Product Reviews

Masterplug RCD Plug

Masterplug RCD Plug
Average Customer Rating:
3.125 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
4 of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Masterplug RCD Plug
Review 1 for Masterplug RCD Plug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Masterplug RCD Plug
24 Aug 2015
By dtc7
, Swindon
" I have been using Masterplug products of over 30 years and have always found them to be of the highest quality. I will not sell my electrical product without fitting the Masterplug RCD
Screwfix always have what I require in stock a first class friendly service from both Swindon and Northampton "
Review 2 for Masterplug RCD Plug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good
1 Jun 2015
By fitzy89
, Cranleigh
" After reading the other reviews I was very wary on this one, but as it's the only one Screwfix sell and I needed it straight away I took a risk.
I'm using it with a 3kw load for an outdoor pool heater, it's been on for 3 days now, as others has mentioned it does get a little warm towards the upper left corner (with no load, it stays cool though in my case) but I think it's within limits and not excessively hot.
As I said it's been going 3 days with a 3kw load and it's still working, that's good enough for me! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Masterplug RCD Plug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Masterplug RCD Plug
25 Mar 2013
By Elder
, Paisley
" Excellent device which protects outside sockets from high currents caused by potential electrical mishaps. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Masterplug RCD Plug
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Masterplug RCD Plug
7 Jun 2015
By goldenthroat
, Redcar
" Seems fine easy enough to fit and does exactly what it needs to do , so no issues as of yet , I haven't had it long but I've used it for 6hrs constant without problem. "
Review 5 for Masterplug RCD Plug
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Masterplug RCD Plug
6 Jun 2014
By Customer007
, Basingstoke
" The first one lasted 30minutes before refusing to reset, it was also hot to the touch on the top left. The load was only about 750watts.
The replacement is also hot on no load in the same place but so far is OK.
But Screwifx Basingstoke service is great !
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Masterplug RCD Plug
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ambivalent
6 Sep 2010
By VintageSparks
, Wales
" Having bought a number of these, I can empathise with the previous reviewer’s comments.
Neutral:
• These are “non-latching” which means if you get a power cut, they will switch themselves off and stay switched off. They will not come back on when the power is restored and you will need to physically push the re-set button before they will work again. I would recommend a latching RCD for any unattended appliances that need continuous power. E.g. The chest-freezer in the garage
• The Masterplug latching type is no longer available but there are other makes around. (Note: Newlec & JCB are from the Masterplug stable)
• The size and shape of a RCD means that you need to ensure there is adequate space around the socket
Negative:
• Masterplug regularly change the design with the best version some 3 modifications ago
• There is no longer a lifetime guarantee on the product which probably speaks volumes about the manufacturer’s quality problems
• To remove the terminal cover you need a carpenter’s Pozidrive PZ1 screwdriver as the sleeving on an electrician’s screwdriver is usually enough to stop you accessing the screws (trust me on this) and a Philips PH1 screwdriver won’t work either
• The casing is not especially robust and liable to break when dropped
• As soon as unpacked, check for trip mechanism faults by plugging it in unfitted and press the test and reset buttons. This is the most common problem - one can get a tad apoplectic when, once fitted, they show up as faulty
• Whilst most of them are OK, the inconsistent quality means I don’t have a great deal of faith in the product but luckily, have the where-with-all to PAT test and check the trip-speed at the time of every fitting
Positive:
• They are comparatively inexpensive but becoming less so
• If they work on day one, they usually work well and will generally stay working. I haven’t found many that fail in service
• They are reasonably fast, tripping at around 14 m/sec on a 20 metre lead. Most other makes I’ve tested are slower and at 230 volts, the difference between 14 and 40 m/sec can be eye-watering
"
56 of 61 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Masterplug RCD Plug
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst RCD
10 Oct 2012
By webfoot
, Poole
" Total unreliable. Just stops working and you can not reset. I have had 4 of these fail. Next time buy from electrical wholesaler "
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Masterplug RCD Plug
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RCD failure
18 Apr 2010
By siggy
, Northjamptonshire
" A really good product at a very good price but neither of the units I purchased worked. I took them back for a refund. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.