Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Roughneck Post-Hole Digger

Roughneck Post-Hole Digger
Average Customer Rating:
4.788 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Review 1 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roughneck Post Hole Digger
19 Jul 2015
By Malkey
, Winchester
" A well make tool, solidly build and does the job well. I cannot fault roughneck as a brand, they are by far the best. "
Review 2 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Post hole digger
11 Jul 2015
By Gardenerz
, Stoke-on-Trent
" Very solid construction - and good value from Screwfix. Still hard work digging holes, but a lot easier with this device - and holes finish up a better size. "
Review 3 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Should Have Bought One Years A
17 Jun 2015
By InbredAl
, Ceredigion
" Oversized holes, scooping earth out on hands and knees, back breaking shoveling; all these are a thing of the past. This tool is perfect for all hole digging projects. I have used this in combination with the Roughneck metal hole digger... Loosen stone ridden earth first then scoop it out, all whilst standing straight. Should have bought one years ago; now go and buy yours. Oh, it was also the best price I could find.
Did I mention the free next day delivery - phoned order through at lunchtime and took delivery just after 09:00 the following morning. Super. "
Review 4 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toughneck
16 May 2015
By Sparky1969
, Norfolk
" After my old wooden digger broke, I decided to go fibreglass, and I'm not disappointed.
Fantastic tool which does exactly what it's supposed to, with the added bonus of it not rotting if accidentally left outside.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
invaluable tool
2 May 2015
By cbpropertymaintenance
, harleston
" Had my set of posthole diggers for two years and have done several fencing jobs with them. They've been really good and taken some stick ... highly recommend . "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for task
30 Jan 2015
By Bigone
, Kendal
" Found it really good in soil and small stony ground. Once got into rhythm of using proved very effective in holes to 600mm deep. Weight helps in getting impact. Really good buy "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right tool for the job
8 Aug 2014
By Properjobman
, Leeds
" Although this still needs quite a lot of effort, it is definitely the right tool for the job of digging post holes. I used four overlapping digs to get the 300mm x 300 mm hole down to 600 mm deep. It was hard work but at least I knew that I was only digging the size needed and with clean vertical sides. Very pleased that I bought. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Piece of Kit
24 Jun 2014
By deetee49
, Glastonbury
" Read the previous reviews from others and so pleased that I did because this tool is brilliant! It reduced both the time taken to produce close fitting accurate post holes and the concrete used. Produces clean 8" dia holes to accept 4" sq posts leaving sufficient space for concrete. I worked to a depth of 0.75m easily but which is about its limit. Returning unused bags of concrete which will cover more than half the cost of the tool. It's a 'no brainer'! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
23 Jun 2014
By sing
, exeter
" As other reviewers have said this is a fantastic tool and you won't regret buying it. I was dubious having spent a small fortune on 13 concrete posts and panels but the extra 40 quid for this was well worth it for the ease of doing the job. I found you still need to shave the edges of the hole ever so slightly with a spade to get the holes square but then again i'm not sure you actually need your holes to be square as long as they're sufficient diameter. It's a rock solid bit of kit although weirdly the thing that brought it to a halt was squidgy shrub roots but those are easily chopped out of the way. Big pebbles also slow it down but as the hole is so quick to cut it's easy to scoop those out by hand. Highly Recommend. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for digging post holes
22 Jun 2014
By BigH99
, Hants
" I purchased this along with the roughneck posthole digger. An excellent combination which makes light work of roots and rocks when digging post holes. This would be fine in virgin ground (no major roots or rocks), but with the 17lb digger makes a no brainer.
I wish I'd bought these years ago, it would have saved me loads of time and hard work. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Should have got one before
29 May 2014
By JayMGM
, London
" Simply cannot fault this product has saved me so much time ,on jobs .If you do not have one you simply need one . "
Review 12 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and very effective
9 May 2014
By Chrish1964
, Lincoln
" Got this for a decking project and was well worth the money. Made easy work of digging neat deep holes on ground which is unlevel and of varying density and composition. "
Review 13 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted
9 Mar 2014
By doitrightfirsttime
, Oxford
" Wasn't sure whether to bother getting this for just two projects but so glad I did!
I was delighted with how light the tool was and how well it did the job!
Don't hesitate buying this if you have some fence posts to put in. "
Review 14 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DONT HESITATE - BUY ONE !!!!!
29 May 2013
By LuckyBob
, Surrey
" Ummed & arrrd about buying this, materials cost far more than expected and was hesitant to spend another 40 quid. WOW so pleased I did, had one of those tool heaven moments, bit like when I first bought an SDS drill. This digger is amazing, I dug a dozen 3ft deep straight sided perfectly round holes in an hour ! Works a treat & if you do hit something hard turn it 90 degrees & off you go again.Had to get a saw down 1 hole that had a tree root in it but it chomped thru smaller stuff no worries.Last time I fenced I bought a "post hole shovel", must have taken 15 mins per hole and they ended up 3 times the size, back ached and I had to stop for a cuppa & a tab every 3 holes ! Also as the holes are so prescise I only used 7 bags of postcrete so reckon by the time you've done 20 posts the tool has paid for itself in material savings alone. Have ended up with pin straight rock solid posts and am well chuffed. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
25 Apr 2013
By Digga
, Warwicks
" When the soil is soft and crumbly it's a piece of cake to did nice tight holes. When its hard and rocky, it'll shift lots of stuff but you may still need a long chisel of crowbar but reaching down for the spoil and cleaning up is a doddle.
Fantastic value - should have bought one decades ago! "
Review 16 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
post hole diggers
2 Dec 2012
By leepea1
, morecambe
" good product for price did what i wanted llllllllllllllllllllllllllllll "
Review 17 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
post digger
3 Oct 2012
By warhorse
, The Fens
" This is an excellent well made tool, not to heavy to use all day, good strong flexible handles that do not break as do the wooden ones from other manufacturers, and it has a lifetime guarantee ??? from the manufacturer, but the way that it is performing I think it unlikely this will be put to use. I must reiterate an excellent piece of kit well worth investing in. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes light work of post holes
8 Sep 2012
By Widders
, Devon
" Should have bought one 20 years ago! The amount of time and effort saved when digging out post holes is amazing.
Thoroughly recommended.
Excellent piece of specialist tool design.
"
Review 19 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent and robust
15 Jul 2012
By RobAll
, Corneall
" Excellent and robust. Bought to dig out large deep footings for concreting barn
support posts. Did an excellent job and saved a lot of back bending, also a very usefull tool on the farm for all those tricky posts.
"
Review 20 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job
4 Jul 2012
By Phil65
, Devon
" This was a really good find. I only gave an average rating for performance as it does exactly what it should do, dig out a hole, nothing more fancy and nothing less. Also average for performance as it's still new so reliability hasn't really been put to the test, but a lifetime guarantee is a good indicator of quality. "
Page : 1 2 next>