Product Reviews

Manual Tile Cutter 400mm

Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Average Customer Rating:
2.7 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
14 of 30(47%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Review 1 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful tile cutter
11 Dec 2015
By
, Shepperton
" Had a couple of 400mm tiles to cut, had tried with my old tile bits and just broke tiles so brought this.
Made cutting effortless (but a simple "this is how to use" sheet would have been helpful).
Clean cuts, broke effortlessly, just wish I'd brought one sooner.
Almost tempted to re-tile a whole floor now as it's so good & easy
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit
19 Nov 2015
By
, London
" Just about finished the job without breaking one tile. Doing 400mm cuts every time.
One tip is to oil the runners before you start.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great little tilecutter
4 Oct 2015
By
, Wrexham
" this has been given some quite poor reviews, however I found it really good and easy to use (once I had slackened the handle a bit and lightly oiled the runners)
No broken tiles. I could easily cut about 5mm off a tile..not a problem.
Perhaps those people who were bending the rails were forcing it too much,,and had'nt loosened the handle a bit. Like any bit of kit, work with it, not against it!!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good cutter
14 Sep 2015
By
, derbyshire
" not bad for the price ,have used a few times and the cuts are fine,easy to use etc "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does its job
29 May 2015
By
, norfolk
" cant get excited about it but it does exactly what i bought it for and it delivers clean straight cuts time after time and is very well priced here. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter
5 Apr 2016
By
, Nuneaton.
" Been using this to cut 300x300x10 mm tiles. Broke a few tiles to begin with, I then went through some of the past reviews and did what they did... Loosened the handle! I went a step further - also applied WD40 to the cutting wheel so that it rotated smoothly. Worked ok after that. "
Review 7 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bathroom project
28 Aug 2015
By
, Buxton
" Tiling machine is very good value for money had no problems cutting my 400x250 tiles overall very happy with product would recommend. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product
13 May 2015
By
, Wisbech
" I bought this to replace a tile cutter i had for about twelve years.So far it has cut about 500 tiles and i have had no problem with it.I would certainly recommend this.Excellent value. "
Review 9 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great value for the price
9 Jan 2015
By
, london
" bought this to replace an old tile cutter. For the price it performed very well. Don't understand gripes of other users as it cracked about 400 tiles perfectly so far. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
does what it says
9 Oct 2014
By
, Cambridge
" I bought this because my old one was too small so looked around and found this. A very reasonable price I thought, to cut large tiles.
It took one broken tile to get the hang of it and I can now confidently cut my tiles to any size quickly and cleanly. One thing to note is it's light weight and does bend in the middle so when pressing down on the tile after scoring it press on the edge of the tile. Overall very happy with my purchase.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Watch those white tiles
6 Jun 2016
By
, Swindon
" For the money a great tile cutter but I have found two things at fault with this item:
1: the trailing legs that press the tile after scoring are prone to marking your tiles with a black residue. This is easily resolved with a bit of tape wrapped around them but a design fault none the less. 2. The action is not very smooth and the bars and working parts really benefit from a a bit of lube.
You can't knock it too much though. It is accurate and cuts very well. I'm pleased overall but just wanted to pass on my experience.
"
Review 12 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tile Cutter
1 Apr 2016
By
, Chelmsford
" Not the best bit of kit for 400mm tiles but good enough for light usage. Would be worth spending more if you have a big job to do. Might be improved by mounting on a solid base Click and collect excellent as usual. "
Review 13 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Be careful to cut square
3 Feb 2016
By
, Didcot
" I was disappointed by this tile cutter. I needed it to make diagonal cuts in 33 cm tiles. It is not a professional tool hence its very economical price.
The main problem was that the square edge against which the tile is pushed is not square; it is plastic and screwed to the base through oversize holes. It is best to check before cutting, the line of the cutting wheel against a pencil mark on the tile.
Having said that, it delivers a good scored line and every tile snapped easily along the line, so I finished my job. "
Review 14 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tile cutter
21 Jun 2015
By
, Southend on Sea
" I found this product to be able to finish off the work to a reasonable standard due to my own cutter breaking and waiting for spare parts. It's a good back up tool for the money. "
Review 15 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You Get What You Pay For
20 Feb 2015
By
, Cardiff
" If you need something for a one off job this would suffice, however I would not recommend for a novice. Pretty simple to use however after cutting aprox 30 nr. 330x330 floor tiles it feel apart in my hands, not sure if i was pressing to hard but the runners that keep the cutting wheel in place are extremely flimsy and bent far to easily. Screwfix gave a full refund.
On reflection it probably failed due to user error, as a novice i was probably pressing down to hard, and in fairness all the cuts made were perfectly straight. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job
5 Oct 2014
By
, Surrey
" It's not a rubi but for £20 it does the job ,idea for anyone who needs the odd 400mm cut but doesn't want to spend a fortune ,not the cleanest cut but a quick file and job done. "
Review 17 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
troublesome tile cutter
16 Jun 2016
By
, Honiton
" Bought this to cut some 33cmx33cm floor tiles. I oiled the runners and slackened the lever slightly as some other reviewers suggested. I broke the first two floor tiles and then practiced on the remnants. Just couldn't get the hang of it so returned to screwfix and exchanged for the Energer 450w tile cutter for an extra £10.Didnt break one tile after that. "
Review 18 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cheap tile cutter
22 Jan 2016
By
, aylesbury
" I found using this tile cutter you could never get a clean cut and a lot of the time you ended up marking the tile with the metal parts beneath the cutter! "
Review 19 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
give it a miss
27 Oct 2015
By
, widnes
" I bought this tile cutter to lay floor tiles in my kitchen and it was struggling to break my tiles along the scribed line. The base wasn't very strong and I could clearly see it was flexing when applying pressure to break the tiles. I ended up returning it before I finished my tiling project. "
Review 20 for Vitrex Manual Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exercise caution
17 Feb 2015
By
, Staffordshire
" I'm sure for thin 6" ceramics it's fine. Floor tiles, don't even bother. Flimsy and not a nice thing to use. Spend a little more and get a lot better. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>