Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit 10mm

Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit 10mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
15 of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Review 1 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best metal drill bit around
28 May 2011
By Hadham
, Bishops Stortford
" Very well made, strong and everlasting. Gives accurate and fast clean cut. Excellent waste removal "
Review 2 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best drill range around
16 May 2015
By UKTroll
, Aylesbury
" These DeWalt Extreme drills are outstanding.
There's no need for a centre punch, as the tip holds its position well on start up. They are typically at least twice as fast as conventional HSS bits and the whole team use them as their preferred choice. Worth every penny!
Top Tip: We've found it better to slow the larger drills right down once the main part has started cutting, as they cut more efficiently, overheat less, and don't snatch once they break through. Otherwise they are so sharp that they can pull through suddenly. "
Review 3 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good drill bit
14 May 2015
By Juker
, Gravesend
" I purchased some 40x40x4mm box section for chainlink posts, at 61 I did not relish the thought of drilling the 42 x 10 mm holes for the eye bolts, I saw the reviews for these drills and thought give them a go. I purchased three, used one, really made the job easy using an 18v rechargeable drill . Drilling at low speed with medium pressure went through like a hot knife through butter.
Very pleased with my drills and now have 2 spare for future projects. Eric
"
Review 4 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the extra expense
5 Feb 2015
By Scribbler
, Cornwall
" Beats the cheaper 'throwaway' HSS bits by a country mile... clean cuts, a lovely continuous swarf even through the 8mm thick flange of a steel beam. Goes through steel about 4 times faster #keep the drill speed slow though# simply because it just keeps on cutting without losing an edge "
Review 5 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A tough bit
2 Oct 2014
By Cheadle
, Manchester
" Used this to drill through various grades and thicknesses of steel in combination with my dewalt drill purchased here also. The bit still hasn't gone blunt even after all the abuse it has suffered. Highly recommended. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality bits
12 Jun 2014
By mikeos
, Wrexham
" About the only thing DeWalt produce that I would recommend are their drill bits ( yes I know most people seem to like them but I don't... just my preference)
Good quality, accurate and long lasting, if a little over priced "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow
17 May 2014
By MrRock
, Wakefield
" I have never used a drill bit as good as these extreme bits
I had to drill 10mm holes in a huge rsj H section girder used a 5mm 8mm then the 10mm took less than 5mins for each hole the steel was 12mm thick.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeWalt 10mm Extr 2 HSS Drill
7 Jun 2013
By Weltrock
, Halifax
" Needed to drill a broken/seized 10mm steel bolt (2inch long) out of my car's front hub. (New front hub would have been £100+)
1st thought was to find a local small machine shop to do it for me - but these don't seem to exist any more where I live
Had tried and ruined half a dozen standard black cheap HSS drills, and managed to get in about 1/4 inch and wandered off-center at that.
Bought 2 of these drills and what a difference - It took about 20 minutes going slowly, ( using an old B & D drill and even older drill stand) but hole drilled was clean edged and accurate and followed the line of the rusted-in bolt well. I only needed to use one of the drills, and this only shows a small amount of wear.
This product definitely gets my vote
"
Review 9 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
7 Mar 2012
By Beek
, Brighton
" If you pay the price you get the quality product.
These drill bits deliver time and time again.
Once you've used these drill bits there will be no going back !!!!!!
"
Review 10 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Drill
24 Feb 2010
By Tansy
, Newport
" The dual tip meant no need for pilot hole and there was no skidding even on a curved surface. thsi was even with a 10mm drill through steel. "
Review 11 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality drill bits
5 Feb 2015
By Superglaze
, Sutton surey
" Good quality drill bits nice clean holes bite really well no slipping "
Review 12 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems good
25 Jul 2013
By LordMcIver
, East Yorkshire
" Used to drill holes in a manhole cover 8mm thick. Did the job with no problems. Seems very good quality. "
Review 13 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Dril
1 Jun 2010
By JWUnite
, Wales
" very good product, does the job time and time again, great value for money "
Review 14 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good, with reservations
31 Mar 2010
By Woodman2
, Horsham
" These drills cut precision, burr-free holes in steel effortlessly, especially with a pillar drill revolving at the correct speed. However their performance lies partly in their extreme hardness and this comes at the expense of durability - I have broken three of these drills in mild steel without apparent reason. Two broke in half and the other lost its tip. Strangely this has happened only in the 10mm size, all others have been fine. "
Review 15 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tested to destruction
7 Feb 2010
By John221
, Yorkshire
" I opened the pack, drilled 78 holes in 8mm S275JR plate, and the bit was shot.
That's just over 600mm of drilling from one bit, which, for HSS is pretty darned good. I nursemaided the bit, dipping it in oil twice per hole, so I cut about 4mm per dip and towards the end (last ten holes) performance really dropped off so I do think I pretty neatly nailed the max life you can expect from one of these bits in bog standard structural steel.
So, what's not to like? The tip feature means you can't regrind it. - It's a one way trip from pack to drill to bin. at about 8p a hole, the bit cost more than the screws which went in the holes it made. Of course, my time costs about 10x more than either.
And if I was serious about drilling a lot of holes ( I have a similar job coming up so have got some more of these) I'd buy a Ti coated solid carbide bit (about £180 in this size, but hugely more durable - I just don't have that many holes to drill)
If you're drilling structural steel, these are an okay choice. Get one for each half metre of hole you have to cut, and nanny them. You'll do fine. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not the best
17 Mar 2015
By AmateurGardener
, Herts.
" Used this to drill holes in upvc windows that have metal sandwitched in the frame. Hard work. "
Review 17 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst bit ever
29 Jun 2013
By pgdiy
, perthshire
" this must rate as the worst driil bit ever, went blunt before drilling the first hole, even with a 5mm pilot hole before hand, for a dewalt its very much a let down "
Review 18 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pathetic
23 Sep 2011
By Rob1975
, Manchester
" Outperformed by drill bits that are a fraction of the cost, it couldn't even manage two holes in the 5mm steel fencepost I purchased it for. I'm taking it back. 'Extreme'ly disappointed. "