Product Reviews

Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg SDS+ Hammr

Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg SDS+ Hammr
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
15 of 22(68%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Review 1 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great compact sds
17 Sep 2014
By
, Tonbridge
"great sds. powerful yet not to big and heavy. I have read that they can except the l-ion batteries (25.2v) which I will deff do with the batteries fail."
Review 2 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacement SDS dril
20 Mar 2013
By
, Bolton
"This was bought as a replacement for an equivalent Macallister drill that was rubbish. This by comparison is excellent , I wanted a cheap SDS drill that would drill 10mm holes through double skinned walls and last more than one wall. Price was important as self employed aerial/satelitte installer and couldn't afford Bosch or DeWalt but good build quality as well as a spare battery in the box. This drill does all this ,lasts well (dependent on type of brick being drilled). Physically smaller than other drills , looks good ,good build quality and Hitachi have a good rep. My only criticism is that the carry case is too small and I have to carry the SDS bits separately and the chuck can't be stored assembled. Screwfix as always excellent customer service."
Review 3 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking Hitachi 24V Cordless
1 May 2012
By
, Mid Wales
"I have owned 2 of the previous series of Hitachi SDS Cordless 24V Drills before and nothing on the market can touch them.
This drill is the same, with whacking great impact power for drilling in bricks and concrete. If you want a tool for drilling engineering bricks and concrete, then this is for you.
At the offer price of £199.00 (Should be £349.00, the Hitachi drill is a steal, you cannot go wrong, Don,t delay will be the best tool you own.
I have used this drill with a 1m long 22mm drill bit, and it is a breeze.
Batteries are good,and solid (With nice rubber protection band for when you chuck the machine down.
charger now seems a bit cheaper than previous models, but does the job.
Batteries take longer to charge than on previous models, but when fully charged, they last for ages.
Very good for control, with speed control spot-on.(Starting a hole wihout slipping is a doddle) Good balance, and drilling one handed is a lot easier then 99% of the other makes.
The case has got smaller than previously, and is difficult to get all the parts back inside.
Can be used for light chiselling, and has got quite a good impact rate, but for heavy breaking of concrete etc, buy a mains breaker.
Overall--Can't be beaten as an SDS hammer drill, but Hitachi if you are reading this (Please supply a heavy duty case with storage for SDS drill bits)
Overall---As long as Hitachi are manufacturing SDS cordless Drills, I will be purchasing them. PS I have owned nearly every other manufacturers SDS drills, and none of them come close to being as efficient, or as reliable as Hitachi's SDS products.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelievable Value
20 Apr 2012
By
, Shrewsbury
"A really great tool, light (for a 24V) solidly built with good battery life - and a spare battery!"
Review 5 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy Days!
17 Mar 2012
By
, South Wales
"Well I must admit the boys on site were all a little jealous when I brought out my new toy...
I'm a Fire and security systems installer, bought this after being fed up dragging my 110v extension lead around during the second fix.
Battery charged in 1 hour, I drilled over 100 holes for red plugs, the drill was laughing at the walls, there was no effort at all! Also drilled a few 10mm holes through an external wall, again, no effort!
Impressed with the size and weight of the drill, also liked the rubber strap to keep the battery extra safe.
If anything, the case it came in could have been a little bigger to allow room for the odd drill bit. You also have to be quite smart putting the drill in the case, everything must be the right way around and in the right place or that lid will not shut!
All in all, well happy, the 3 functions on this makes it an all rounder. Would reccommend to any trade."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
worth the money
22 Jul 2011
By
, stockton on tees
"this saves me so much effort when chasing and drilling, drilled bigger holes than 20mm with it and it had no problems at all.. only problem ive had was a dodgy trigger but before i could put it in to get fixed it sorted its self out and hasnt missed a beat since.. drill is on the heavy side but it gets the job done every time so i will live with it quite easily, charger feels cheap like it was just an afterthought but havnt had a problem with it and other than that its a solid sds and worth buying without a doubt!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great replacement
23 Aug 2010
By
, London
"I've Had a DeWalt 24volt for over 5 years and finaly gave up and didnt have the money for another saw this deal and went for it, Well if your thinking of getting one do your self a favor and save money and get one while you can as its just as good as the DeWalt and a 60 min charge time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hitatchi sds drill
27 May 2010
By
, darlington
"great so far,just ripped off approx 12 sq m. of wall tiles with the chisel action.no problem for the drill, used both battries, it took me about 2 hours inc tea break to complete the job so charge lasts well as this was nearly constant work. Only drilled a few holes so far but these were effortless."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good Bit Of Kit
15 May 2010
By
, Leicester
"Well I bought this dill the other day as a replacement to my previous SDS.
