Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ronseal Decking Oil Clear 5Ltr

Ronseal Decking Oil Clear 5Ltr
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ronseal Decking Oil Natural 5Ltr
Review 1 for Ronseal Decking Oil Natural 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
12 Sep 2014
By Danbob
, London
" This decking oil has a good finish and wears well.
However don't buy it at this price (49.99)!
I was just about to buy when I did a search and got it for £24 including delivery from another supplier.
"
Review 2 for Ronseal Decking Oil Natural 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best deck protection
14 Jun 2014
By Werdna
, Grays, Essex
" I use this every year to give my deck a spruce up. Jet clean the dirt off then when dry apply this oil. Better than other treatments as being oil based tends not to mark up when dragging furniture along the deck. I use the natural (clear) colour as it lets the wood grain show through. After a few years of using this the deck has got darker and more golden brown. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ronseal Decking Oil Natural 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use
30 Apr 2010
By Anonymous
, inverness
" easy to use, dries quite quick, leaves nice finish. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ronseal Decking Oil Natural 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin!
25 Jul 2014
By Bri1
, Basingstoke
" Great product. Very easy to apply with a great finish. Have used it before and found the protection is durable. Reasonable price and was able to collect locally after reserving for next day collection. "
Review 5 for Ronseal Decking Oil Natural 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
decking oil
28 Jun 2014
By pinkyp
, southampton
" looks like good value, went on ok and is now drying, have used before and did the job, no issues "
Review 6 for Ronseal Decking Oil Natural 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin
28 Jun 2013
By DiyRay
, Nottingham
" Its a bit difficult to rate something like a decking oil, when you don't know how long it's going to last for, but fortunately this is the second tin of oil I have bought, so I can rate the first tin.
I actually bought two tins for the area I had to cover the first time round and gave the decking two coats and the two tins just about covered what there were supposed to (depends of course on how much you splash on though and I was pretty 'liberal' with it !). That was two years ago and the decking was now in need of a top up.
After two years the decking was looking in real need of a revamp. I bought just the one tin this time, on the theory that the last covering should still be within the wood and the one tin was enough to cover the decking this time round, with a bit left over and to be fair the decking is once again looking like new.
So my advice would be to give new decking two coats, as I did and then top up with one coat when you feel it needs it.
All in all v pleased with this product.
"
Review 7 for Ronseal Decking Oil Natural 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin?
4 May 2014
By Grumpyolman
, Tamworth, Staffs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" The actual product, though pricy, made the freshly cleaned deck look very nice when applied with a 4" fencing brush. It dried to a "wet look" that touched off the rest of the garden nicely.
It appears, as previously reviewed, that this is in fact a varnish type product NOT oil and therefore I followed the instructions to "Flood" the wood with the first coat to allow it to soak in fully.
When dry, this first coat looks slightly patchy but that is taken care of by the second/final coat.
This is where the problem arose; the contents of the 5ltr can only covered 18m2 with one coat, NOT the 25m2 of two coats as specified on the tin. This necessitated a second tin to be purchased to cover the second coat which used far less than the first.
Overall I'm happy with the quality of the product, just not the cost and coverage.
"
Review 8 for Ronseal Decking Oil Natural 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Peeling Decking oil
17 May 2011
By jaybee258
, Yorkshire
" The main reason I bought this particular oil was that it was the only treatment that contained a UV inhibitor. This should stop the wood fading to a dull grey colour. This is an expensive product that should perform well, but it started flaking and peeling off new wood after 6 months. This product is NOT an oil, it is just another name for a varnish, that sits on top of the wood and does not soak into dry wood. I have also found that other 'wood stains' are not stains, but just varnish that sits on the top of the wood and soon flake and peel off too. Expect to need to re-coat every 1 - 2 years, which is a lot of work. I have re ordered this product because it seems to be the best of the bunch and it has stopped the wood greying too much "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.