Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Roughneck Post-Hole Digger

Roughneck Post-Hole Digger
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 38(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Review 1 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Save Times and saves your back
21 Aug 2015
By AlFerrari
, Cardiff
" Debated on buying this as I thought 'Hey, I got a spade' but seriously. Buy it.
Great product, lightweight and built to last due to fibreglass material. Also literally took me about 10minutes to dig three holes that would have taken me an hour plus to do with a spade. Also really useful for those awkward areas that a spade can't quite dig in. "
Review 2 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to use
16 Aug 2015
By Bristollady
, Bristol
" I was amazed how easy this was to use. Should have bought one of these a long time ago. So simple and so good. It sinks into the ground under its own weight. Move the handles to grab the soil and that is it. Out it comes. Got down about 18 inches in just a few goes. "
Review 3 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Post Hole Digger
10 Aug 2015
By YeOldeHandyman
, Surrey
" An excellent product.
Used with a crowbar for loosening the ground (clay, chalk and flints!), this made digging post holes a straight-forward job.
The shaped grips on the handles are a useful addition for protecting your knuckles while in use.
Should have got one years ago! "
Review 4 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant
8 Aug 2015
By hairyhedgehog
, Sussex
" I could not have dug the holes in bed rock chalk without it.
Great value and service.
"
Review 5 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roughneck Post Hole Digger
19 Jul 2015
By Malkey
, Winchester
" A well make tool, solidly build and does the job well. I cannot fault roughneck as a brand, they are by far the best. "
Review 6 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Post hole digger
11 Jul 2015
By Gardenerz
, Stoke-on-Trent
" Very solid construction - and good value from Screwfix. Still hard work digging holes, but a lot easier with this device - and holes finish up a better size. "
Review 7 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Should Have Bought One Years A
17 Jun 2015
By InbredAl
, Ceredigion
" Oversized holes, scooping earth out on hands and knees, back breaking shoveling; all these are a thing of the past. This tool is perfect for all hole digging projects. I have used this in combination with the Roughneck metal hole digger... Loosen stone ridden earth first then scoop it out, all whilst standing straight. Should have bought one years ago; now go and buy yours. Oh, it was also the best price I could find.
Did I mention the free next day delivery - phoned order through at lunchtime and took delivery just after 09:00 the following morning. Super. "
Review 8 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toughneck
16 May 2015
By Sparky1969
, Norfolk
" After my old wooden digger broke, I decided to go fibreglass, and I'm not disappointed.
Fantastic tool which does exactly what it's supposed to, with the added bonus of it not rotting if accidentally left outside.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
invaluable tool
2 May 2015
By cbpropertymaintenance
, harleston
" Had my set of posthole diggers for two years and have done several fencing jobs with them. They've been really good and taken some stick ... highly recommend . "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for task
30 Jan 2015
By Bigone
, Kendal
" Found it really good in soil and small stony ground. Once got into rhythm of using proved very effective in holes to 600mm deep. Weight helps in getting impact. Really good buy "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right tool for the job
8 Aug 2014
By Properjobman
, Leeds
" Although this still needs quite a lot of effort, it is definitely the right tool for the job of digging post holes. I used four overlapping digs to get the 300mm x 300 mm hole down to 600 mm deep. It was hard work but at least I knew that I was only digging the size needed and with clean vertical sides. Very pleased that I bought. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Piece of Kit
24 Jun 2014
By deetee49
, Glastonbury
" Read the previous reviews from others and so pleased that I did because this tool is brilliant! It reduced both the time taken to produce close fitting accurate post holes and the concrete used. Produces clean 8" dia holes to accept 4" sq posts leaving sufficient space for concrete. I worked to a depth of 0.75m easily but which is about its limit. Returning unused bags of concrete which will cover more than half the cost of the tool. It's a 'no brainer'! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
23 Jun 2014
By sing
, exeter
" As other reviewers have said this is a fantastic tool and you won't regret buying it. I was dubious having spent a small fortune on 13 concrete posts and panels but the extra 40 quid for this was well worth it for the ease of doing the job. I found you still need to shave the edges of the hole ever so slightly with a spade to get the holes square but then again i'm not sure you actually need your holes to be square as long as they're sufficient diameter. It's a rock solid bit of kit although weirdly the thing that brought it to a halt was squidgy shrub roots but those are easily chopped out of the way. Big pebbles also slow it down but as the hole is so quick to cut it's easy to scoop those out by hand. Highly Recommend. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for digging post holes
22 Jun 2014
By BigH99
, Hants
" I purchased this along with the roughneck posthole digger. An excellent combination which makes light work of roots and rocks when digging post holes. This would be fine in virgin ground (no major roots or rocks), but with the 17lb digger makes a no brainer.
I wish I'd bought these years ago, it would have saved me loads of time and hard work. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Should have got one before
29 May 2014
By JayMGM
, London
" Simply cannot fault this product has saved me so much time ,on jobs .If you do not have one you simply need one . "
Review 16 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and very effective
9 May 2014
By Chrish1964
, Lincoln
" Got this for a decking project and was well worth the money. Made easy work of digging neat deep holes on ground which is unlevel and of varying density and composition. "
Review 17 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted
9 Mar 2014
By doitrightfirsttime
, Oxford
" Wasn't sure whether to bother getting this for just two projects but so glad I did!
I was delighted with how light the tool was and how well it did the job!
Don't hesitate buying this if you have some fence posts to put in. "
Review 18 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DONT HESITATE - BUY ONE !!!!!
29 May 2013
By LuckyBob
, Surrey
" Ummed & arrrd about buying this, materials cost far more than expected and was hesitant to spend another 40 quid. WOW so pleased I did, had one of those tool heaven moments, bit like when I first bought an SDS drill. This digger is amazing, I dug a dozen 3ft deep straight sided perfectly round holes in an hour ! Works a treat & if you do hit something hard turn it 90 degrees & off you go again.Had to get a saw down 1 hole that had a tree root in it but it chomped thru smaller stuff no worries.Last time I fenced I bought a "post hole shovel", must have taken 15 mins per hole and they ended up 3 times the size, back ached and I had to stop for a cuppa & a tab every 3 holes ! Also as the holes are so prescise I only used 7 bags of postcrete so reckon by the time you've done 20 posts the tool has paid for itself in material savings alone. Have ended up with pin straight rock solid posts and am well chuffed. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
25 Apr 2013
By Digga
, Warwicks
" When the soil is soft and crumbly it's a piece of cake to did nice tight holes. When its hard and rocky, it'll shift lots of stuff but you may still need a long chisel of crowbar but reaching down for the spoil and cleaning up is a doddle.
Fantastic value - should have bought one decades ago! "
Review 20 for Roughneck Fibreglass Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
post hole diggers
2 Dec 2012
By leepea1
, morecambe
" good product for price did what i wanted llllllllllllllllllllllllllllll "
Page : 1 2 next>