Product Reviews

PE-X Barrier Pipe 22mm x 25m

PE-X Barrier Pipe 22mm x 25m
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
9 of 15(60%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Review 1 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plastic - first time
28 Mar 2014
By
, Bournemouth
"First time I have used 22mm plastic pipe. Not very flexible (but obviously more so than copper!!), but worked well, and fairly easy to thread through some awkward places. Seems excellent value. No leaks so far."
Review 2 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says
4 Aug 2012
By
, Berkshire
"What can you say about a roll of pipe? It does what it supposed to do! All I will say to those who have not used push fit pipe before is make sure you use the inserts correctly, else it will leak eventually."
Review 3 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can save a *lot* of time
4 Dec 2009
By
, Gloucestershire
"I needed to join some pipes running under a floor. Using this stuff, I got away with lifting 3 floor boards and just fed the pipe under the floor. Fantastic."
Review 4 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Use it well and it should b ok
7 Sep 2014
By
, Scarborough
"You can tell the difference between this and speedfit 22mm barrier/pex pipe in that this feels thinner and more brittle but it is HALF THE PRICE
I can't comment on reliability as I've only just installed it but I am confident that as it has been properly installed with all the right features including sleeves, gentle swept bends and sufficient clips and insulation it should be just fine.
I will use again."
Review 5 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing flash
12 Jul 2013
By
, Berkshire
"Good reliable pipe. Easy to use and good value. Ideal for both new and renovation work where pipework is out of sight or making copper connections would be fiddly."
Review 6 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Time saver? (Pain when cold)
14 Mar 2013
By
, Kings Lynn
"Handy pipe to save on joints, but a pain to use when the temperature is below 40deg. We had to blank off the ends & fill the pipe up with hot water to get it to bend."
Review 7 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flexible Plumbing
9 Jan 2009
By
, Gwynedd, Wales
"The pipe is easy to work with, being flexible and simple to cut. I have used the pipe for cold & hot water and central heating applications.
Even though I was working in cold conditions, the pipe was flexible enough to cope with the convolutions that were required. It performed perfectly with both compression and push-fit fittings (with the use of inserts in both cases).
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did you know ?
6 Aug 2008
By
, Verwood
""I had never used plastic before this job and had always been a traditionalist Copper man. I was surprised that the tube was not very flexible which made it harder to pull through than I had expected, also the minimum bend radius is larger than I'd anticipated and considering I was installing it over a very hot weekend, it's not as if the tube was cold therefore rigid. Job would have been next to impossible with Copper!, so this was a real life saver anyway.
Really good value compared to alternative manufacturers."
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unruly
25 Feb 2014
By
, London
"I've been blown away by plastic plumbing, 15mm coil is great you can go for miles and bend it about its so adaptable. I needed to do 2 runs under a floor through joists only 2" space and I got this so there would be no joins and..because I can get it on the bus!! well..I think with hindsight I wouldnt use it again for tight work, if you have a long run then..maybe it makes sense but as the other reviews say it wont sit down like 15, If you can drill huge holes it might be fine but I found having to get it through a 25/30mm hole the tip kept on sitting up and crashed into the hole interior so it wouldnt feed..nightmare! The ends also kick out when you finish the run so the fittings are everywhere..I know plastic is never going to be neat as copper but it was just to bad..straights do it in a fraction of the time and you can get it under just as easy, I think I'd I'd join it in future. Not sure if any of the others behave better but not tempted to find out at present. AND the price of coil at screwfix now is no longer the cheap option it was! beware! price per metre has gone up A LOT, 3m straights were cheaper at this time."
Review 10 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product and Value
1 Nov 2011
By
, Bishop's Stortford
"Works well but is difficult to use as it retains the characteristics of the coil that it is supplied in."
Review 11 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok but not pretty
28 Oct 2010
By
, Northants
"Easy to work with but impossible to straighten, if you want the job to look respectable buy straight lengths."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DISAPOINTED
15 Sep 2008
By
, EXETER
"Impossible to straighten & work with,
otherwise good product
Should be cooled before coiling
"
Review 13 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Total rubbish!!
23 Feb 2014
By
, Norfolk
"This is a very poor product! I have spent more time draining down, and refitting fiittings than it took to renovate the property!
The demount is nearly impossible leaving the inserts in the fittings when eventually they pull apart.
I am now having to take the whole lot out and fitting with a more reputable make. Please spend the extra as the time saved fitting is lost taking apart!!!!"
Review 14 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid at all costs
9 Aug 2012
By
, Wales
"This really is not worth using. I used it for a central heating system and spent more time draining down and refitting joints than I would have if copper. For a fact if you use chromed 15mm pipe for your rad final runs you need to convert to copper first then to plastic. If you don't the ends may... or may not... blow off. Tested at 1.5bar and most held.... at 2.5bar test three blew off and 4 joints began to weep. Have been plumbing 15 years and wish I had never touched this stuff.. 22mm is the worst.. Alspo DO NOT USE SAFEPLATES with this stuff ( as one is supposed to) the pipe moves and the plates cut into it... 12 months down the line you will have issues. AVOID THIS STUFF IN ANYTHING BUT A NEWBUILD... Only use for accessible and open places."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FloPlast PE-X Barrier Pipe White 22mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor performance
9 Feb 2010
By
, Solihull
"Used this pipe a year ago on a central heating system and had a number of problems with the pipe and floplast fittings.
It is not worth the money.
I would recommend paying a bit more and using John Guest tube and fittings."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.