Product Reviews

305mm (12"). For controlled one-handed clamping and spreading. Rust-resistant coating on bar.

305mm (12"). For controlled one-handed clamping and spreading. Rust-resistant coating on bar.
Average Customer Rating:
2.375 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
3 of 8(38%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Spreader Clamp 305mm (12")
Review 1 for Forge Steel Spreader Clamp 305mm (12")
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Forge Steel Spreader Clamp 305
15 Oct 2012
By Cindle
, Coleford, GLOS
"I bought two of these for a job. The first one wouldn't work at all and had to be replaced. On the second one, the handle broke after only being used a couple of times.
That said, the replacements I got have worked fine so maybe I just got some from a bad batch but I was surprised as Forge Steel is usually very good.
I've used them both as a clamp and a spreader and they're very easy to use one handed. Good product overall"
Review 2 for Forge Steel Spreader Clamp 305mm (12")
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not bad
21 Jun 2012
By Bagsey
, lLncolnshire
"Bought a pair of these a few years ago, and they have performed ok, except that the clamping mechanisim on one of them started sliping a bit whilst trying to operate the clamp lever, but I like the light weight to clamping ability ratio on them , so recently bought two more, but have found that the clamp release catch does not now come with a plastic cover, so is painful on the thumb to release,(sharp edges) which seems a shame as this tiny piece of plastic can't cost more that a 1/4p."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Forge Steel Spreader Clamp 305mm (12")
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good clamp
31 Dec 2010
By Valiant
, Yorkshire
"I have used these forge steel clamps for several years, and have found them to work well, and to be of good quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Forge Steel Spreader Clamp 305mm (12")
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adequate but not great
14 Oct 2012
By jdldjaljdasudosi
, Plymouth
"Works effectively and hold well, but the change from clamp to spreader is slow and inconvenient and the release lever is poorly positioned. No where near as good as the Irwin Quick Grips."
Review 5 for Forge Steel Spreader Clamp 305mm (12")
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not worth buying!
13 Dec 2012
By Fred74
, Scotland
"Sorry to have to say that.
I've used a lot of clamps / cramps over the years and used a number of these one hand grab it quick types but the pair of these I got just do not grip!
If I could find the invoice they would go back rather than in the recycle bin.
"
Review 6 for Forge Steel Spreader Clamp 305mm (12")
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disapointing performance
31 Oct 2012
By joblistdoer
, Norwich
"I avoided the cheapest option and went for this mid range clamp as I don't have a great use for them. I soon ran into two fundamental problems. 1) As I tried to clamp a twisted piece of wood, the clamp wouldn't hold it's position so that more load could be applied. It just slid back before any reasonable clamping could be achieved. 2) More disappointingly, although it boasts 'forge steel', this does not refer to the feeble plastic lever that snapped off with moderate force. I wasn't being a gorilla. So I'm now heading back to Screwfix to upgrade to something that is hopefully fit for purpose."
Review 7 for Forge Steel Spreader Clamp 305mm (12")
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of Money
4 Oct 2012
By IRW99
, Leicester
"I've just registered to express my disgust at these clamps.
I bought two of them this morning and am planning on returning them tomorrow morning, as they are incapable of 'clamping' anything- they can't even hold their own weight if clamped horizontally. I can't believe screwfix are actually selling these!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Forge Steel Spreader Clamp 305mm (12")
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You Get What You Pay For!
5 Mar 2010
By Bradvok
, UK
"The Clue’s In The Title ...
Looks Well But That’s About It.
Ratchet Is Very Weak & Simply Will Not Bite Hard Enough! (Had Two 6” & 12” Both Were Exactly The Same)
Returned Both & Bought Irwin XP's On A Web Deal ... Really No Comparison."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.