Product Reviews

Manual Tile Cutter 400mm

Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Average Customer Rating:
2.167 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
4 of 12(33%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Review 1 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product
13 May 2015
By IGGYG
, Wisbech
" I bought this to replace a tile cutter i had for about twelve years.So far it has cut about 500 tiles and i have had no problem with it.I would certainly recommend this.Excellent value. "
Review 2 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great value for the price
9 Jan 2015
By monkeybreathlondon
, london
" bought this to replace an old tile cutter. For the price it performed very well. Don't understand gripes of other users as it cracked about 400 tiles perfectly so far. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
does what it says
9 Oct 2014
By harryboy64
, Cambridge
" I bought this because my old one was too small so looked around and found this. A very reasonable price I thought, to cut large tiles.
It took one broken tile to get the hang of it and I can now confidently cut my tiles to any size quickly and cleanly. One thing to note is it's light weight and does bend in the middle so when pressing down on the tile after scoring it press on the edge of the tile. Overall very happy with my purchase.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You Get What You Pay For
20 Feb 2015
By Creggy
, Cardiff
" If you need something for a one off job this would suffice, however I would not recommend for a novice. Pretty simple to use however after cutting aprox 30 nr. 330x330 floor tiles it feel apart in my hands, not sure if i was pressing to hard but the runners that keep the cutting wheel in place are extremely flimsy and bent far to easily. Screwfix gave a full refund.
On reflection it probably failed due to user error, as a novice i was probably pressing down to hard, and in fairness all the cuts made were perfectly straight. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job
5 Oct 2014
By Heatingj
, Surrey
" It's not a rubi but for £20 it does the job ,idea for anyone who needs the odd 400mm cut but doesn't want to spend a fortune ,not the cleanest cut but a quick file and job done. "
Review 6 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exercise caution
17 Feb 2015
By B17NNS
, Staffordshire
" I'm sure for thin 6" ceramics it's fine. Floor tiles, don't even bother. Flimsy and not a nice thing to use. Spend a little more and get a lot better. "
Review 7 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flimsy tile cutter
20 Nov 2014
By pompeyritchie
, Portsmouth
" The cutter is really weak so flexes when you put pressure on it to snap the tiles. Managed to break more tiles than it actually cut.
Ended up having to return it after a couple of days.
I would recommend that screwfix remove this item from their catalogue.
If you must buy a tile cutter pay a little extra and get a better product.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolute rubbish
17 Nov 2014
By bikingb
, Devon
" Bought this to cut some 200 x 250 6mm wall tiles. With no instructions in the box, I'm not sure there are any, I broke the first three tiles I needed.
The whole thing flexes alarmingly and as soon you press down to break that exactly what happens except you have 6/7/8 pieces instead of 2.
I would take it back if I hadn't used it, but I have. So I might as well have put £20 in the bin!!
Perhaps I doing something wrong. I'll try and source some new cutters for my old cutter, 30 years old but won't score.
"
Review 9 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a tile cutter
28 Aug 2014
By Neil198
, Sunderland
" This is definitely the worst piece of equipment purchased from screwfix. I purchased this to do half a dozen tile cuts for running repair at job location to save me going back to the lock up. Waste of time and money as broke more tiles and wasted more time, never mind looking unprofessional in front of client. Nothing more than a kids toy for cutting wet biscuits. Please remove from your catalogue "
Review 10 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is a toy
16 Feb 2014
By rodboy
, greenock
" Absolute rubbish , ive used tile cutters before so im not a novice but this is too lightweight. I was trying to cut 10mm floor tiles.
Even just trying to score the tile was difficult as the lever is way too low and i scraped my knuckles first time using it . When trying to snap the tile the whole thing flexes. Not one clean cut. The two bars are now bent with the force of trying to snap tiles so the cutting wheel no longer makes contact with the tile.....binned after 20 mins ! stay away from this product .
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400m
5 Dec 2013
By Jackdi
, Pontypridd
" Absolute rubbish. Failed to cut a single tile. Unfortunately I threw the box and receipt away, because of the uselessness of the cutter I threw it in the bin for land fill so couldn't return it. I'm not a tiler but have used various cutters in the past and this was the pits. "
Review 12 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not for 10mm tiles....
20 Sep 2013
By lego007
, Stoke-on-Trent
" After reading the review of the cheaper model for £10.99, I though I`d pay for this .... thinking that it would be a better product and wouldnt flex as described in a review on the other.
I got it home and unboxed it (keep your box) first tile it started flexing, so I screwed it down to some timber.
2nd try and it bent the rails up so bad that the cutter now couldn`t reach the tiles.
At least screwfix refunded me. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.