Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powerful and compact driver capable of delivering 160Nm of torque for a wide range of screwdriving applications. Accepts Makita 18V Li-ion batteries.

Powerful and compact driver capable of delivering 160Nm of torque for a wide range of screwdriving applications. Accepts Makita 18V Li-ion batteries.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Review 1 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tool
16 Jun 2014
By markfie
, brighton
"Had this for a year now and it never let me down.
Strong and powerful, great battery life - fully recommended.
"
Review 2 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bullet proof
28 Jan 2014
By silverwood4landscapes
, Leeds
"Had mine for 2 yrs now and its been kicked all over leeds.
Dropped it off top rung of triple ladders and it just bounced off the floor!
Used it juggling between 2 batteries drilling 150's into railway sleepers.....it just laughed.
When it does finally give up the ghost its getting a full military funeral.........then il buy another.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spectacular tool
9 Nov 2013
By Heisenberg
, Wales
"I've dropped it off a scaffold on a townhouse! It shrugged it off as if it was nothing. The power it offers is excellent. The battery indicator lights a handy feature too. I use all makita 18v power tools swapping the same batteries between an sds, combi, impact driver and skill saw. The prices great too."
Review 4 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 18V Impact Driver
29 Oct 2013
By wingers
, southampton
"power and reliability and at an unbeatable price Very happy would recommend"
Review 5 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita impact driver
28 Sep 2013
By FirstFixElectrics
, Guildford
"Great tool from Makita, I had one previously for about 4 years, never gave me any problems. I drilled through many a joist with the driver and a flute bit.
Great product from a great company
"
Review 6 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita impact driver
24 Apr 2013
By pc6875
, Maidstone Kent
"Fantastic bit of kit. Does what it says on the box. Cant believe I managed without one. Sorry I didnt get the extra battery that was on offer with the combi drill I also brought at the time. Pity they are so expensive."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita impact driver bare
13 Apr 2013
By Adread
, London
"This makita impact drive is a beast one of the best I have used only thing I would say make sure you have good bits to use with it"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Item, Fantastic Value
6 Apr 2013
By buzzgd
, Surrey
"First Makita i've owned, but definately won't be the last. Great power and reliability and the price was unbeatable. Very happy and would definately recommend this to any tradesman or diy'er."
Review 9 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent tool
29 Mar 2013
By tcs999
, worcester
"picked up the bare unit today as it had 40 quid knocked off!i already have a makita 18v combo drill so no worries about batteries or charger.as ever makita scores, this driver is a brute,yet nice and compact and due to li-on power is light.used it today to remove some painted over hinge screws,no sweat!"
Review 10 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Packs a real punch
30 Dec 2012
By Philip
, Bradford
"A worthy addition to my Makita LXT collection, be warned though these will shatter cheap screwdriver bits if being used for long periods say screwing plywood down, I recommend one of the anti shock bit holders and impact bits.
I use mine as a general screwdriver aswell, although powerful can be tamed as the impact action only starts when it needs to.
My only niggle is the rubber ring on the front is a little loose fitting and could be easily lost, this covers the nut to get into the housing. I'm going to use a small amount of silicone to keep mine from falling off and getting lost."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit
26 Oct 2012
By HillClimb
, Bucks
"My first impact driver - converted - its a great bit of kit, powerful yet doesn't overly drain the battery. Compact for use in small spaces."
Review 12 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Impact driver
6 Oct 2012
By BasingstokePaul
, Basingstoke
"Impact drivers make screwdriving really easy and this is a really good driver. If you have never had an impact driver then you are missing out. This one is well balanced. Doesn't drain the drain the battery as fast as my drill driver does when used for screwdriving. I can see no disadvantages to this piece of brilliant kit"
Review 13 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great impact driver
17 Sep 2012
By poiuy
, Reading
"I bought one of these two years ago, it has never let me down. What more need I say!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Makita DTD146Z 18V Impact Driver - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 18v Impact Driver-bare
4 Sep 2012
By MakitaMart
, Oswestry, Shropshire
"Bought the original Li-ion version of this together with a Combi drill in a set some 5 years ago.
Superb performance and reliability as with most Makita stuff - I should know, I own over 40 Makita tools.
This latest version has an increased 15Nm of torque, feels better balanced and has a useful battery state indicator light.
For those who own 14.4v Li-ion machines please be aware that all 14.4v batteries can be used on all 18v machines, but not the other way round (Makita told me this some years ago) thus making these tools even more versatile. Bare 18v machines are far more accessable and often cheaper than their 14.4v counterparts.
My new impact does not replace my older version which is still vertually in everyday use but having a spare doesn't hurt!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.