Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Powered by Briggs & Stratton 40cm hand-propelled petrol rotary mower with long lasting steel blade.

Powered by Briggs & Stratton 40cm hand-propelled petrol rotary mower with long lasting steel blade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Review 1 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a cracker!
19 Dec 2013
By Technonotice
, Kernow
" Bought this in May and used it for a season and well pleased as it's been excellent. It may be low cost but it's a top quality product. The instant height adjustment is simply brilliant, and I use it constantly as I move the mower around different surfaces - you won't find this feature on some £500 mowers. It's quite light, starts easily, uses little fuel, is quiet, cuts and collects very well even on wet grass with a decent sized grassbox - pretty much perfect. Haven't found many downsides, but some may find the lowest cut not close enough for a bowling green finish, and the blade stop "dead mans handle" can be irritating but we can blame the EU for that! "
Review 2 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent customer service
2 Nov 2013
By Purpletoast
, Glasgow
" Bought this just over a year ago and it broke with a seized engine. Very uncommon for a Briggs and Stratton Engine and as I had properly maintained oil levels etc I took it back. Despite the fact it had been over a year they took it straight back and replaced. Top marks screwfix! Replacement is running fine and it is a very good reliable mower! "
Review 3 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cut Grass at Cut Price
9 Oct 2013
By Tommy1951
, Harwich
" Having for many years owned an American Murray 21 inch cut rotary mower I sold it 10 years ago and replaced it with a Qualcast Classic (Suffolk Punch) petrol mower. The Qualcast is fine when the grass a fairly dry, but the roller on the front bends the grass over before it gets cut by the cylinder. So I invested in this 16 inch rotary mower from Screwfix with a Briggs and Stratton petrol engine. A really nicely finished machine and easy to assemble. A nice feature is that one lever adjusts the height of all 4 wheels. The engine starts on the first pull and will last for very many years if looked after. It cuts damp grass very well. If you are going to buy this mower I would suggest investing in some spare blades that are presently available from Screwfix. You will not be disappointed with this product, but be sure to read the instruction book thoroughly before use. This mower was not purchased to replace the Qualcast but to use when the grass is damp. "
Review 4 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Briggs and Stratton reliabilty
12 Jun 2013
By moonbase
, Aylesbury
" Excellent mower at a competitive price. Starts within a couple of pulls from cold and gives a good stripey cut at various heights. Particularly like the fact that height adjustment is by adjustment of one lever only and unlike other mowers where you have to adjust the height of each wheel "
Review 5 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great mower
11 Jun 2013
By push16
, Bedford
" Bought this to replace my old mower that had always been hard to start and finaly died. Low price was the attraction but have been very happy with other tools from screwfix so wasn't too concerned.
Easy to assemble and fill with oil and petrol. It started after 5 pumps of the primer. Easy to start when warm and cuts well. My lawns need cutting at different heights so the one lever to adjust all 4 wheels was a god send.
However I have had problems starting the mower from cold but have now learnt to ignore the label on the mower saying ' push 3 times' . It needs to be pumped about 5 or 6 times.
Only 4 stars for reliability as it is early days but it looks well built so I am quietly confident and very happy.
"
Review 6 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional value
29 May 2013
By Mags62
, leicester
" Never owned a petrol mower before as always had electric , but this is by far the best mower I have ever had. Easy to assemble took about 10 mins starts on the first or second pull once primed from cold and cuts the grass with ease. "
Review 7 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent.........
27 May 2013
By Gaz81
, Cambs
" Brought this at sale price so wasn't expecting too much but how wrong I was. Powered by Briggs and Stratton so you know it's not gonna go wrong,starts first pull every time,and leaves the grass looking great.The height adjustment is great and overall it looks smart. Can't think of any bad points so I would defiantly recommend to anyone. "
Review 8 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth buying
24 May 2013
By Pip7
, Kent
" Fantastic product I would recommend this lawn mower for anybody who has a small to medium sized lawn.
It's east to put together and once I put oil and petrol in it started second pull fantastic!!
"
Review 9 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple easy petrol mower
6 May 2013
By DIYAnimal1234
, London
" Great price, easy to construct, simple to start and does what it says. Well happy with the mower. Just remember to buy the good quality 4 oil as well from screwfix. "
Review 10 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Affordable petrol mower
13 Jan 2013
By smarte
, Slough
" Easy to assemble, takes ten minutes to put together and oil up
Have used this mower for a year and had it serviced twice.
Make sure you check the oil and don't overfill or it will smoke and may damage the engine
Can be used without self propelling to get into those awkward areas.
Easy to start and I have used it for six hours continuously in the summer. (excluding fuel stops)
I have replaced the drive belt and drive wheel which become worn when the belt was thrown from moving over a large stone that had been thrown onto the lawn.
