Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Forge Steel Hand Riveter

Forge Steel Hand Riveter
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Review 1 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
31 Oct 2014
By
, Weymouth
"Great Product at a great price. Has extra interchangeable nozzles for different size rivets. Has a very strong , robust construction. The price is very good, especially for the DIY er such as myself, who occasionally needs a gun at home."
Review 2 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Useful Item
6 Aug 2014
By
, Harrogate
"I've not had to do much riveting for any of my projects, but I needed to do a repair on a metal trailer tent pole that had separated. The result was exactly as I had anticipated. Great tool which is going to be used more. I opted for the mixed assortment of rivets which were well priced."
Review 3 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid
2 Jul 2014
By
, Gloucestershire
"Had a cheap riveter and it was SUCH a pain. This one is solid, easy to clear of used rivets (I've put 100s of rivets through it and never had to take it apart) and has all the heads you'll need for different sized rivets.
Only complaint is that you need to have a hand the size of King Kong to get going single handed (a previous reviewer mentioned you really do need to be holding what you are riveting!).
TIPS
Pick the right length rivets or they won't hold/snap.
Keep a small spacer (pliers?) to hand if one doesn't snap off. Release the handles a bit, put the spacer in the gap this creates and re-squeeze.
The left over piece of rivet will only release if the handles are COMPLETELY open. If any stick after this then a slight tap with the aforementioned pliers or gently push another rivet in to shove the other out the back.
Hope you found the review errrrm rivetting"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First try at riveting
22 Mar 2013
By
, Southampton
"Usage fine once you have learnt how to use it. Recommend Carona site for best info, wish I had read it first. You must have the right size of rivet for the job. Too short gives weak joint. Too long gives poor looking joint and needs another squeeze to snap off. You do need to somehow squeeze the work together before working the gun. Nobody explains how it works, just what to do. Took to bits to see. Vertical cylinder which is moved up and down by the lever. Contains strong spring that pushes two wedge shaped jaws giving firm grip on rivet stem. Jaws are pushed apart by V-shaped back of nozzle as lever is released, allowing stem to be inserted. Teeth on jaws seem to be angled to cut in on pull but slide off on release. Knocking the stem down to drill the wrong ones out is a pig! Helpful?"
Review 5 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pop Riveter that works
5 Jul 2012
By
, Solihull
"This riveter is excellent value for the money paid. It will work with a variety of different sized rivets simply by changing the adaptors with the spanner provided,"
Review 6 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Expected
31 May 2012
By
, Preston
"Good, Robust tool.
Never thought that Forge Steel tools were any good but I find I'm buying them more often.
Better than average tools at a decent price.
"
Review 7 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strong & did great job
21 May 2012
By
, Leeds
"I have never used a Riveter before, so I cannot compare with others. I used it to secure iron handles onto a heavy duty iron gate. 4.8mm rivets fitted the existing holes nicely. It took some effort to squueze the handles together but after all these were biggish rivets so its got to be hard to compress them. I don't think a cheaper tool would have taken the force (I have read reviews on standard duty riveters and they can just break with the force). I am VERY pleased indeed with the finished job, the handles are secured. I was going to buy a Draper Expert riveter (elsewhere) but I did not want to wait fro delivery. With Screwfix I just ordered online for collection the same day (depot only 15mins away), that is a HUGE advantage. It is probably of equal quality to the Draper Expert tool, made from same metals (molybdenum and Chrome). I can see this tool lasting me a life time and I can also see I will be using it more often than I had thought - Riveting is so brilliant!"
Review 8 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Suprisingly good
5 May 2012
By
, Leeds
"Hand riveters are notoriously rubbish, but this one is suprisingly good! It's comfortable to use, and consistently pops rivets in one pass. More expensive products are often made of pressed steel, which eventually fails as the holes round the hinged section of the tool elongate. - As this is a cast product, I doubt this will happen."
Review 9 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good tool for the job
17 Aug 2011
By
, High Wycombe
"Not much more to say, however works well and riveted by boat OK."
Review 10 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use
17 Jan 2011
By
, Port Talbot
"Easy to use and well built, it's perfectly up to the job for occasional use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
workmanlike
25 Oct 2009
By
, Norfolk
"Bought as a replacement for one that I had had for many years and the diference in quality and ease of use was immediately apparent. Feels solid and robust."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Struggles with 4.8mm rivets
15 Jun 2013
By
, Southampton
"Bought this today - I'd have got the Stanley one if it'd been in stock.
I'm not exactly weak, but it took both hands and some swearing to set a 4.8 ALU rivet !
It managed a 4mm SS rivet though, which is surprising in hindsight.
Should be fine for 4mm and smaller ALU rivets. Just not enough leverage in this tool.
I cannot comment on reliability, obviously.
"
Review 13 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Riveter
20 Dec 2009
By
, London
"Very good product, pretty good value, handy to have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for one offs
30 Sep 2014
By
, London
"If you just need a cheap riveter for one off work this should do the job fine. But if you are doing 30+ rivets per job get something else because this will give you blisters and hand fatigue.
Bear in mind I only use 4.8mm rivets (the biggest size this supports).
I used this to build flight cases and it did a pretty good job initially, but eventually it tired out my hands and the finger nodules on the front handle is really badly placed and can give you blisters.
My biggest gripe with this is the finger nodules, on a device like this you will never hold the trigger in one place. As you release your finger tips will hold the trigger. As you squeeze the digits closest to your knuckles will hold the trigger. So the trigger is supposed to move around in your hand. So this makes the nodules quite uncomfortable.
Eventually the rear of the riveter became loose and the retaining bolt came off and the spring propelled the bolt somewhere that I can't find. So this riveter has seen retirement."
Review 15 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Retains pin
19 Aug 2013
By
, Glastonbury
"The gun itself works fine I guess - but after every use the rivet pin is retained in the jaws and can only be removed by unscrewing the whole piston assembly until everything falls out, then I have to re-assemble the jaws, spring, splitter and screw cap.
Not what I expect from a tool, at any price."