Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Woodworking Vice 6"

Woodworking Vice 6"
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Review 1 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value woodwork vice
21 Jan 2016
By
, Cornwall
" Bought this inexpensive woodwork vice to replace a broken more expensive unit. Had it attached to the bench within half an hour with out any problems. A good value vice, that would suit any DIY enthusiast and had it in use instantly.Would recommend this vice to anyone who wants an inexpensive versatile small vice.
Great value for the price.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value vice
11 Dec 2015
By
, Essex
" I now have two of these vices in my workshop. They are robustly made and clamp the work piece very firmly. Great value for what they are.
Very easy to fit using 4 x M6 coach bolts (not supplied) but, as mentioned by other reviewers, these vices are designed to be fitted to the underside of your work surface and not on the top like a metal working vice.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every Shed Should Have One
8 Jun 2015
By
, Morcambe
" Great value and well engineered little vice, easy to fit. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vice
22 Aug 2014
By
, Hull
" Great little vice, very handy for all the small in the shed jobs. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Confusion
27 Jun 2012
By
, Liverpool
" I haven't bought this vice but have one similar to it. I write this just to point out the confusion caused in some of these reviews regarding cutting channels out of the workbench because of the ''bulge'' underneath and the ''securing arms being cut away on an angle". This is not the case as It's not meant to be screwed down onto the top surface of the workbench, it's meant to be screwed up underneath the front edge of the bench lol how anyone could think otherwise beats me. :) "
35 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great wee vice
9 Aug 2011
By
, Enniskillen
" Awelcome addition to any workshop the only
drawback is the bulge but it is easily
overcome apart from that it does its job well
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6" woodworking vice
2 Jun 2010
By
, Stotfold
" Just what I need as a DIYer. Excellent price, well made and easy to fit to the bench. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and performance
22 Apr 2016
By
, Moray
" I bought this for some small woodwork projects and it performed brilliantly. I looked at more expensive options but for the price I thought it was worth trying. I wasn't disappointed! "
Review 9 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value
18 May 2015
By
, Coventry
" This is good for the money and feels sturdy - the downside I've found is that the handle keeps on falling out. As I open and close the vice the end s of the handle work loose and eventually unscrew causing the handle to slip out. I've had to glue mine in but other than that it's a great budget vice. "
Review 10 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
never have to many vices
19 Mar 2015
By
, brighton
" Good basic product, a little gutted the larger and cheaper version wasn't available at my local store. Otherwise all fine. "
Review 11 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazing Value
20 Feb 2015
By
, Aldershot
" Cheap, but great value for money. Does exactly what I need.
Great for lighter work. I haven't tried heavier stuff yet but am confident it can handle it.
Very easy to fix to my bench, took seconds to do.
Extremely happy with this vice.
"
Review 12 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice but dim
30 Apr 2014
By
, south ayrshire
" A GOOD WOODWORKING VICE ,HOW EVER THE PRE DRILLED HOLES IN THE FACE OF THE VICE CHEEKS COULD DO WITH BEING A BIT BIGGER HOLE .BUT ALL IN ALL A GOOD TOOL. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my vice revealed
26 Mar 2013
By
, Whitby
" Anyone who has struggled to work on a piece of wood knows there is no substitute for the firm grip of a vice, leaving both your hands free to be accurate and workmanlike. This is an excellent inexpensive tool which took about twenty minutes to install; coach bolts through the bench, which I felt needed wide washers to spread the load from the bolts, and 3/8" wood facings fitted to both jaws to protect the piece being worked on and the tools being used. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Classic piece of kit
16 Jul 2012
By
, Norfolk
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Just to clarify some of the earlier comments I've posted a photo of this installed in my workshop. I used 50774 M6 coachbolts to attach it to the bench.
It's just like the old Record vice I used years ago and much cheaper than trying to find one of those secondhand.
It has nice touches like the pre-drilled holes for screws to secure the jaw protectors (they're made out of offcuts from pallet wood).
About the only problem I found was that one of the sliders wasn't fully screwed into the front plate but that was easily solved. "
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workshop tool
19 Oct 2015
By
, Southampton
" Seems solid and worked well for securing timber whilst routing in some grooves. Only downside is that to mount flush to a worktop clamp has a bulge but overcome with bit of support wood. Only used once so low score for reliability. "
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 6"
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not the best but does the job.
19 Mar 2011
By
, west midlands
" Its a good solid vice and does the job its made for. Be aware that the vice has a bulge underneath and needs a channel cutting into your workbench to accomodate it. The arms with the securing holes do not lay flat on the bench surface making it difficult to secure to the bench. Why these securing arms were cut away on an angle beats me. "
1 of 17 people found this review helpful.