Apart from this (which you would expect if you could see the rock) it has started easily and been reliable.
The seven height adjustment is single operation and adjusts all four wheels in one go.
Easy to go from bowling green to meadow grass in one operation
No cables to restrict you
Greatly reduces mowing time
AND it stripes the lawn for that professional just mowed look
Outstanding for the price and easily out features mowers of much greater prices
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mowertastic
25 Aug 2012
By PJmallett
, Kent
" Gotta love this mower, easy to put together, easy to use and easy to start. So easy to start in fact the wife said that she'd be happy to do the lawn......Mmmm we'll see!! I've only put 4 stars on reliability as I've only had it a month,but it is very sturdy. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb mower
24 Jul 2012
By Helena
, Mansfield
" The mower was quick to assemble and very easy to start. The engine is very reliable, as I would expect from a Briggs and Stratton motor and is much quieter than other mowers I have used. The best thing about it, however, is the single lever you move to adjust the cutting height of all four wheels- ingenious! Worth buying for this feature alone.The paint finish is also much better than previous mowers I have owned.Excellent value for money. "
Review 13 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super product
23 Jul 2012
By AdmW
, West Yorkshire
" I've mowed my lawn twice with this mower after buying it on offer. I've been really impressed. Pump the primer three times, crank ands its off. Both myself and my girlfriend can start it without any trouble.
It doesn't get to the edges as well as I think others might, but it seems a small price to pay.
The vacuum caused by the spinning blade seems to have lifted all the dead out making my lawn look a lot healthier.
Can't really talk about reliability as I've only had it a week or so, but it seems well built and should last a lot longer than the cheap flymo which hurt my back it was so small which it replaces. "
Review 14 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the money
4 Jul 2012
By Doctor
, Buckinghamshire
" Had an eye on this mower for a while and grabbed it when it went on sale. Was a little concerned what the build quality might be like but it seems pretty good.
I've just cut the lawn and it's cut nicely and didn't drop one blade of grass! The wheels sit a little further out due to the single lever height adjustment so I couldn't get quite as close to a wall as I used to but the ease of height adjustment more than makes up for that.
What surprised me was how much lighter and easier to push and turn it was than my old mower. Can't see the point of the self propelled version now, with more to go wrong!
Overall for the money this seems a good buy, really pleased with it. "
Review 15 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good lawnmower
1 Jul 2012
By Lawnmowerboy
, birmingham
" I bought this to replace my second hand fantastic 30 year old Hayter, Briggs and Stratton rear roller, petrol Lawnmower. this is the fantastic alternative to it. starts well, cuts well. The only problem I could just about dig out is that the lowest cutting height is so low.that the whole body actually touches the floor. this mean that it wont start unless the setting is raised, because the blade is stuck on the ground. hope this review is helpful. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Happy
21 Jun 2012
By davey10j
, Manchester
" Took less than 10mins to setup - nothing complicated or techincal.
Easy to start - solid feel to it.
What more can I ask for the price? "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A classic machine
4 Apr 2012
By oldlowie
, Somerset
" When my 17 year old mower finally fell to pieces, the Briggs and Stratton engine was still starting first time. This after years of abuse and zero maintenance!
I decided that my next mower must have a B & S engine and be of good quality - this mower scores on both counts, and is great value for money, too.
I took 10 minutes to bolt the handles on and put in the oil (not supplied) and put unleaded in the tank.
I pulled on the starting rope and vrooom!
Here's to another 17 years of reliable mowing... "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value for money .solid
18 Mar 2012
By rsvdaz
, poole
" good height adjustment.solidly build and easy to start.ideal for the average lawn "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does well, hard work pushing!!
5 Jul 2013
By damull
, Chichester
" Great machine for the price, easy to start, nice little runner. Problem is if you are a little infirm it can make an easy job harder. Please, please! review the grass collector. Being made of fabric, it is too pliable and it is too low slung when it is half full, the bottom half of the bag drags along the ground making it harder to push around, even when at the high settings, if the bottom was reinforced/made solid as is the Mountfield it would be perfect, I did make a mistake but the low price captured me, but I can live with it, just do not try to get too much grass in the collector "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40cm 3hp Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w. Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good reliable buy
14 Jun 2013
By BigChick1
, Enfield
" I read these reviews and think, yes, thats the store writing the reviews! After reviewing this product about a month ago, I bought one, and here is my review.
After several well known makes die on me, I decided to get a mower with a Briggs engine, very well known and very reliable.
It is superb, does exactly what the reviews all say - easy starter, very easy height adjustment, good price, glad I read the reviews.
Not a wide cut so takes a bit longer to cut the grass, but overall, very impressed for a lower priced product.
"
Page : 1 2 next>