Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Roughneck Post-Hole Digger

Roughneck Post-Hole Digger
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
45 of 45(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Review 1 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item
4 Jan 2016
By
, Cheshire
" Fantastic I work on my own so save a labourer spending all day digging holes "
Review 2 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
back saver
31 Dec 2015
By
, exeter
" Strong and well made. Heavy, which it needs to be to perform well. Used it to dig down around some shrub stumps before winching them out. It also digs holes for posts! You don't have to bend your back and you take out the minimum of soil to do the job...great! "
Review 3 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Back saver
18 Nov 2015
By
, Glasgow
" Used these to clean out drains recently, and compared to a shovel its a piece of cake. Product seems pretty robust, easy to use, nice features in the knuckle protectors, length of the handles is more than adequate for most jobs. Well worth buying. "
Review 4 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product
5 Nov 2015
By
, Crawley
" I haven't got round to using it for what it was made for yet its been too wet, however it's been very good for clearing out some silted up drains I've recommended the office buy on for the maintenance guys to use. "
Review 5 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Post Hole Digger
9 Oct 2015
By
, Handforth
" Great product, made setting my fence posts a quicker job than digging out with a spade.
Well recommended and solid strong construction.
screwfix service in store excellent as usual.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hole digger
1 Sep 2015
By
, Southampton
" Saved a lot of time and energy. Rubust design and quality materials. Staff at local store friendly and helpful. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Save Times and saves your back
21 Aug 2015
By
, Cardiff
" Debated on buying this as I thought 'Hey, I got a spade' but seriously. Buy it.
Great product, lightweight and built to last due to fibreglass material. Also literally took me about 10minutes to dig three holes that would have taken me an hour plus to do with a spade. Also really useful for those awkward areas that a spade can't quite dig in. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to use
16 Aug 2015
By
, Bristol
" I was amazed how easy this was to use. Should have bought one of these a long time ago. So simple and so good. It sinks into the ground under its own weight. Move the handles to grab the soil and that is it. Out it comes. Got down about 18 inches in just a few goes. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Post Hole Digger
10 Aug 2015
By
, Surrey
" An excellent product.
Used with a crowbar for loosening the ground (clay, chalk and flints!), this made digging post holes a straight-forward job.
The shaped grips on the handles are a useful addition for protecting your knuckles while in use.
Should have got one years ago! "
Review 10 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant
8 Aug 2015
By
, Sussex
" I could not have dug the holes in bed rock chalk without it.
Great value and service.
"
Review 11 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roughneck Post Hole Digger
19 Jul 2015
By
, Winchester
" A well make tool, solidly build and does the job well. I cannot fault roughneck as a brand, they are by far the best. "
Review 12 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Post hole digger
11 Jul 2015
By
, Stoke-on-Trent
" Very solid construction - and good value from Screwfix. Still hard work digging holes, but a lot easier with this device - and holes finish up a better size. "
Review 13 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Should Have Bought One Years A
17 Jun 2015
By
, Ceredigion
" Oversized holes, scooping earth out on hands and knees, back breaking shoveling; all these are a thing of the past. This tool is perfect for all hole digging projects. I have used this in combination with the Roughneck metal hole digger... Loosen stone ridden earth first then scoop it out, all whilst standing straight. Should have bought one years ago; now go and buy yours. Oh, it was also the best price I could find.
Did I mention the free next day delivery - phoned order through at lunchtime and took delivery just after 09:00 the following morning. Super. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toughneck
16 May 2015
By
, Norfolk
" After my old wooden digger broke, I decided to go fibreglass, and I'm not disappointed.
Fantastic tool which does exactly what it's supposed to, with the added bonus of it not rotting if accidentally left outside.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
invaluable tool
2 May 2015
By
, harleston
" Had my set of posthole diggers for two years and have done several fencing jobs with them. They've been really good and taken some stick ... highly recommend . "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for task
30 Jan 2015
By
, Kendal
" Found it really good in soil and small stony ground. Once got into rhythm of using proved very effective in holes to 600mm deep. Weight helps in getting impact. Really good buy "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right tool for the job
8 Aug 2014
By
, Leeds
" Although this still needs quite a lot of effort, it is definitely the right tool for the job of digging post holes. I used four overlapping digs to get the 300mm x 300 mm hole down to 600 mm deep. It was hard work but at least I knew that I was only digging the size needed and with clean vertical sides. Very pleased that I bought. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Piece of Kit
24 Jun 2014
By
, Glastonbury
" Read the previous reviews from others and so pleased that I did because this tool is brilliant! It reduced both the time taken to produce close fitting accurate post holes and the concrete used. Produces clean 8" dia holes to accept 4" sq posts leaving sufficient space for concrete. I worked to a depth of 0.75m easily but which is about its limit. Returning unused bags of concrete which will cover more than half the cost of the tool. It's a 'no brainer'! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
23 Jun 2014
By
, exeter
" As other reviewers have said this is a fantastic tool and you won't regret buying it. I was dubious having spent a small fortune on 13 concrete posts and panels but the extra 40 quid for this was well worth it for the ease of doing the job. I found you still need to shave the edges of the hole ever so slightly with a spade to get the holes square but then again i'm not sure you actually need your holes to be square as long as they're sufficient diameter. It's a rock solid bit of kit although weirdly the thing that brought it to a halt was squidgy shrub roots but those are easily chopped out of the way. Big pebbles also slow it down but as the hole is so quick to cut it's easy to scoop those out by hand. Highly Recommend. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for digging post holes
22 Jun 2014
By
, Hants
" I purchased this along with the roughneck posthole digger. An excellent combination which makes light work of roots and rocks when digging post holes. This would be fine in virgin ground (no major roots or rocks), but with the 17lb digger makes a no brainer.
I wish I'd bought these years ago, it would have saved me loads of time and hard work. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 next>