Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powerful lever action arms with comfortable moulded grips and spring-loaded handle. Interchangeable screw-in nose pieces. Cr-Mo jaw suitable for stainless steel rivets.

Powerful lever action arms with comfortable moulded grips and spring-loaded handle. Interchangeable screw-in nose pieces. Cr-Mo jaw suitable for stainless steel rivets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Review 1 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First try at riveting
22 Mar 2013
By Cobbler
, Southampton
"Usage fine once you have learnt how to use it. Recommend Carona site for best info, wish I had read it first. You must have the right size of rivet for the job. Too short gives weak joint. Too long gives poor looking joint and needs another squeeze to snap off. You do need to somehow squeeze the work together before working the gun. Nobody explains how it works, just what to do. Took to bits to see. Vertical cylinder which is moved up and down by the lever. Contains strong spring that pushes two wedge shaped jaws giving firm grip on rivet stem. Jaws are pushed apart by V-shaped back of nozzle as lever is released, allowing stem to be inserted. Teeth on jaws seem to be angled to cut in on pull but slide off on release. Knocking the stem down to drill the wrong ones out is a pig! Helpful?"
Review 2 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pop Riveter that works
5 Jul 2012
By palm
, Solihull
"This riveter is excellent value for the money paid. It will work with a variety of different sized rivets simply by changing the adaptors with the spanner provided,"
Review 3 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Expected
31 May 2012
By Anonymous
, Preston
"Good, Robust tool.
Never thought that Forge Steel tools were any good but I find I'm buying them more often.
Better than average tools at a decent price.
"
Review 4 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strong & did great job
21 May 2012
By TheWelshWizard
, Leeds
"I have never used a Riveter before, so I cannot compare with others. I used it to secure iron handles onto a heavy duty iron gate. 4.8mm rivets fitted the existing holes nicely. It took some effort to squueze the handles together but after all these were biggish rivets so its got to be hard to compress them. I don't think a cheaper tool would have taken the force (I have read reviews on standard duty riveters and they can just break with the force). I am VERY pleased indeed with the finished job, the handles are secured. I was going to buy a Draper Expert riveter (elsewhere) but I did not want to wait fro delivery. With Screwfix I just ordered online for collection the same day (depot only 15mins away), that is a HUGE advantage. It is probably of equal quality to the Draper Expert tool, made from same metals (molybdenum and Chrome). I can see this tool lasting me a life time and I can also see I will be using it more often than I had thought - Riveting is so brilliant!"
Review 5 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Suprisingly good
5 May 2012
By davelx
, Leeds
"Hand riveters are notoriously rubbish, but this one is suprisingly good! It's comfortable to use, and consistently pops rivets in one pass. More expensive products are often made of pressed steel, which eventually fails as the holes round the hinged section of the tool elongate. - As this is a cast product, I doubt this will happen."
Review 6 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good tool for the job
17 Aug 2011
By bigdiy
, High Wycombe
"Not much more to say, however works well and riveted by boat OK."
Review 7 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use
17 Jan 2011
By Paul2
, Port Talbot
"Easy to use and well built, it's perfectly up to the job for occasional use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
workmanlike
25 Oct 2009
By Safetyspot
, Norfolk
"Bought as a replacement for one that I had had for many years and the diference in quality and ease of use was immediately apparent. Feels solid and robust."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Struggles with 4.8mm rivets
15 Jun 2013
By klog
, Southampton
"Bought this today - I'd have got the Stanley one if it'd been in stock.
I'm not exactly weak, but it took both hands and some swearing to set a 4.8 ALU rivet !
It managed a 4mm SS rivet though, which is surprising in hindsight.
Should be fine for 4mm and smaller ALU rivets. Just not enough leverage in this tool.
I cannot comment on reliability, obviously.
"
Review 10 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Riveter
20 Dec 2009
By TheDaddy
, London
"Very good product, pretty good value, handy to have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Forge Steel Heavy Duty Hand Riveter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Retains pin
19 Aug 2013
By Wanstronian
, Glastonbury
"The gun itself works fine I guess - but after every use the rivet pin is retained in the jaws and can only be removed by unscrewing the whole piston assembly until everything falls out, then I have to re-assemble the jaws, spring, splitter and screw cap.
Not what I expect from a tool, at any price."