Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Professional installation tool for correct installation of Fischer HM metal plasterboard anchors. Heavy-duty construction for long life.

Professional installation tool for correct installation of Fischer HM metal plasterboard anchors. Heavy-duty construction for long life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Review 1 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good well made tool
9 Aug 2014
By woodenworm
, Norfolk
"A bit pricey, but after having had some of the other forming tools which work 2 or 3 times, if your lucky, you'll know that the Fischer forming tool will work when you need it every time, no questions asked, so it's worth paying the extra!"
Review 2 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential household item
20 Jul 2014
By DIYtimberhouse
, Barnsley
"I really struggled spending this much money on what looks like a simple tool, and when online advice is you can manage with just a screwdriver.
However, in my opinion, this is an essential item if you like in a house with lots of plasterboard.
The teeth of the fixings which bite into the plasterboard will easily turn round in the hole, tearing up the plasterboard, if you try and do the job manually. Ignore any advice which says either you don't need a tool, or that the tool is 'best used by the professionals'. It is easy to use, and does a perfect job every time. It looks and feels like it will last.
Use with these (or similar).
http://www.screwfix.com/p/fischer-5-x-37s-bp-hm-metal-plasterboard-anchor-pack-of-20/33559
I have fitted a floating shelf with these today. Drill 10mm hole, leave the screw in the fitting, shove it in the hole, loosen the screw about 5mm so you can fit the end of the tool between the face of the fitting and the back of the screw head, and squeeze the levers together. That's it. Solid and tight every time."
Review 3 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential equipment
26 Jan 2014
By Lunchtimer
, Daventry
"Pricey - yes. But read on...
Fixing to plasterboard stud partition and more importantly troublesome - catnic lintels! Wish I'd found this tool & Fisher metal plasterboard anchors years ago. Tool is so easy to use and solid - feels like it will last.
Also bought some dewalt HSS drill bits - made short work of the catnic. Don't skimp, the proper tools really do the business. Use a high speed drill & go gently!
One other tip! Make sure you've got a supply of suitable sized metal washers to use with the anchor bolts.
"
Review 4 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You pay for what you get
14 Jan 2014
By HappyJohn
, Brighton
"I had a real problem getting fixings into a bit of plasterboard, the fixing was just turning and drilling into the board, the hole was only getting bigger and I had no room for manoeuvre. So I had to bite the bullet and spent what I thought to be too much money. After the first use (and it pulling me out of the mire) I knew that I had not wasted a penny, it is sturdy, effortless and simple. For now it is my most favourite tool."
Review 5 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works
18 Nov 2013
By Dippy
, Beds
"Reliable, a bit expensive but worth it.
The revious (returned to Screwfix) £11.29 HWA setting tool was rubbish, only setting two anchors before slipping.
"
Review 6 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job perfectly!
12 Nov 2013
By MrsBOfH
, Finchampstead
"Woman Reviewer: this worked perfectly, highly recommended. Definitely buy this over the cheaper one."
Review 7 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality
17 Jun 2013
By MisterC299
, Epping
"After reading the reviews on the Screwfix and Rawlplug versions of this tool I settled on the Fisher one.
Although more expensive it's built for long term use and is of all metal construction.
My colleague has used and broke one of the other brands but was impressed with this one.
I've used Fisher and Rawlplug fixings with no problems.
"
Review 8 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome!
4 Oct 2012
By adiantum
, Wales
"I cannot believe how painless and comfortable fixing hollow wall anchors is with this tool!! And to think that I wasted hours yesterday fiddling around with poor quality wall anchors and a screwdriver... Good quality product. Well worth investing in if you have a few anchors to go..."
Review 9 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You won't regret buying this
19 Apr 2012
By BillyTheFishman3
, Shirley
"Like others I've always had problems with the anchors spinning in the plaster churning up the wall. I wish i had found this tool years ago when i was in my apartment where every wall was plaster board. Its so easy to use.
1) Drill hole
2) place anchor into hole without the screw, and hammer lightly into wall to secure.
3) Place screw in to anchor and turn it so u have a gap between top of anchor and screw head.
The gap should be just enough to insert the setting tool.
4) squeeze the handles and that is now screw and anchor in place.
Brilliant bit of kit. I won't be worried about using these fixers in the future thats for sure."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just Buy It
9 Feb 2012
By MickM
, Uttoxeter
"This setting tool is a bit pricey but it is also a bit brilliant! If you need to make even a few fixings on hollow walls you need this tool. It eliminates all of the false starts and disasters with normal Rawl plugs. Use the Screwfix anchors. They are just as good as the branded makes and work perfectly."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fischer Setting Tool
23 Dec 2011
By markybay
, cleethorpes
"I have sometimes had difficulty in the past using hollow wall anchors with tightening the bolt in the wall and the anchor ends up spinning round and chewing up all the plasterboard. So i decided to bite the bullet and buy a tool to do the work for me.
This piece of kit makes using using hollow wall anchors childs play, just drill the hole in the wall, put bolt through and turn a couple of time, place tool between the underside of bolt and over anchor, squeeze handles and the jobs a good un.
They are a bit on the dear side but i guess u do get wat u pay for, and they get the job done first time round.
"
Review 12 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Time Saver
11 Jun 2014
By JDWill722
, Penzance
"I wish I had known about this tool before. It takes all the fustration out of inserting plasterboard anchors. Saved a huge amount of time. It is as simple as drilling the whole, putting the fixing in and pulling the handles together."
Review 13 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Proper Anchor Puller
22 Apr 2014
By CJE123
, Westhill
"I have had several of the smaller, cheaper anchor setting tools, and each one has failed in a very short time. I took the decision to bite the bullet and buy this Fisher tool.
I would say that I am generally happy with the tool itself; its a better build quality and worked effortlessly on the anchors I was using.
Was it worth £40? Not sure on that, but so far its operated without glitch and has plenty pulling power to tighten up the anchor - however, I did have to screw the bolt in after the tool had pulled it out to its limit, but maybe I was using the wrong length of anchor bolt.
Overall, very good, but a bit pricey."
Review 14 for Fischer HM Plasterboard Anchor Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job well
17 Mar 2012
By Anonymous
, Shropshire
"This stops those twisting anchors and is very quick - you have a solid anchor to fix into before you start screwing.
It also allows you to use an anchor in a smaller cavity than expected. If you insert the anchor as far as it will go but it still sticks out the front of the plasterboard, you can use the setting tool to pull the anchor which allows you to push the anchor further into the wall."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.