Product Reviews

Hot Water Cylinder Jacket

Hot Water Cylinder Jacket
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Review 1 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value Cylinder Jacket
15 Nov 2014
By
, London
"The cylinder jacket was easy to fit and worked a treat. As some previous reviewers have said it did have a faint aroma but this disappeared quickly.
Just a good value easily fitted cylinder jacket.
"
Review 2 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great jacket
13 Nov 2014
By
, Cornwall
"Very easy to install, and seems to keep the heat in Ok. Very happy with this product!"
Review 3 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Jacket
12 Nov 2014
By
, Yorkshire
"It hasn't changed my life but we have 8 hot water tanks heated by immersions (no gas, and no oil or LPG is dearer night electric is 6.5p/kWh and so is LPG but immersions don't need servicing annually and as we are on a green tariff are renewable).
Noticeable drop in night-time consumption over the site, reduced heat loss = more hot water after blended with cold at mixer. Happier guests.
It isn't rocket science, it isn't as sexy as the PV or the heat pump but if all the cylinder has is a thin foam jacket then these really help. Suggest also insulating the first metre or so of pipe from tank to assist.
Yes they could be better made, the fixing of the eyelets are not as robust as they could be and the tapes are fiddly to put on but installed in circa ten minutes and then they never need touching again. They are well made enough for the purpose and would rather this than a higher price which would reduce payback."
Review 4 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install
3 Jul 2014
By
, New Romney Kent
"The Cylinder Jacket arrived well packed in a large brown box. Once out of the box was in another bag, There are four rolls that need to be allowed to plump out when unrolled. they are supposed to be tied with a supplied string but to be honest I found this to be too small so needed to put on a longer shoelace.
each leaf when plumped up becomes nice and thick, it was then strait forward to place around the cylinder and the supplied tie strings were ample that I could go around twice. very pleased with it. Again any one can do this job.
"
Review 5 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value Jacket
19 Oct 2014
By
, Bromley
"Fitted to a newish hot water cylinder of standard size, for this jacket, so fit was no problem. The cylinder already had a 50mm foam covering, apart from the Immersion heater hole and the outlet at the top. Jacket adds a little more insulation and covers those bare parts. If you have decent access, pretty simple to fit."
Review 6 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good basic product
1 Aug 2014
By
, Berkshire
"Good value, easy to install and well worth the money."
Review 7 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good sized jacket
28 Jun 2014
By
, thurrock
"Very satisfied that the 4 piece jacket fitted tank with no gaps, previously had 2 jackets (8pieces) fitted to tank. Having read previous reviews I have to agree that the tape to secure jacket round tank is very light and fiddly. So I used good old fashioned net curtain wire with Hook and Eye easy to fit, easy to remove if any maintenance work to be carried out."
Review 8 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cylinder jacket
28 Dec 2013
By
, Kilbarchan
"Much as expected. East to fit, seems OK but can't be sure how much heat saving it will make, every little helps. As cylinder is in the attic, it definitely needs heat loss protection. For all but the smallest cylinders, one pack which has four panels isn't enough. I ended up buying three packs and split them with a friend, using six side panels (one n a half packs) per cylinder. Be sure to not cover the thermostats and electric cabling. I needed to do some cutting and taping up a side panel to fit around the electrics, irksome but easy to do."
Review 9 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alue for money
23 Oct 2013
By
, Buckinghamshire
"I wasn't expecting much for the money but having just moved house funds were tight. Upon opening the pack I was a little disappointed to find a couple of the eyelets had pulled out prior to being fitted but decided to go ahead and fit it anyway. I have to say I have been pleasantly surprised. The eyelets have made no difference to the function of the jacket as the string will still secure it through the holes where the eyelets should be. The jacket is actually larger that I expected it to be and a very good fit.
I have noticed a definite temperature reduction in the airing cupboard so the cover is obviously doing it's job very well.
I would highly recommend this product and would happily buy one again should the need arise.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hot water cylinder jacket
7 Nov 2014
By
, Whitefield Mancheste
"It does the job. It was easy to fit. it was reasonably priced"
Review 11 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what you'd expect!
12 Sep 2014
By
, Cambridgeshire
"This is a pretty basic item. It all comes neatly packaged in 4 panels. Each panel is basically a plastic covered section of roof insulation (fiber glass sheet). It also comes with a shoe lace to tie together the tops and some plastic bits to tie around the middle to bind the panels together.
The problem for me is that my cylinder was not in the best position so I could not get panels one side as the cylinder was too close to the wall. Also it is tricky to keep the cylinder covered while keeping the cabling, thermostat, and immersion head exposed,
Overall I think this is good value for money and I have already noticed a huge difference in the heat of my hot water in the mornings (hot vs luke warm) so it's definitely working.
There are simple instructions on the outer packaging but a word of advice: do not make the ties too tight as the insulation works better if it's not compressed too much. It wants to be as snug as possible but without compressing the actual insulation panels.
The only disappointment was that the product is advertised as 18" x 48" and in fact it ended up being 18" x 42". Fortunately, my cylinder is a rather small 117L one so there was plenty of excess even at 42". Rather misleading though."
Review 12 for Hot Water Cylinder Jacket 18" x 48"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hitel
23 Aug 2014
By
, Lancashire
"I on;y bought this item two days ago. The ordering was simple and efficient. The item was at the nominated depot when I went to collect it.
I was disappointed to find that the top of the panels were not shaped to fit but rather they had to be overlapped causing the last panel to lift up.
Also the 4 fastening ties were very flimsy i.e. they were made of 4mm wide gift wrapping ribbon. They should be of a more substantial material and also wide enough so's not to dig into the padded insulation. overall marks 3/10.
"