Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Stanley LPG Heater 12.3kW

Stanley LPG Heater 12.3kW
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Review 1 for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good piece of kit
2 Dec 2015
By
, Newport, Essex
" Read a few negative reviews before purchasing this heater but, it came up in a deal so I thought I would give it a try.
Excellent Screwfix delivery as always, well packaged and easy to assemble. Attached my gas cylinder and 2 clicks of the igniter saw it burst into life. No problems with the thermocouple as mentioned by some, released after 10 seconds even though the manual says hold for 30. Plenty of heat output to take the chill off unheated sites.
Would have preferred the larger model with adjustable heat settings but these no longer seem to be available.
Great product, great price, one more problem solved.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast, efficient heater
20 Feb 2015
By
, Chester
" I bought this to heat my uninsulated single garage/workshop, replacing an electric heater which took a fall.
A couple of negatives first - so far I have never been able to let go of the ignition after the stated 30 seconds, but that could be due to slightly lower pressure from the 6kg gas cylinder I am using instead of the advised 13kg cylinder. On average I would say it has taken 90 to 120 seconds before I can let go of the ignition button. Secondly, while there is a variable control for the heat, it doesn't turn far before the flame goes out (this could also be related to my smaller gas bottle).
With that said, the good bits!
Over the past few days, I have gone to the garage and the thermometer has shown about 5C - less than ten minutes after turning on the heater, the thermometer has been over 20C. My 3kw electric heater never got the garage above 15C... and that was after an hour or so.
I looked around a lot before buying, and (at the time of purchase) this heater was a good £10 cheaper than any other similar one I could find.
Others have commented on the noise - forced air over a gas flame is never going to be quiet, but for a smaller area to heat, this heater is unlikely to be on all that long before it gets too hot for comfort! Some may see it as a pain turning the heater on and off, but the speed of heating up far outweighs having a thermostat on an electric heater that struggles to ever reach the desired temperature!
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great little heater
1 Jan 2015
By
, Horsham, sussex
" use this for heating my workshop, which is a converted garage . Within 10 mins its warm enough to take off coats and within 30 mins the place is quite toasty ,great. Now glues ,paint etc
dry as they should and the heater can be turned off . As somebody else said it is quite noisy and i find the radio being turned up.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent purchase
1 Jan 2015
By
, lanarkshire
" this was bought for a large garage and workshop and i was not sure if it was big enough.i have to say i am very impressed as this replaced a diesel space heater.so would highly recommend "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fast heat up
8 Dec 2013
By
, perthshire
" this wee heater gets my workshop warmed up really quick, 10 mins and its nearly time to takeoff my body warmer, great for heating the work shop when painting the garden furniture which i make. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant wee heater
24 Oct 2012
By
, West Lothian
" Bought this heater for a rather large garage and it is brilliant. Switched heater on and in two mins it had taken the chill out of the air and in five mins we were taking off our jackets. Totally amazed as it is so much smaller than the previous one and seems to be much more efficient
5 stars all round
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Powerful heater
9 Jan 2016
By
, Hertfordshire
" Bought this as my 2Kw electric heater was not upto the job of heating a double garage. This heater requires propane LPG bottle and AND a 240v power source to power the electric fan - so its no good in a power cut senario. Having said that, its supremely powerful and heats the garage in minutes.
Be warned its very noisy - like a big blowtorch
It requires 240v power
It requires (obviously) LPG gas bottle - I'm using 19Kg supply so plenty of pressure.
Lights up and stays alight in less that 10 seconds!!
Highly recommended if you need some serious heat in your workshop in a short amount of time. "
Review 8 for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good value
8 Jan 2016
By
, redhill
" everything worked ok but fumes from heater were overpowering so if you have breathing problems don't buy it, admitted I have COPD and found it just too much for me. Heated the garage quick but could not stop in there with out the door open so it defeated the object of having it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
heater
6 Jan 2016
By
, cwmbran
" easy to start,heats double garage fast,noisy!turn radio up job done.cant coment on reliability as only had couple of weeks, "
Review 10 for Stanley ST-40-GFA-E Black/Yellow LPG Fan Heater 12.3kW
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cheap thermocouple!
9 Jan 2016
By
, KENT
" Because Stanley use 'happy shopper' cheap parts, the thermocouple is not the best in the world, can take up to 60 seconds release ignition valve, other than that does the job, nice and toasty double garage warm from -2 in around 10 mins, 30 mins later too hot !!!
PS sounds like a small jet engine, which is exactly what my mates thought i had in my garage! "