Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ebac Dehumidifier 18Ltr

Ebac Dehumidifier 18Ltr
Average Customer Rating:
4.042 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
19 of 24(79%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Review 1 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
5 Jul 2016
By
, Brighton
" This one takes out 3 to 3.5 litres every 24 hours from a damp basement without fail.
Needs emptying once a day as it has a 3.5 litre tank.
Reliable and relatively quiet workhorse. "
Review 2 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant and well worth it
17 Jun 2016
By
, Stoke on Trent
" It's like anything in life you get what you pay for !!!
This is a brilliant bit of kit and its British
"
Review 3 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great performer
22 Mar 2016
By
, Abergavenny
" I bought one of these from Screwfix about 1 month ago and I have found it to be very economical, quiet and very effective in drying out my double garage workshop. It switches on when it detects moisture level above the setting dial and off again when the level drops. It is very quiet and you don't really notice it, just a gentle purring sound. I've not used the continous drain tube as the container is large enough to empty every few days. The distilled water collected is also very handy for other uses such as the steam iron and for my electroplating facility. This is an extra bonus. I have read that the case is brittle but I have found it very strong. It's a very bright colour and maybe this will put off some buyers but it's so easy to keep clean. The door swings open a little too easy but this is its only negative I would say but not one that deserves any negative rating. "
Review 4 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 years on and still working
16 Feb 2016
By
, Cambs
" Bought mine over 10yrs ago after moving back to UK from Scandinavia and finding it far too damp!
It's on daily throughout winter on the low setting. Keeps the house dry, which feels warmer, thus lower heating costs.
Have also used in for at least three flood situations where it was left on max for a week at a time (using the drain pipe option instead of tank).
If it died tomorrow, I wouldn't hesitate to buy a new one. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Now Dry Windows
31 Oct 2015
By
, Bishop Auckland
" I have a 200m3 boarding kennel block that I have recently had renovated, i think we don't have a DPM down as when it rains it becomes very wet on the floor and as its a heated building we are experiencing massive condensation issues. I have had this on for 2 days now and have seen an improvement. not sure if this one is big enough yet but it says on the instructions so will wait and see "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from wet to dry.
11 Dec 2014
By
, ULVERSTON
" having started to renovate our utility room ,found an excess of condensation building up on the ceiling and upper walls, tried a heater to no avail, as the utility room is attached to side of house,asked a builder for some advice! Hence my purchase of EBAC powerdri, working over the last 12hrs, can already see a marked decrease in moisture build-up,will come in
handy when decorating starts in new-year.An absolutely brilliant piece of equipment...
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dry Car Storage
24 Nov 2014
By
, North Kent
" Bought this for dry storing two cars in my garage over the winter months. Immediately drew a lot of moisture from the atmosphere then settled down, clicking on and off as humidity rose and fell. The hose needs to dunked in hot water to remove kinks and coils to allow the expelled water to run freely. The yellow plastic casing is very brittle and easily damaged, the first unit I collected was damaged (part of base snapped off and leaking) but was replaced FOC. Check for damage before taking delivery. "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best for price i have used,
10 Sep 2014
By
, southampton
" put in workshop left it for a couple of hours. then over night it was magic. bought the humidity down to the level I like and holds it.
small but powerful recommend to anyone.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
22 Apr 2014
By
, Devon
" Very pleased with the quality and price. Does a great job. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant de-humidifier
22 Feb 2014
By
, Stourport
" Works fantastically, have spent the last 8 weeks doing up our property, paint drying, plumbing, new plaster, generally steam and condensation around all the time, with loads of drying out to do, we were starting to get the feeling of damp. Bought this de-humidifier and it has worked consistently well and is doing a great job. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ebac Powerdri
16 Jan 2013
By
, Hebrides
" My wife bought this machine for a holiday cottage that she looks after for the owner. We have been amazed at the amount of water it collects daily. Have now plugged in the hose and just let it work away daily through the winter draining into the sink. What a difference to the furniture and general feel of the place during the winter, which despite heating being on always felt that bit damp and cold. "
Review 12 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Performance
13 Apr 2012
By
, North East Lincolnsh
" Bought this to eliminate moisture problem in large hallway at home, collecting 2+ litres per day. My wife said she didn't think it was that much but I suggested she pour 2 litres of water on the carpet to see if she would see a difference there!! She agreed! Super reliability and performance, noticed a very big difference within days, it now runs constantly controlling the natural moisture issue in our hallway and stairs!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pleased with purchase
12 Feb 2009
By
, Devon
" Effective & reasonably quite.
Has successfully dried out an older bungalow by the Sea which has large windows, althoough double glazed were constantly dripping with condensation. So far during the winter it has been removing over 2 litres a day, walls feel dry no more condensation or mould. Too soon to tell about overall reliability and costs. Appears well made.
