Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Premium hammer combi drill with multi-position side handle. Features high powered motor for a long runtime and performance and intelligent trigger for protecting the battery. Also features replaceable carbon brushes and automatic spindle lock. Supplied with DeWalt XR universal charger and heavy duty carry case.

Premium hammer combi drill with multi-position side handle. Features high powered motor for a long runtime and performance and intelligent trigger for protecting the battery. Also features replaceable carbon brushes and automatic spindle lock. Supplied with DeWalt XR universal charger and heavy duty carry case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Review 1 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE BEST DRILL IVE EVER BOUGHT
16 Jun 2014
By Dill1
, Hertfordshire
"I have had many different battery drills in the past all of them cost between £100 to £200 this one even though it was more expensive I can see why all the previous drills only had one speed this has 3 they only had 18 torque settings this has 22, also they only ever had one battery, when I took it to work putting steel frame work's together using drills and taps all day one battery lasted 2 whole day (18HOURS) i am so pleased its untrue."
Review 2 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bit of kit
16 Jun 2014
By Joshp2512
, Wishaw
"Use two of these as part of our main running equipment on the van for the last year or so used constantly on jobs with few trips to charge it's incredibly invaluable to any person in the trade gearing is incredible and comes in a robust case that's had a few knocks and still in one piece would definitely purchase another whenever the time comes"
Review 3 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best drill ever
6 Jun 2014
By Titch7
, Milton keynes
"Excellent service by Screwfix. Availability of product and customer service also excellent. Also the goods are of excellent quality. Keep up the good work Screwfix. Would defo recommend product and Screwfix."
Review 4 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Drill
18 May 2014
By Cestrian
, Chester uk
"Excellent drill! power in abundance. battery life also outstanding.
If I had to be very picky it is a slightly heavy drill, but its so well balanced it doesn't notice in use.
Would highly recommend to any trade professional as a very robust drill which performs like a mains drill!"
Review 5 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its Dewalt!!
16 May 2014
By e16calum
, Bridgend
"This drill has perhaps been the best bit of kit i have bought in the 18 months ive been self employed.
the 4a battery last for ages, and if we arent drilling hard brick or stone it can list over a week with high use. the led light is a great help and the li-on battery runs at full capacity until it has no juice left, so no longer struggling after the half way point of the battery. keeping new drill bits in this makes it a dream to use, and it doesnt struggle on anything.
its durable and will take site abuse very easily. its dewalt! what can we say.
"
Review 6 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great professional combi drill
6 Mar 2014
By christhesink
, Newport, Gwent
"I got this drill after my previous one started to struggle with the simplest of jobs. I wanted a 3 speed metal chucked drill and after a lot of research I got the DCD985. I have been using this drill for 9 months and it is fantastic. I have only started using my bigger drills again because I am now working in houses that have engineering brick. It will drill into engineering brick but why wreck a great drill when I got bigger corded and cordless sds drills to do the job quicker.
For 7 months the DCD985 was the only drill I had on the job every day. It drilled into wood, metal and masonry with ease. It have used this drill to screw in 4" concrete fixings when I'd normally go straight for the impact driver. Battery life is great and the indicator is extremely useful.
This is a professional drill which is reflected in the price. You get what you pay for and I have seen this drill outclass a number of other drills including Dewalt drills. Highly recommended.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speaks for itself
7 Feb 2014
By Rspark
, Kent
"such a brilliant product, it speaks for itself, a really worthwhile investment for anyone who needs a tool to last. excellent torque, and superb battery life. price is a little steep, but still worth it if you need something to last"
Review 8 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So Proud Of You Dewalt !!
26 Jan 2014
By DIYorProfessional
, Warrington,Cheshire.
"I bought this drill thinking to myself,Oh what have i done....(Being that i am a Bosch power Tool user for years). I recently found myself getting this DCD 985 for the simple reason that other ppl i know use DeWalt all the time and rate them as being the best on the market. Well they are not wrong,It feels just right in the hand as well as coming with 2 x 18Volt 4Ah Indicator batteries. What a bonus this is as my previous Bosch only came with one battery. The biggest factor with this DCD985 Combi-Drill is the 3 gear transmission, Unlike the other Dewalt drills,This one allows you to have complete control. I have also bought the Dewalt DCF895 Brushless Impact Driver (Bare Unit) to make use of the secondary battery. So now i have got the two devices and could not be happier,I feel as though i shall not need to buy anything in the drill dept for a few years (considering i have 5 Drills & one Impact Driver) & thanks to the 3 year warranty that comes with when registered online on the DeWalt website. Thank you Screwfix. Btw, my mrs ain't happy at me getting yet another power tool,he he he."
Review 9 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dewalt dcd 985
12 Nov 2013
By Adrian334
, leeds
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"this dirll is sooooo good it can trow wall like a pice of cake with a 22mm dirll bit"
Review 10 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
professional level product
8 Sep 2013
By philh
, Thatcham
"not that pleased to have to buy this as De Walt decided to stop making the 14.4v NiCad batteries despite having only just stopped selling the drills! That being said, it's a great drill, more or less as powerful as an electric drill, manages 22mm thru masonry and even a 4" core drill used gently. Battery life is huge- only change about every other day normally. Chuck etc usual high XRP standard, plenty of torque for 4" screws (breaks bits before runs out of power!) Even potentially gimmicky LED light actually quite useful."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dewalt dcd985m2
15 Aug 2013
By lofty46Lyons
, northyorkshire
"Really solid drill has a great feel to it.
The 4 ah batteries give amazing run time even with alot of hard use .
Fantastic ratcheting chuck making bit insertions easy and giving good solid grip .
The power is amazing packing 80 nm of torque and 22 torque settings giving a wide range for all applications .
10/10 Dewalt
"
Review 12 for DeWalt DCD985M2-GB 18V 4Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed
2 Jun 2014
By Disappointedcustomer
, Clevedon
"Not happy at all with the service at this company regarding this and other items purchased.
This is a poor drill when compared to others.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.