Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

4 Piece Set. ¼" hex shank, professional quality set containing the 2 most popular sizes of screwdigger and plug cutters.

4 Piece Set. ¼" hex shank, professional quality set containing the 2 most popular sizes of screwdigger and plug cutters.
Average Customer Rating:
2.75 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
8
14 of 28(50%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Review 1 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plug cutter
8 Feb 2014
By
, Beds
"Great product, used on skirting and picture rail. Would recommend! Do not be tempted with cheaper alternatives"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Plug cutter
18 Oct 2011
By
, Bristol
"Does the job well. Just remember to start the plug cut on high torque and slowest speed possible - otherwise you are all over the place!
Excellent for that professional look when fixing on skirting boards that will be varnished.
"
Review 3 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked surprisingly well
20 Oct 2013
By
, Hertfordshire
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The plugs (or dowels) must be drilled using a pillar drill or other such sturdy drill support and the wood firmly clamped to prevent movement with a sacrificial piece of wood beneath the donor to ensure a clean exit. Slightly rough start until bit has 'bitten' into the wood. Probably caused by the chuck on my old pillar drill being a little off. I drilled about 20 dowels from 19mm thick oak. The bit heated up as expected but cooled quickly between drilling but not so hot as to burn the wood. Keeping the drill speed down and applying firm but not excessive pressure cut the dowels well. The bit is still sharp but I would not want to use this on an industrial scale. OK for home DIY use."
Review 4 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plug cutter
5 Sep 2013
By
, Cumbria
"i find the plug cutter difficult so start however it seems a little easier if the drill is set to a fast speed, rest it along the side of your boot and steady the drill near the chuck. This stops the wood (redwood pine) disintegrating when drilling the plug also the plug drills itself on the high speed setting rather than forcing it on the low speed setting.
I managed to snap the drill that comes with the kit, 1/8 inch drill that is in the #10 and the closest drill i can get to it is a 3mm not too much of a problem however it is something to be aware of.
"
Review 5 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
insert door handles
6 Mar 2013
By
, paisley
"These were puchased to fit skirting boards and then cover to screw holes. They were very good. I found another use for the screw diggers when I had to fit 30 kitchen door handles. The handles had to be sunk into the door The screw digger was the perfect size, there was no need to used different size drill bits to fit the handles."
Review 6 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Threshold plugging!
29 Oct 2011
By
, Tunbridge Wells
"The drill is good for making the hole with the space for the plug!
Beware you need a pillar drill stand for stability when cutting the plugs. Preferably cut a piece of wood to the thickness of the plugs required.
"
Review 7 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
served its purpose
19 Sep 2011
By
, Devon
"I followed the advice of the first review and drilled a shallow guide hole. This stopped the cutter slipping about the surface. I used a simple variable speed hand drill and was able to consistently cut 2cm long plugs in some old dry pitch pine. Use a very slow speed otherwise it gets hot enough to blacken the wood."
Review 8 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job
6 Apr 2010
By
, Hampshire
"The kit arrived very promptly - excellent service. The screw diggers are dead easy to use, and ideal; the plug cutters less so - they skidaddle all over the place if you simply place your drill on a piece of timber. The answer I found was first to use a separate drill bit to make a shallow circular recess in the timber, the same size as the external diameter of the cutter. This kept the cutter in place until it started to bite into the timber and form the plug. As doing this chews up the first bit of the plug, I might have had a problem with fairly thin timber, but mine was over 3/4 inch, so I got perfectly good plugs some 3/8 inch or more long - ample for me."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
screwdiggers
28 Feb 2010
By
, Redhill
"I have only used drilling bits. plug bits must be used in drill press and mine is still to be set up"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did the Job Well
9 Jan 2009
By
, Lincolnshire
"I bought this set after seeing a professional joiner use screws and plugs to fit skirting board. I have just fitted an oak floor and oak skirting boards in a bedroom and wanted to use the same system. After reading the other reviews, I was very nervous about this as I have no carpentery training whatsoever and furthermore, I am female! I was very nearly put off buying, but then I thought it's cheap enough, let's give it a go. I used a Bosch hand drill on slowest speed to cut the plugs. I admit that sometimes it skidded about a bit before biting into the wood, but mostly I managed to cut decent plugs - I needed 56 in all! Whilst the top and bottom faces were not perfect, the cylindrical bit was fine and after all, you are going to gently hammer them into the screw holes and then glue the plugs in place and then trim them with a chisel, aren't you? That's what I have done, then sanded them down and I have to say that 90% of them are perfect. I think the other 10% had more to do with a chisel that could have been sharper. Overall, I am very pleased with the results I have managed to achieve with this set of gizmos and I am glad I went ahead."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job
9 Oct 2008
By
, mansfield
"The plug cutters can only be used on a drill press and on the slwest speed you have got to prevemt burning and I found that the smallest plug goes in the largest drill, and I needed A larger dril for the largest cutter, but all in all made a nice neat job"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Diston screw diggers
24 Jul 2012
By
, Ipswich
"I had little trouble with the first 20 plugs, in Oak & Mahogany, then it needed sharpening, not conversant with sharpening these bits until got it right there were lots of smoke signals, & like so many have said it wanders with a hand held drill was better using a piller drill. I found that the drill bit kept slipping in the csk sleeve & I had to keep tightening it & then it snapped. I managed to find a Dormer drill bit of the correct size put a little flat on the shank for the grub screw & finished the job. Probably not buy again & get something a little dearer & hopefully
more reliable.
