Product Reviews

Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr

Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
17 of 23(74%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Review 1 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Really No Nonsense
4 May 2016
By
, Bristol
" This product i easy to use and appears to do all it says on tin (literally).
Tremendous value at £10 cheaper than competitive products
Cannot accurately comment on performance and reliability for another 5 years but if these aspects are half as good as the other aspects I'll be more than pleased. "
Review 2 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says
16 Nov 2015
By
, Kent
" I have been using this on my shed for years and it really seems to do what is required. if you have not used it for a few years it will soak in, especially where the wood is exposed to sun and rain - so you use loads of it. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff
17 Sep 2015
By
, Woking
" Treating well seasoned railway sleepers with this has done a great job!
against well known fence treatments instead of the old creosote type products and still looks Great!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A nice finish
14 Sep 2015
By
, Bognor Regis
" Easy product to apply to woodwork.
Clear colour is true. Once dried, the protected wood still looks exactly the same colour.
Time will tell regarding its protective qualities.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy application
9 Jun 2015
By
, Mid norton
" Was easy to apply to fence with a pump sprayer great coverage "
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.
8 Jun 2015
By
, Bristol
" Because I have only just used this product, I can't comment on it's protection or longevity of life, but can comment on it's application.
I used the product for treating a home made garden bench, and for treating new posts being installed in the ground to support a new log store I was building.
The product is really good to apply, using a big, thick brush. It goes on like water and is absorbed rapidly into the grain. It was a sunny day, and I was able to practically "pool" it on the top of the new bench and let it soak in. I managed 3 coats, and decided that was more than enough.
Being clear, the product is invisible once dry.
Because of the water-like consistency of the product, I would imagine that it was really easy to spray as well.
The posts that were being installed in the ground, I treated differently. I removed the top from an old oil tin, and put the post ends (which were going to be buried) in the tin vertically, before filling the tin with this wood treatment. I left each post in for about 2 or 3 hours. You could see where the product was absorbed into the wood grain, and rose about 2-3 inches above the level of the liquid. I then left the posts to dry in the sun.
Before I put the posts in the ground, I wrapped them in "Gaffa tape" to protect them a bit more before pouring the concrete around them, but that is just an additional personal touch, to make them last even longer.
The product covers really well, but I suppose that depends on the porosity of the wood as well.
I can highly recommend this product, and I can only hope it lasts in the wood as well as it has performed so far.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value & performance
26 May 2015
By
, Hampshire
" Have used this the past 3 years to treat my fencing and woodwork in the garden. Has performed really well and this time I used it in a small compressor and spray gun. Worked brilliantly and lasts a couple of years between treatments. Recommended and cheaper than named alternatives. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product
19 May 2015
By
, Kent
" This preservative was much cheaper than any other and had the same properties. It was easy to use as it paints on like water. Does have a bit of a smell but once dry it has gone.
Well worth the money, hope it lives up to its claim and lasts
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wood preserved
3 May 2015
By
, solihull
" no nonsense wood preserver clear. Exactly that I had been using a more expensive product on the exterior. However with the budget dwindling thought i would use a less expensive option inside. I wish I had saved my money from the start it was thicker so didnt run everywhere. went on smoother. It was easier to use in general. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No nonsense! Well said!
18 Sep 2014
By
, Lanner
" Used in pressure sprayer, covered well! Will use second coat to see through the wet Cornish weather! "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Nonsense Fence Treatment
3 Jul 2014
By
, Hemel Hempstead
" Excellent product which covered the timber easily. Seems to have dried well with no strong residual smell. Colour of fence hardly changed. Will buy another can to do rest of the fence in the autumn. Also found that you could put it into a pressure sprayer and apply that way - a lot quicker and reached into small gaps easily. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
why pay twice the price
13 Jul 2010
By
, newcastle on tyne
" excellent product at less than half the price of some other brands "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value Wood preservative
13 Apr 2016
By
, Newtownabbey
" Chose No Nonsense clear wood treatment primarily because it was substantially cheaper than leading brand name alternatives. Does it preserve wood? Won't know the answer to that for a few years. "
Review 14 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value
2 Jul 2015
By
, DUDLEY
" Good price, good finish and worked with my Spray and Brush so really happy. "
Review 15 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good job
1 Jun 2015
By
, Liverpool
" Used this product first time , easy to use goes on well. We liked colour of treated fence so used clear protection , hope it does trick "
Review 16 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fence Paint
6 Aug 2014
By
, Hailsham
" Not easy to find clear natural fence treatment. No-Nonsenxe ought to be OK but come back in 5 or 10 years and I will tell you how good it is ;=) "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Preserver
11 Jun 2010
By
, Sussex
" Easy to apply, good value but only time will tell how good its performance is. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No Nonsense Wood Treatment
31 Jul 2014
By
, Norfolk
" The product is very thin, like white spirit. Application with a brush was very easy and it appeared to dry very quickly, which made it difficult to identify where I had already applied it when treating a large piece of furniture. After application, it didn't look as though any product had been applied at all as there was no difference in the appearance of the wood. As this is the first time I have used a wood treatment I am unable to compare it with a similar product but I admit I was disappointed, whether this is because my expectations were set too high or they were unrealistic for the type of product used. Because of this I have given an average rating. May be this rating will change over time when the product has been given a chance to prove itself but currently I wouldn't buy again and would look at a different type or make. Just for reference, the product used was the clear version and was used on new wood garden furniture. "
2 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No Nonsense Wood Treatment Cle
21 Jul 2015
By
, private...
" Slightly puzzled as to why I'm been asked to review this product after only just purchasing it.
Well I bought it sunday morning and have applied two coats with a brush over the day. This was readily absored by the timber garage doors and I believe they would have soaked up a forth or fith coat also.
There is no visible signs that this product has added any protection. I will give the doors another couple of coats for good measure and test by emptying a watering can on one section for affect. I will then update this review and adjust rating to suit if permitted. Obviously I cannot recommend this product until test completed.
"
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for No Nonsense Wood Treatment Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
read the reviews
26 Dec 2011
By
, Notts
" I read reviews, tried it and waited a couple of months before writing this review.
I was a little sceptical as the product went onto the shed. It looked all the world like white spirit with a little coloured dye in it. After two months of winter weather it looks to be rather weak at preservation when compared to the older wood oils ( creosote substitute) that I have used.
Pros... easy on with little smell.
cons ....looks as though it will have evaporated away within the year.
is it meant to repel water and moss like growth, or just deter wood eating insects? "
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>