Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hitachi 3" Belt Sander 230V

Hitachi 3" Belt Sander 230V
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hitachi SB8V2 3" Belt Sander 230V
Review 1 for Hitachi SB8V2 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent investment
11 Apr 2014
By
, Oxford
"After using cheaper belt sanders for some time, this machine has shown where that extra money goes. This thing is an animal.
The belt never slips or jams, the belt tracker works brilliantly, it has been put through continuous use for long days and performs perfectly. The belt supplied is an 80g (i think), and is also excellent quality. I'd be interested to see how Makita can better this with a machine costing twice as much. Very impressed."
Review 2 for Hitachi SB8V2 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good heavy duty tool
7 Jan 2014
By
, France
"This is a tool that gives you confidence that it is up to the job and will last. it is easy to use and adjust, although is only supplied with one 80 grade belt and no case. At its highest speed it will remove material very quickly."
Review 3 for Hitachi SB8V2 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hitachi SB8V2 3" Belt Sander
13 Sep 2012
By
, Widnes
"I was a little hesitant to order a 75mm sander after having a larger 100mm one for many years. However, it seems just as powerful, and its light weight makes it easy to use in difficult positions. Dust extraction is particularly efficient. Bear in mind I have only owned this machine for around two weeks so cannot really comment on reliability."
Review 4 for Hitachi SB8V2 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hitachi sander
20 Mar 2012
By
, lincolnshire
"diy tools don,t last me long, if you want to play, b and d,s ok, if you want to do a job, get something better, hitachi seem to be ok up to now, can,t fault the sander up to press. ryobi,s good thou. match the price to the work you want to do."
Review 5 for Hitachi SB8V2 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hitachi's sander is a belter!
21 Jan 2012
By
, Sheerness
"I bought this sander in order to sand the original floor boards in our Victorian terraced house. The boards had a lot of grime and a tarry substance in places, so we bought a belt sander for the job. The sander itself is very compact, lightweight and easy to use.The belt is very tight to the edge making it possible to sand right up to the edge of skirting boards. The powerful motor has adjustable speed settings, this made easy going on the grubby boards and left a very smooth to the touch feel. We thought we'd have to resand with vibrating sanders to polish up the boards before staining them, but this proved to be unnecessary as the Hitachi did the job in one go! The bag does a reasonable job of collecing dust, but you will still need to wear a mask. This was quite a big job and the room was very dusty after an hour or so. The belts were easy to change and never slipped or lost grip.
For the price, around £140, this sander is excellent value for money and I'd definately recommend it for jobs, big and small.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi SB8V2 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good, solid product
23 Sep 2013
By
, Norfolk
"Quite solidily made, although not as substantial as the more-expensive Makita belt sanders.
Reasonable weight. Preset speed adjustment. Good dust collection.
Comes only in a cardbaord box, no tool-case, and only one belt. No stand for inverted use.
Quite reasonable value compared to other pro sanders on the market."
Review 7 for Hitachi SB8V2 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hitachi 4" belt sander
13 Aug 2014
By
, london
"Look. I purchased this item and took it straight back. We are usually Makita all day every day but i just fancied a change. The manufacturing quality just terrified me. It was very not good. I also returned the power planer for the same reasons. Ive been in my game for over twenty five years and i know when something just aint right. So i got the makita belt sander, and the planer. If it aint broke dont fix it. However, i just bought the hitachi gas framing gun and the finishing gun. Excellent"
Review 8 for Hitachi SB8V2 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok for a cheap machine.
22 Jul 2014
By
, Caernarfon
"I do a lot of sanding and bought this as a back up sander when my feature packed/more expensive one went in for a repair a few days ago. I've only had it a few days but already there are some things really bugging me, mainly the power lead is very short and you cannot invert the machine. The dust collection isn't bad (never used a machine where it works perfectly). I don't see the point of the transparent window especially as it gets dusted up inside! I know machines get hot but the casing on this gets very hot so be careful. On a positive note, it sands as it should do! Finally, the extended 3 year warranty is rubbish. Just registered for it online and it wasn't until the very end that it tells you it is only valid if serviced by a dealer every 12 months. Who does that?!!"