Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield 3.41hp Rotary Mower

Mountfield 3.41hp Rotary Mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This MOWER is a GOER
26 Jun 2014
By
, Grays, Essex
"fabulous machine that takes the hard work out of grass cutting"
Review 2 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic buy
21 Jun 2014
By
, Shropshire
"Having done a fair bit of research into my first petrol mower I settled on this. Strong engine and rigid frame make this a proper tool for the job. Only made a few cuts with it but exactly what I was looking for.
Well pleased. Assembly was easy (which was a good job as instructions weren't brilliant).
Would definitely recommend with the usual screwfix ease of delivery etc.
"
Review 3 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Performer
10 Sep 2013
By
, Preston
"Great service and quick delivery as usual. The mower was easy to assemble and once filled with oil and petrol started first pull! It is fairly large and heavy although due to the wheel size this isn't really an issue. Large grass collecting box makes for easier working along with the slow/fast setting on the drive (if used). Probably a little large for some smaller lawns but overall, a great mower and recommended."
Review 4 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value for money
22 Aug 2013
By
, highlands
"Very easy to assemble, don't see a problem with the grass collection box being plastic hook on. would think a better idea, as would not rust. Delivery and service from screwfix was excellent, just a little tip, make sure you have 4stroke oil at your disposal as not understandably supplied."
Review 5 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good mower
10 May 2013
By
, sheffield
"brilliant service, very fast delivery
the mower is very good, well made, and easy to use.
all in all brill
"
Review 6 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the wheels
11 Apr 2013
By
, Portpatrick
"Great machine - I've only used it once so far but is feels very solid are easy to use with very good wheels."
Review 7 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quality and value
10 Aug 2012
By
, barnsley
"great product, delivered promptly, easy to assemble and use. just the job!"
Review 8 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Buy
5 Aug 2012
By
, Inverness
"I shopped around to replace my existing self propelled mower as I have a large garden so cutting the grass without one is a killer. This model was £78 cheaper than another DIY store so very good value. The height adjuster is easy to use and the mower started with only one pull. When you push the clutch bar it does take off quickly, so be prepared, however this definately means the mower is doing the work and you just have to guide it. I have only given it 4 stars as the grass box is plastic clip on attachment to the mower and I worry how durable these will be as previously I had steel but still easy to use. Performance is excellent, I have cut the grass twice now and I actually didn't dread having to go and cut the grass second time out. Reliability is something that hopefully will be as good as the other features long term."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield SP533
19 Jul 2012
By
, Andover
"Excellent product, well made and easy to assemble. Arrived as promised next day. Immediatly set to work and cut the grass in no time. Very pleased."
Review 10 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable and Well Built
27 Jun 2012
By
, Lemington Spa
"I bought the Mountfield Self Propelled lawn mower and a metal store to keep it in.
Thanks to the other reviews I have made a very good choice.
Highly recommended."
Review 11 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21" Mountfield SP533
28 Apr 2012
By
, Douglas, IoM
"Excellent £0 delivery to the IoM - well done Screwfix!!!
Just put the handle together and it started first pull.
Very easy to start, slightly heavy to manoevre but I have been used to a push mower.
It certainly speeds through the simple areas of grass and it climbs hills well.
I now need to train my wife.......
"
Review 12 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield sp533
12 Apr 2014
By
, Isle of man
"Free delivery to Isle of Man ! Delivered within 36 hours which is great. Up and running within 15 mins, started first time. You have to use choke to start even when warm, but no drama. As previous reviewers have said slightly on heavy side but is easy to use on my 50x30 yd undulating lawn. Why did I not get one earlier, bliss to use. Glad i stuck to mountfield rather other less robust makes. With 3 year warranty too."
Review 13 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovely machine
10 Sep 2013
By
, Swansea
"Excellent product that you can immediately tell is quality . Having spent time putting it together and reading the instructions carefully I was amazed when it started with the very first pull of the ignition cord. (Things like that don't happen to me )
Its a heavy item so transporting it to the front of the house over steps needs two of you but once its up and running its easy to manoeuvre. Can't believe I struggled with an electric model all these years.Its a pleasure to use .
"
Review 14 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield Law Mower
18 Jul 2012
By
, South Ayrshire
"The Mountfield is a sturdy lawn mower, it copes with my kennel play pens where we grow granite with regularity and it manages the odd large stone.
Controls are simple, the self-propelled part is a little fast, don't do as the instruction manual says from choke change to 'hare' symbol, try in the middle of 'hare' and 'toirtoise' in the beginning, nearly finished up in the duck pond on the first try!! Starting whilst cold is a little challenging but once it warms up it's easy to start.
The height adjustment for the cut is simple and I suspect it will prove a good all rounder, though a little on the expensive side. Maybe it's just me not wanting to spend my hard earned money.
I'll let you know in another year or so if this machine is still alive!!
"
Review 15 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best ever mower
3 Apr 2012
By
, n. ireland
"a great purchase from screwfix. would recommend this mower very realiable and starts first time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good mower but had to go back
19 Aug 2014
By
, Bromley
"I got the mower in April and had used it maybe 5 times on our 90ft garden around 5 times between then and august. The cut is fantastic and it is happy going through some long grass. The box is pretty big. I have no complains about the performance of the mower, however on the 5th use I noticed that the blade had become loose. on further investigation, the housing that the bolt holding the blade goes into was cracked. Screwfix were fantastic about returning the mower and (although this web page says that they have it in stock) I was told it wasn't in stock in store or the warehouse for delivery they refunded me in full. I asked the guy behind the counter if they had any other mountfields in for returns and he said they hadn't so it may just be that I had a duff. Not sure whether to go for another mountfield or not but will buy through screwfix if I can as they were so good at dealing with the return (they even emailed me the receipt that I couldn't find)!"
Review 17 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SP533 Review
15 May 2013
By
, Herefordshire
"Seems to be a well built, sturdy machine which is good value for money. It cuts fine and manoeuvres well. It does tend to move forwards relatively slowly when the self-drive is engaged. Other then that there are no problems."
Review 18 for Mountfield SP533 51cm 3.41hp 160cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mountfield mower
15 May 2013
By
, kettering northants
"when securing pull cord hook to handle of mower the paint peeled off the metal handle"