Product Reviews

Antique Heavy Ring Latch 8"

Antique Heavy Ring Latch 8"
Average Customer Rating:
2.938 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
5
7 of 16(44%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Review 1 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gate latch
24 May 2014
By
, Bridgend
" Chunky and a feel of quality, at a price that is very reasonable. we love this latch. "
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God value gate handle
4 Sep 2012
By
, East Midlands
" Heavy Duty gate handle, Fit it once, forget it for the rest of your life ,Good value for the Price "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Solid value
11 Jul 2010
By
, Salisbury
" Average for reliability because this should last for years, and I have only just bought it.
But this is solid and ridiculously good value. "
Review 4 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look no further.
22 Dec 2009
By
, Falmouth.
" First class product. Sturdy , well made , a good buy. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gate Latch
15 Jul 2016
By
, South Wales
" Very heavy duty, does the job, hopefully child proof (breaking wise), too early to say about reliability as it's only been fitted 3 days, but it us a very simple mechanical lump so should be reliable "
Review 6 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dissapointing
30 Nov 2015
By
, lyme regis
" Went to fit but it does not come with fixings. These were difficult to source which took up my valuable time. A fixing pack would have been useful, even if it was extra cost. CP "
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not really heavy duty.
29 Nov 2015
By
, Essex
" Having read the mixed reviews for this ring latch I thought I would chance it because it is relatively inexpensive compared to some others I have looked at. My first observation was that the only thing 'heavy duty' about it is the rings, which are about 10mm thick. The rest of it feels quite flimsy, especially the circlip and washer that holds the ring onto the back plate, which seems to be the main reason behind most of the negative reviews. I greased this area to prevent corrosion prior to fitting and I hope that will prolong its life. The screws that come with the latch are much too small so I ran a 5mm drill through the fixing holes and used No.10 round head screws to fix it in place. I have recommended this product but it is really only suitable for light weight gates. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Heavy weight - but didn't last
4 Nov 2015
By
, Belfast
" Looks like very good value. Big heavy and chunky. Japanned finish is always going to corrode, but it is what it is. However, I didn't expect the staple (the stay at the end) to simply sheer off in a couple of months. That said, Screwfix changed it with no problem. I hope the second one lasts a bit longer because it does look good. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok, but...
19 May 2015
By
, Fife
" Same item bought a few years ago broke, but the replacement is about 20mm shorter! So much faffing and exchange of parts between old latch and new one, which would not have been necessary if the product was consistent and did not break in light use in the first place. As with many products, an overall robust design is let down by a weak critical moving part, and lack of consistency. "
Review 10 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Variable quality
8 Nov 2011
By
, Cambridge
" I have bought 2 of these. the first one has been on a gate for about 4 weeks now and has survived being slammed in high winds. The second one fell apart in my hands when I took it out of the bag. Comparing the two, they are completely different. The second one has much less metal in it and has a much poorer finish. They both have the same SKU code though, so are supposedly both the same. So, if they were all like the first one, I'd recommend them. Unfortunately I can't because of the second one. I'll return it for a refund and see what happens. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not very durable
2 May 2011
By
, oxfordshire
" Have had a couple of these, they don't survive a lot of heavy gate/door banging. Mine last about 1-2 years. But at the price it's not surprising "
Review 12 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Antique twisted gate latch
13 May 2013
By
, Salisbury
" Bought 1, gate slamed, broke.
Fitted no 2, gate slamed, broke.
Complete Rubbish. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Heavy Ring latch
8 May 2012
By
, leeds
" Absolute rubbish Wasted my time and money
Bought 2 (one under gte ) both broke very quickly
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No Good
8 Mar 2012
By
, Bath
" I have replaced 2 now and they keep on snapping, on the lever. poorly made, the handle is really thick cast iron, but the long lever is really thin and keeps on snapping off in the wind; propper dog poo I tell thee 8-( "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke within an hour
8 Nov 2011
By
, hastings
" This latch looked solid enough until a (not very strong) gust of wind caught the gate which closed against the tongue snapping it off - very disappointing "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Antique Heavy Ring Gate Latch Black 260mm
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Complete waste of money
17 Sep 2011
By
, Gloucester
" I have never felt compelled to write a review for anything. But I have decided to make an exception on this product. I have had 3 of these in a year and my latest one has lasted less than a week. They are really not worth the money and should be avoided at all cost. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.