"
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended, with care
14 Feb 2016
By
, Selby
" Had mine for over a year and bought a second one when my Girlfriend's house had a flood. Hers ran almost constantly for 2 months and made a huge improvement. Both given trouble free operation after extensive use. Fairly quiet but probably a bit intrusive for most people if you are in the same room. Can be heard from an adjacent room but not a problem.
Performance....18L/day is the maximum theoretical if used in a hot wet room filled with steam. According to my humidity meter, it realistically reduces humidity in an average 5mx4m room with 3m ceiling at around 20 degree temperature from 70-80% to around 40% over 20-24h and removes about one to one and a half tanks of water in that time i.e. 3.5 - 5 L on maximum dial setting. Pro rata, 60% drops to 40% in around 8-12 hours. If the room has damp floors and walls after a flood, it removes much more. The cut off when full works fine on both my units although personally I don't tend to leave them on for more than a day without checking, to be on the safe side. The best way to use is one room at a time, with doors closed.
Although the unit has no heating element, it generally raises the room temperature from 17-18 up to 19-20 degrees after 12 hours. It actually feels like more of a difference due to the lower moisture content in the air. Condensation is virtually eliminated and clothes dry far more quickly.
The exterior is fairly robust but the door is vulnerable when open. Emptying the tank is quick and simple but take care not to knock the door and damage the hinges while doing it. If the tank is completely full, take care not to tilt it when removing. When the tank is replaced, you occasionally have to tap and move it around slightly if the unit won't turn back on. Its no big deal.
The adjustment dial gives only a very rough guide but it does work and makes the condenser and/or the fan switch off and on, to maintain an approximate lower/higher humidity level for economy but you would need a seperate humidity meter to know what that level is. I always leave the fan on high as it uses very little power compared to the condenser.
The tank is plastic and although robust overall, the way it is moulded creates some very thin areas at the corners on the base which although tiny, could easily wear through and leak over time. Look through the hole in the top and point the tank base at a strong light source and it becomes obvious. I put a small doubled thickness piece of black insulating tape on each weak point and the problem is solved.
For me, this unit is a very useful household appliance in a small or average sized home. If you have damp or condensation problems it will make a big difference if you give it time, just don't expect instant results especially if used in large rooms.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Developed early fault - but OK
21 Jan 2016
By
, Malvern
" Had this running for approx. 2 weeks on an almost continuous basis. Performed noticably well, drawing about 3 litres of moisture per 24 hour period out of my damp basement.
However, after 2 weeks of use, it started to ice up and now after 2 hours of use, it's fully frosted and fails to remove any moisture.
Thanks to Screwfix's very good customer service, had a no quibble replacement provided.
The instructions for this unit are poor (non existent really) and it could do with a digital humidity gauge to assess and monitor the level of dampness in the air. "
Review 16 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
saved the day after flooding
1 Jan 2016
By
, lancashire
" Tried to hire dehumidifier but like hens teeth so I decided to buy one
Screwfix got one in within one day at Christmas time so now up and working very quickly.
"
Review 17 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Dehumidifier
21 Jan 2015
By
, East Dereham
" Delivered in 20hrs. Nice easy to read instructions, just leave to stand for 2hrs to allow it to settle after transit. Permanent drainage hose (lots of it) supplied, plug in and off you go. Beats any item from a DIY Store anyday. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
competent machine
22 May 2010
By
, northants
" This machine has now worked regularly for 18 months and is still effective. I would question the claim that it will extract 18l/24hrs, I suggest in normal conditions 5l/24hrs would be the norm. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workshop Drier
5 Apr 2010
By
, Bristol
" I received the Ebac Powerdri after two days and just plugged it in. The tank filled up in and i emptied it, then i drilled a hole in the wall and it emty's itself now. Does what it says on the tin and "Dehumidifiies"! My garage workshop is now a much drier place to be and my tools should benefit from the lower humidity. Thank you screwfix for the same as always good service. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ebac Powerdri 18Ltr Dehumidifier Unit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's yellow
3 Dec 2014
By
, Dorset
" Having one dehumidifier for over ten years, plus a second over seven years, it was a surprise/disappointment when l had to replace the second due to a fire recall put upon it. I decided this bright yellow one, with 'professional' written on it, must be superior. Used it where the recall one had been, and big disappointment. After some days of trying, swapped them around, and found works fine in a separate area a quarter the size. Used with my humidity meter, l can turn it down to around the 60-65degs humidity mark. Like the way the fan switches off completely when conditions are met. Unlike my recall machine. My other machines blew quite a wind out the top, but this one has virtually nothing out the front. Quieter because of it. Seems to work well, though, in this reduced space. Water container is easy to remove, though you only know when it's full by a light, no indication inbetween. Decided there are many cheaper models out that can do the job, and not bright yellow. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>