Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Interior Varnish Satin 750ml

Interior Varnish Satin 750ml
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Review 1 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job!
2 Sep 2014
By
, West Midlands
"I have used this varnish several times for protecting home-made carpentry in my shed and garage. It goes on easily, dries quickly so can be recoated a couple of time in a day and it finishes with a very smooth surface."
Review 2 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish
28 Aug 2014
By
, High Harrington
"I have been looking for this type of varnish for a while as I used a similar product before. It does what it says on the tin. Easy to clean brushes due to it been water based. Good stuff. It has a good finish."
Review 3 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff
29 Jul 2014
By
, midlands
"This stuff dry's very quick. Good natural finish. Hard wearing. Gave my oak doors 2 coats. Sanded down between coats to give a smoother finish..."
Review 4 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value varnish
31 Oct 2013
By
, Yorkshire
"I have used this varnish for MDF, it goes on well with a roller, and dries quickly leaving a good finish. As it is acrylic it is easy to clean the brushes etc.
As it is opaque and then dries clear it is easy to assess your coverage."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't review varnish...
11 Aug 2013
By
, Oxfordshire
"...but seriously this is one heck of a product!
When they say "quick drying" they really mean it. On intricate door frames I was finishing at the bottom of one jamb and starting the next coat straight away on the other.
It goes on perfectly - the fact that it looks white in bulk is great, you can never get too much on and so drips and runs are next to impossible.
The finish is quite simply stunning. Completely colour neutral, my doors and frames look the same colour as I stained them - just varnished.
Old High Volatile Hydrocarbon varnishes that looked kind of yellowy as soon as they went on the wood really put me off in the past but this stuff brings wood to life.
Wood is back!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
12 Mar 2013
By
, Walsall
"Great varnish nice Finnish and better then more expensive brands"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good stuff
2 Dec 2012
By
, Hampshire
"This is good varnish. It's easy to apply with a smooth finish and dries quickly. Being water-based, brushes, etc, are quick and easy to clean.
All paints and varnishes have become relatively much more expensive over the past decade. At least this one is much cheaper than most as well as being a good performer so I have to give it top marks for value.
I can't comment on reliability. It hasn't been down long enough but I've no reason to doubt that it will perform well in the long term
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No Nonsence Interior Varnish
16 May 2012
By
, Manchester
"Used this product on a Laminated Worktop and was pleased with the result
Applied with a foam mini roller and sanded between coats it looks great and I would use it again.
"
Review 9 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use
2 Sep 2011
By
, Folkestone
"I have used this varnish for years to seal cut worktops (sink and hob holes plus mitres) in kitchens I fit and never had a call back, you can wash the bushes out in water after so no need to get out the white spirit either."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weird varnish but great
15 Oct 2014
By
, Warwickshire
"When you open the tin, you will think of the art glue you used to use at school (if you are of a certain age!)
Water soluble to clean your brushes, for large areas we used a pressure pump sprayer then just brush over to give an even application. Crafty dodge there for free !!!
Drys really well has helped to lock in the natural colour of the wood.
Love it."
Review 11 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ideal for general use
4 Sep 2014
By
, penzance
"bought this to varnish a few pieces of plywood furniture i knocked up, does exactly what is says on the tin, and not a bad price compared to branded alternatives. If you are looking for a superior finish, might be worth looking for something different but for sealing and protecting and gives a pretty good finish, this is ideal."
Review 12 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good varnish
8 Apr 2014
By
, London
"Does what it says on the tin. quite thick so can easily be thinned a bit for first coat. good value."
Review 13 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value easy to use Varnish
19 Feb 2014
By
, Manchester
"Good value water based polyurethane varnish.
I used this to coat a worn tabletop (3 coats) after gently sanding and wiping with a damp cloth. I did use a bit of acetone to remove any residual wax on the surface and ensure a good coating with the water based varnish.
Never used this varnish before - but I was surprised to get a completely brush stroke free finish. It has a nice satin sheen.
After reading on the net about water based polyurethane/acrylic and from what I found myself :
- Stir gently with a clean stirrer for a minute or so (don't shake the tin).
- Use a separate container to hold the varnish so you don't contaminate the tin.
- Use reasonable quality synthetic brushes. I used the £3.49 No Nonsense brushes from Screwfix (Product Code: 40542). Only one bristle came out after 3 coats.
- Don't overwork the varnish. It will self level. If you continue to brush it once evaporation has started the brush strokes will have a better chance of remaining.
- Don't put it on too thick. It is very slightly milky in appearance when applying, but if you can't see the grain of the wood underneath then it is probably too thick.
- I very gently sanded after the first coat with finishing paper / wiped with damp cloth as the grain had slightly raised.
- Remember drying is not the same as hardening. This varnish will feel dry but still be soft. If you leave things on it in the first few days like a cup or plate, they can stick over time and damage the surface. It can take well over a week for this type of varnish to get a decent level of hardness.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No Nonsense varnish
19 Aug 2012
By
, Brogborough
"It did what it said on the tin. I would have like to have known that you could not dilute strengthg with white spirit, as it was was based?"
Review 15 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use
11 Apr 2012
By
, Brighton
"Easy to apply, quick drying so makes job time much shorter and just need water to clean brush. Satin finish."
Review 16 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Varnish Satin Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Didn't work for me
8 Apr 2014
By
, London
"I bought this on the strength of its reviews.
Everyone seems to have had great success with it, but, alas, I'm, not one of them. I bought it to varnish a 4.3m x 100mm hardwood plank and I just could not for the life of me get a decent finish. I tried numerous kinds of brushes (including foam) and everything dried with brush (or bush-like) marks. I've lost count of the times I've sanded it back down to start again.
Maybe it's just me, as everyone else seems to love it. But I suspect the problem is it just dries too quickly to do a large area without needing to re-work some of the semi-dry areas, and that means leaving marks."