Product Reviews

Stronger and faster than standard bits. Tip starts drilling on contact, eliminating walking for clean accurate holes. Innovative tapered web design greatly reduces breakage. Gold ferrous oxide coating prevents overheating for longer bit life.

Stronger and faster than standard bits. Tip starts drilling on contact, eliminating walking for clean accurate holes. Innovative tapered web design greatly reduces breakage. Gold ferrous oxide coating prevents overheating for longer bit life.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Review 1 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best metal drill bit around
28 May 2011
By Hadham
, Bishops Stortford
"Very well made, strong and everlasting. Gives accurate and fast clean cut. Excellent waste removal"
Review 2 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality bits
12 Jun 2014
By mikeos
, Wrexham
"About the only thing DeWalt produce that I would recommend are their drill bits ( yes I know most people seem to like them but I don't... just my preference)
Good quality, accurate and long lasting, if a little over priced"
Review 3 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow
17 May 2014
By MrRock
, Wakefield
"I have never used a drill bit as good as these extreme bits
I had to drill 10mm holes in a huge rsj H section girder used a 5mm 8mm then the 10mm took less than 5mins for each hole the steel was 12mm thick.
"
Review 4 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeWalt 10mm Extr 2 HSS Drill
7 Jun 2013
By Weltrock
, Halifax
"Needed to drill a broken/seized 10mm steel bolt (2inch long) out of my car's front hub. (New front hub would have been £100+)
1st thought was to find a local small machine shop to do it for me - but these don't seem to exist any more where I live
Had tried and ruined half a dozen standard black cheap HSS drills, and managed to get in about 1/4 inch and wandered off-center at that.
Bought 2 of these drills and what a difference - It took about 20 minutes going slowly, ( using an old B & D drill and even older drill stand) but hole drilled was clean edged and accurate and followed the line of the rusted-in bolt well. I only needed to use one of the drills, and this only shows a small amount of wear.
This product definitely gets my vote
"
Review 5 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
7 Mar 2012
By Beek
, Brighton
"If you pay the price you get the quality product.
These drill bits deliver time and time again.
Once you've used these drill bits there will be no going back !!!!!!
"
Review 6 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Drill
24 Feb 2010
By Tansy
, Newport
"The dual tip meant no need for pilot hole and there was no skidding even on a curved surface. thsi was even with a 10mm drill through steel."
Review 7 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems good
25 Jul 2013
By LordMcIver
, East Yorkshire
"Used to drill holes in a manhole cover 8mm thick. Did the job with no problems. Seems very good quality."
Review 8 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Dril
1 Jun 2010
By JWUnite
, Wales
"very good product, does the job time and time again, great value for money"
Review 9 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good, with reservations
31 Mar 2010
By Woodman2
, Horsham
"These drills cut precision, burr-free holes in steel effortlessly, especially with a pillar drill revolving at the correct speed. However their performance lies partly in their extreme hardness and this comes at the expense of durability - I have broken three of these drills in mild steel without apparent reason. Two broke in half and the other lost its tip. Strangely this has happened only in the 10mm size, all others have been fine."
Review 10 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tested to destruction
7 Feb 2010
By John221
, Yorkshire
"I opened the pack, drilled 78 holes in 8mm S275JR plate, and the bit was shot.
That's just over 600mm of drilling from one bit, which, for HSS is pretty darned good. I nursemaided the bit, dipping it in oil twice per hole, so I cut about 4mm per dip and towards the end (last ten holes) performance really dropped off so I do think I pretty neatly nailed the max life you can expect from one of these bits in bog standard structural steel.
So, what's not to like? The tip feature means you can't regrind it. - It's a one way trip from pack to drill to bin. at about 8p a hole, the bit cost more than the screws which went in the holes it made. Of course, my time costs about 10x more than either.
And if I was serious about drilling a lot of holes ( I have a similar job coming up so have got some more of these) I'd buy a Ti coated solid carbide bit (about £180 in this size, but hugely more durable - I just don't have that many holes to drill)
If you're drilling structural steel, these are an okay choice. Get one for each half metre of hole you have to cut, and nanny them. You'll do fine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst bit ever
29 Jun 2013
By pgdiy
, perthshire
"this must rate as the worst driil bit ever, went blunt before drilling the first hole, even with a 5mm pilot hole before hand, for a dewalt its very much a let down"
Review 12 for DeWalt 10mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pathetic
23 Sep 2011
By Rob1975
, Manchester
"Outperformed by drill bits that are a fraction of the cost, it couldn't even manage two holes in the 5mm steel fencepost I purchased it for. I'm taking it back. 'Extreme'ly disappointed."