Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita 10.8V 1.3Ah Triple Pack

Makita 10.8V 1.3Ah Triple Pack
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Review 1 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
5 Dec 2014
By Patr
, Mid Wales
" A cracking little set at a stunning price.
Excellent storage box, very useful little torch and grip and two excellent drill/drivers. Remarkably powerful for their size, the two drill units are beautifully balanced and so easy to use. The LED light gives a good spread in dark areas and the triggers on both are smooth to operate from slow to a fast speed.
I have looked at these for a while but the price and the toy-like appearance has put me off. This last Screwfix deal convinced me to purchase and I have been totally impressed at just how good these tools are. Toys they are not and fully backed by a Makita 3 year warranty makes this kit my bargain of the year. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr
5 Dec 2014
By mitchyboo
, London
" Magnificent kit! well worth the money, especially that I got it at half price! not worried about only being 10.8v, more than powerful enough for my needs.
Only negative is that there are three units but only 2 batteries! Storage box also high quality."
"
Review 3 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant combination set
4 Dec 2014
By inonikname
, Morecambe
" Makita quality will rival anything else available. This set is great value with bonus added torch and priced well below competition. Compact, light weight and plenty of power for size. Dont be put off by voltage, punches well above expectation. Recommended. "
Review 4 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good collection
3 Dec 2014
By MC77
, Birmingham
" Excellent bit of kit well worth the money - especially as got at almost half price! Was worried about only being 10.8v, but more than powerful enough for my needs. Also surprisingly small which is no bad thing.
I thought the torch would be pretty much ignored but I have used it. As LED is lasts forever and is pretty powerful.
Slightly odd that there is three units but only 2 batteries!
Storage box also high quality.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than expected
3 Dec 2014
By bakesieboy
, biggleswade
" It was a choice between these and the bosch ones but went for these on price. I was expecting to compromise slightly on quality over the bosch kit but these are superb and were great value on special offer. Great kit from a quality brand at the same price as budget tools, whats not to like! "
Review 6 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18v to10.8v
2 Dec 2014
By skimmit
, wells
" Replaced a tired 18v combi drill with this set, used mostly for plasterboading ceilings, it's much lighter, good for me as I'm getting tired too, thoroughly recommended kit. "
Review 7 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Little Drill Big Performance
2 Dec 2014
By Boggis2
, Midlands
" These are fantastic bits of kit.
Bought to replace three 15 year old 9.6 volt Makita drill drivers, they are much smaller, lighter and more powerful and perform considerably better than their size would have you believe. The first ones have been in use constantly on sites for over a year and have taken a lot of abuse.
Surprised how useful the impact driver is, it has even been used to drive screws into oak posts, and is much easier to use than a drill driver when working at full reach as no pressure is needed to drive in the screws.
It does take it's toll on the pozi bits though!
Battery life is a bit shorter than the old 2200ma 9.6v but fast chargers and a couple of extra batteries is the solution.
Small, rugged and you can't kill them, and a three year warranty if you register them with Makita online.
Great bits of Kit. "
Review 8 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty darn good!
1 Dec 2014
By MaccaPacca
, London
" I'm planning on building some decking and only having one combi drill to do both the pilot holes and screws will be a nightmare. I saw this set in the sale and couldnt resist.
I bought it primarily for the impact driver and thought the drill at 10.8v would be underpowered but for the average DIY'er, it should cope admirably with mosts tasks.
The torch with adjustable cradle was an added bonus.
An extra battery would have been great (for the torch) but for the price I paid, I'm very happy with what I got.
I can't comment on reliability yet but it feels solid and well made - So much better than my budget Black & Decker drill. "
Review 9 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amazing bit of kit!!
13 Aug 2014
By JasonW
, Loughborough
" I purchased this pack as I lost my old Sparky 10.8v drill/driver charger.
I used the drill/driver for counter sinking and pilot hole drilling 1150 holes in solid composite deck boards. Yes I did say 1150 holes!!
It performed superbly and each battery completed about 150 pilot holes. My normal power tool of choice is Makita 18v Lithium but this 10.8v kit is so much lighter and easy to handle for this kind of work. I did use the impact driver to place several 60mm Spax deck screws (29675) but found it was a little slow compared to my 18v tools which was expected.
I think me and the 10.8v kit will get on well with my multi job work life. Quick to charge with two batteries on hand.
What more can I say other than well done Makita.
The sturdy box is also excellent. If you remove the foam insert you can fit all kinds of kit in the box and keep the drivers in your job bag.
I'm only giving three stars for reliability as I've only used the kit for three days. So far it's excellent.
I've been a Makita fan for the last 14 years and wouldn't change.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
makita 10.8v triple pack
13 Jul 2013
By woodlandsroad
, Kent
" Amazing little drill and driver. I cant believe that I have not had an impact driver until now.
The impact driver can put away 100mm screws much better than my 18v Hitatchi drill.
Both tools really light and nice to hold.
It a shame the you dont get a 3rd battery for the torch.
I have not had the item long weekend enough to comment on battery life and reliability. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value
1 Dec 2014
By Lady1
, Crewkerne
" This product was bought as a gift after being highly recommended I am sure te
He receiver will be thrilled
"
Review 12 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
looks like a toy
13 Dec 2014
By italiastar
, surrey
" This is my first Makita purchase and certainly my last.
I bought this primarily for the twin pack, but due to it being overpriced on its own, i bought the twin pack. The impact driver is ok, but time will tell if it will last. The drill is appalling. My first one had a wobbly chuck caused by loose bearings. This was replaced by Makia after 3 months arguing with them, in what must be my worse customer service experience ever for another one with the same fault. They replaced it again, with one that was ok, but both replacements were the wrong colour, because "white is a limited edition" Using the replacement drill today the battery performance is appalling - 36 holes in wood - 8mm and 4mm and ive had to charge the battery 3 times. As for size, the frill is the same size as my 18v DeWalt, which outperforms it quality and performance wise many times. This drill is fine as a childs toy - i wish id stuck to Metabo or Dewalt. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Makita DK1486W 10.8V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Triple Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor battery life
9 Sep 2013
By desmo
, Kent
" Had this Makita Cordless triple pack a month now and I am disappointed with the battery life. I purchased this item after a bosch cordless unit I had for over 2 years got damaged on site so this was a bit of a hasty purchase as needed a cordless screwdriver asap and the local branches of screwfix didn't have the Bosch units in stock so went with the Makita....mistake.
Even when batteries fully charged the life span is very short compared with the bosch. Last approx. half an hour with not a great deal of use, (I'm an electrician so fixing boxes etc). Nothing that should be a problem for this kind of kit !!
Honestly thinking of returning the unit as not that happy with battery life!!!
Shame as box etc very sturdy and well presented bit of kit.
"
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.