Product Reviews

Soldering Iron 230V 40W

Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
3 of 10(30%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Review 1 for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made light weight
18 Dec 2014
By Porkypete2
, Stafford
" Used twice after purchasing.
Quick easy to use.
Very good value for the money
"
Review 2 for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fine tip soldering iron
24 Jul 2012
By dtrdave
, Dukinfield
" A very nice soldering iron considering the price the only downside is the iron rest which is a simple thin metal rest which i just binned but other than that i am very happy with the soldering iron. Heats up quickly. "
Review 3 for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value option that does the job
28 Nov 2014
By jsmith180
, Redruth
" Being the type of person that would probably only use a soldering iron every decade or so I thought I would go for the value option on screwfix. I'm sure if you are a soldering expert this iron is average at best, but if you're a novice occasional user like myself then it's ideal! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not bother
23 Oct 2014
By simon26r
, weymouth
" Tried to solder 2 thin ish wires. What a mess. Woukd not heat solder. I had to carry on with it as I was stuck. Went out and brought a decent one. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolute waste of money.
4 May 2014
By jimgom
, EDINBURGH
" Purchased this soldering iron and it lasted for about 10 minutes before it packed in.
You pays your money and takes your choice
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
awful
25 Feb 2014
By mjsmjs
, blackpool
" used mine today and could barely hold the wires in place to solder due to the amount of heat coming away from the vents in the iron. eventually found my old antex and this worked perfectly and was able to finish job off "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok when it works
7 Feb 2014
By Toast
, Nottingham
" I've had two of these now. First one broke within a few hours so i returned it. The second one lasted 5 months and has just broke so got binned.
When it works, it heats up quickly, can cope witht he lead free solder and can do quite good detailed work if really needed. The fustrating part is when it stops working. It just doesn't heat up. I tried a different fuse, checked the plug and now it's out of warranty, took it apart to find nothing loose or serviable. I assume it is the element but seeing as it hasn't been dropeed, used in extreme cold, used to brand leather or switched repeatedly on/off i don't see why an element should just go. Seeing as you pull all your other bits out to do the job and prepare your work then after 10 min realise there is no heat, you can imagine the fustration is high. Poor product i'm afraid Screwfix!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
steer clear
5 Jul 2013
By sparkydude
, staffordshire
" Bought this soldering iron to solder some fine cables to some relays. Started well, heated up very quickly , worked fine for 20 minutes, then noticed tip was not as pointed as it was. After half an hours use the tip had become totally unusable as it had apparently melted . Not sure what the tip was made of but seems like it was chocolate. Couldnt finish the job and had to return the product for a refund . I know you get what you pay for but this was ridiculous. Save your money and buy an Antex "
Review 9 for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Questionable purchase
26 Jun 2012
By 5handy
, north east
" Used it once before it broke. total time in use 10 min.. i dident expect much for a price but one use?. technically the most expensive soldering i have ever done. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Soldering Iron 230V 40W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy a better soldering iron.
15 Jul 2011
By Saxonhurst
, Somerset
" Cheap and nasty; will not get up to temperature to allow soldering for more than a few seconds. I managed to complete the job by turning off and on over a considerable length of time. "
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.