"
Review 13 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hardness
24 Jul 2011
By
, Dorset
"The plug cutter struggle in hard wood and need frequent sharpening."
Review 14 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fair quality
4 May 2009
By
, Devon
"You DON'T need to use a drill press or pillar drill! Adequate quality can be obtained using a hand held drill. Ok they're not superior quality but, contrary to what others have found, I was able to produce good quality plugs in elm, ash and maple so they are perfectly useable for hardwoods. The screwdiggers are the best but again with a bit of care and some nursing they will do an adequate job."
Review 15 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Plug cutter performance
4 Jul 2008
By
, Chichester
"I used these exactly as said on the packet. I wanted to plug no. 10 sized seasoned oak. I found it impossible to cut plugs using a pillar drill with the oak clamped as recommended. All that happened was the plug cutter over-heated and started to burn the wood. The only way to use it would be to continually use lubricant or water to keep the cutter cool - not practical when you want to glue a plug into position. It may work for soft wood but certainly not for hard wood."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could be better in all ways.
19 May 2008
By
, Milton Keynes
"8mm Drill bit snapped the 2nd time used. Cutters cut perfect plug for the size of hole drilled and once filed and sanded looks good. Cutters don't always cut a usable plug however I am not using a bench drill. For speed and flexability I use a cordless and this has a tendancy to 'bounce' before finally cutting your plug (or timber flakes). Will be returning for refund or replacement."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Plug it up baby
24 Jan 2014
By
, Bristol
"Bought these to neaten off some hardwood work, found them pretty good for getting through oak and Tulip wood, you do have to push down pretty hard though to initiate the cut, make sure you get it level too or you go wobbling around more than after drinking ten pints. The bit on my 8mm piece snapped after only a day of use though and to be fair any softwood just gets chewed to pieces. I think they could be improved if the width of the steel that goes into the wood was slimmed down, its too much to try pushing through. In a nutshell...they are o.k but more frustrating than they need to be."
Review 18 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disston Plug Cutter Set
5 Nov 2011
By
, Suffolk
"Purchased some time ago but only attempted to use them recently. The countersinking drills work OK but one of the plug cutters was so blunt it just burned the wood without cutting. It would appear that there are problems with quality control.
Cutter used in a drill press on low speed / pressure.
"
Review 19 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
messy
17 Apr 2009
By
, west sussex
"the 8mm produced a good finish though ive used better. However the 10mm was completly useless on soft and hard woods. After reading some of the poor writeups on this product i still decided to buy it (what a fool). I decided not to return it as the others that did return theirs for replacements were left with the same problem, so i reground the 10mm and at least it now will cut instead of burn."
Review 20 for Disston Screwdiggers & Plug Cutters Set 4Pcs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very dissapointing
2 Jul 2008
By
, Sxmundham
"Screwdiggers work fine but have a somewhat limited depth. The real disappointment however was the plug cutters which did not produce a single usable plug from elm or green oak, and produced a chewed up mess from beech and yew. Chose the most expensive to ensure it worked, but I'd recommend trying one of the cheaper options first"
Page : 1 2 next>