contacts of the rj45 plugs and actually pulls have them out rather than compress them. and never crimps the end contact "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its a no go for me.
12 Jul 2012
By
, Eaglesham
" I bought this as I only had a few cat5e cables to make up.
First cable had a few unmade connections after checking it. So I thought my technique was out.
2nd cable wouldn't even crimp the connector to the cable.
On looking at it closer, the tool had actually become misaligned i.e. both handles were no longer square as it had bent in the middle. This may well have been my fault for squeezing too hard on the first cable bot there is no way of knowing how much pressure to use.
I ended up buying a ratchet type for under £20 that actually makes the connection coming down from the top rather than from the side. The difference is unbelievable. "
Review 10 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheap crimpers
30 Nov 2011
By
, Brighton
" What do you expect for £12?
Decent RJ45 crimp tools like Molex cost ten times that and no professional installer would use these. The crimp tool market is flooded with cheap imports because no-one wants to pay the proper price. If you just want to do a couple of crimps, they are OK, but definitely not day-in day-out use.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RJ45 Crimp Tool
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible
20 Sep 2011
By
, Aberystwyth
" As other reviewers have stated, the sheath cutter is overeager to say the least. The actual crimp fails, shreds the connectors, somehow the teeth seem to miss the connectors and just make a mess.
The other problem is the clip on the RJ45 plug ends up damaged after a crimp.
1 out of 5, as in 1 successful crimp in 5 attempts.
Jason. "