What can I say. You will be very impressed as I'm sure I was. It tells you the maximum capacity for concrete is 20mm, but I'm sure this is just to cover there bum with this. I have used it to a 32mm hole though a set of blocks without the slightest bit of a niggle. It is a little heavy but hey, it dose the job.
The other thing I was impressed with is, I was working in a set of flats and inadvertly dropping it not lnog after buying it. It dropped two floors and hit the floor, you almost saw a grown man cry. What can I say. It had got a tiny scratch on the handle and still works perfectly. The drill has got the sort of, "come on, is that the best you've got?" quality about it. Thumbs up to Hitachi
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value drill
16 Mar 2013
By
, northants
"does the job, got it for chopping into walls, it does it the only question so far is the battery life, only charged it a couple of times so far so hard to tell as its nicad. Does the hard work well, excellent value"
Review 11 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
get what you pay for
24 Apr 2012
By
, london
"solid drill
dont expect to punch 20mm holes all day
good for normal daily duties
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
People keep borrowing it!
2 Apr 2012
By
, cheshire
"Thats how good it is. One of the most useful multi-task things I have ever had.
Its downside is that when it goes flat - it goes instantly flat with little slow down or warning. Dont try to "just get one more hole out of it" - change the battery.
"
Review 13 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bargain
27 Mar 2012
By
, Bury
"I bought this as my old dewalt 18v is on it's last legs. I charged it up. It does take an hour. Off outback of the house to an old granite stone wall for a play. The drill feels precise, makes mincemeat out of stone (8mm, 12mm 18mm). I tried it on some sodden very hard brick, it's up to pro use for sure. Battery life seems a little low but I'm expecting that to improve as the batteries condition with use. Spare batteries are expensive and at the price of the drill I'm considering buying another just to have 2 extra batteries a spare charger and of course a spare drill."
Review 14 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value
6 May 2010
By
, Nottingham
"Much better quality than I expected, bought this to replace an old worn out Dewalt 24v hammer drill and whilst the hitachi is smaller and lighter than the Dewalt it does compare very well on performance."
Review 15 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good buy
3 May 2012
By
, london
"A fairly good tool, does what i expected, only issue i have if the betterys dont last to long. good for kitchens an the odd few holes in walls. wouldnt like to count on it for full time use, but does the job for me"
Review 16 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
average
29 Aug 2010
By
, somerset
"Only had product for 3 days when one battery decided not to charge.
Usual screwfix service, exchanged straight away.
Drill is a little underpowered to other models but u get what u pay for.
only real gripe is there is no room what so ever in the box for anything but all components placed back correctly ( or u cant shut the lid)
so when traveling back and forth u need extra box for drill bits chissells etc
"
Review 17 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not impressed
30 Nov 2010
By
, Fife
"Purchsed this drill in favour of the Erbauer alternative based on reviews. Needed it for drilling lots of holes in about 150m of (soft)sandstone wall.
The batteries and charger have very light and cheap feeling plastic cases. The whole thing just does not feel like a quality item unlike my 18v Erbauer cordless.
In use the batteries give out in a few minutes. The most I achieved on a full charge was 14 holes 100mm in soft sandstone. After a few holes the thing starts cutting out like it's tired and wants a rest.
Not happy with it at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst batteries of any drill
5 Jan 2014
By
, Halifax
"I bought this drill Aug 2012 used it infrequently but was comparable to previous 24v Bosch.
Just over 12 months batteries packed up on a full charge get less then 10 mins work out of them. One battery flat after 5, 5.5mm holes .
Drill ok batteries waste of money.
"
Review 19 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke with in a week
23 May 2012
By
, Norwich
"The chuck does not keep the sds bits in they just fall out"
Review 20 for Hitachi DH24DVC 4kg 2.0Ah Ni-MH Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 24V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great drill, rubbish batteries
18 Mar 2012
By
, suffolk
"Battery life is far too short, often just a few minutes, i have an 18v makita drill which by far outperforms this drill at less than half the price. Would never buy hitachi again."
Page : 1 2 next>