Product Reviews

Macdee Dual-Flush Siphon

Macdee Dual-Flush Siphon
Average Customer Rating:
3.033 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
11
14 of 30(47%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Review 1 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dual flush that works easy
5 Jul 2015
By Darrie
, wisbech
" Don't bother with the the cheaper one.....ones you compare with the cheap one it's a no brainer....it's perfect for older people with poor wrist movement can flush with one finger.... "
Review 2 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Toilet Siphon
4 Jul 2015
By ChumberSlumber
, exeter
" Don't be put off by the price of this. It is a quality product that is built to last and is very adaptable. I had to buy this because I have a small cistern but I'm glad I bought it. The diaphragm is a rugged plastic trap door (not a piece of thin cellophane like the cheapo siphons) and it has a huge amount of flexibility with adjustments for both flush types. Glad I paid a little extra for this. "
Review 3 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacement Dual Flush Siphon
12 May 2015
By RKB1
, Solihull
" This is a universal siphon that can be adjusted to suit the dimensions of the loo and the performance of the siphon
ie:
The depth of the overflow
The volume of the full flush
The volume of the partial flush
Quality part especially when I compared it to the failed siphon it replaced "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good robust universal syphon
27 Mar 2015
By Lsplumbandheat
, Doncaster
" Good product. Saves time on a first visit to check size of syphon because one size fits all. Definately recommend this product. "
Review 5 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple
13 Mar 2015
By liggyace
, sheffield
" easy to read instructions,
easy to install,
simple to operate,
"
Review 6 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for small spaces
3 Jan 2015
By Geoff47
, Bath
" I bought this for a cistern with curved edges so the space was tight , this product was of a high quality and easy to fit as well as being compact well worth keeping one on the van. "
Review 7 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Back in action
27 Oct 2014
By Mancave
, Brighton
" Bought this after comparing all siphons, worth the money knowing it was a universal fit meaning no return trips to swap parts.
Easy install, clear instructions and fully flush adjustable
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Siphon
15 Sep 2014
By MPM1949
, Peterborough
" Only fitted this recently, but it is good quality and is fully adjustable. It was easy to fit. Appears to be worth the extra as compared to a normal cheaper siphon. I would most certainly get this again when required rather than buy a cheaper siphon. "
Review 9 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
9 Jul 2014
By dugthehug
, Brighouse West Yorks
" I recently had pleasure of fitting the Mc dee syphon to a customers wc. The cistern of the wc
was quite small and would not take a standard syphon which a previous plumber had fitted to the cistern resulting in the bell of the syphon compressing slightly causing the diaphram to distort creating a faulty flush. I had only gone to replace the filling system but got pulled in to trying to remedy the faulty flush. I replaced the syphon with the mcdee syphon which has a smaller bell it fitted perfectly with no problems and the faulty flush was cured. I will put this product at the top of my preferences for syphons.
"
Review 10 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good workmanlike product
8 Jul 2014
By buildingstoat
, East Midlands
" This is a well made and well thought out product. I bought it as the 'safe' option when I needed to replace a siphon and it worked well. In hindsight I could probably have got away with a basic one at less than half the price but it was worth the extra to avoid an extra trip to the merchant.
Good product, just a bit pricey "
Review 11 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Syphon unit
2 Jul 2014
By Simbo65
, Gloucester
" Works well, straight forward to fit has lots of adjustments so you can reduce flush volumes. To early to consider reliability operation seems to need less effort so the kids will benefit. All round please with the purchase. "
Review 12 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compact siphon
14 Feb 2015
By Applepiez
, Rugby
" Smaller than standard size siphon, our toilet systern is tapered so standard size was too big, good quality, easy to install "
Review 13 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Macdee Syphon
22 Aug 2014
By Pott
, RG10 (Reading)
" Excellent product easy to fit.
Has built in overflow which was great bonus as the previous owner had omitted to fi an overflow to the cistern.
Hopefully this Syphon will be maintenance free
Ie no more plastic diaphragms to fit.( the reason for this repair)
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compact siphon replacement
1 Apr 2014
By Wrason
, Manchester
" I had to replace a faulty siphon on a close coupled cistern. I had already bought the new siphon but, after getting everything in pieces, found it was too wide for the cistern. So a trip to Screwfix was required for this replacement. Good service as usual and the siphon does the job. No idea about reliability at this stage. The 2 downsides are that the full flush requires the lever to be held down until the flush finishes which, believe it or not, is a bit of a pain; and the adjustment for the amount of water used is inaccessible now it is installed. I would have to remove the siphon to alter the setting so I left it as received.
I would have used the Fluidmaster, which is brilliant, but the lady of the household wanted to retain the flush handle.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
snapped
15 Jun 2015
By treelow
, high wycombe
" Like many others on this review I have fitted several of these and in each case they have snapped at the plunger! Its a great shame as its not hard to make a strong bit of plastic these days. and the product itself is fine. "
Review 16 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
didn't learn my lesson
11 Jan 2015
By Anonymous
, Bristol
" I have fitted several of these since they became available as they will fit nicely in cisterns where space is tight, or won't allow the syphon to sit flat. Just had a phone call from a customer I fitted one for about a month ago. Lifter shaft has broken. This is the second one I've had break, which costs me money (if I want to keep my customer). I will not be buying another. How long will all the othersI have fitted last? You would have thought Macdee would have addressed this problem. .Until they do, the guarantee they offer will come back to bite them, and I will be contacting them to tell them what I think. "
Review 17 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good design needs some work
18 Sep 2014
By Loggasman
, Guildford
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Fitted for my in-laws, 10 year guarantee fantastic (only ever go round if they have a problem), fitted 6 months ago, fitted in well and easily adjusted,
called over at 6.00 AM cant flush the loo
the plunger had snapped off at the base of the Diaphragm / flap device.. not impressed, fixed Temporarily with a large screw wound up the hole in the unit "
Review 18 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Plunger Design
24 Oct 2014
By flusher
, Sussex
" Ive had two of these now and they have both snapped on the plastic plunger that connects to the diaphram.
it needs something a bit more substantial as it is an obvious weakness. im going to replace the plunger with a bastardised metal bolt as all the other functionality is perfectly acceptable "
Review 19 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A pricey item for what is!
2 Oct 2014
By woodenworm
, Norfolk
" Bought this a spare for the van. On initial inspection it showed promise with good features. Fitting no different to other siphons and the extendable neck ensured correct fill height. Where this Item let itself down and several items after this was the poor quality of fit of the volume selected on the side, which due to a poor fit would not let much more than a half flush to be obtained. For the price I would have expected better. Have now gone back to tried tested siphons. "
Review 20 for Macdee by Wirquin Universal Dual-Flush Siphon
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good idea Rubbish construction
29 Jul 2015
By derek2
, Newark Notts
" Fitted 3 of these now had to replace the third today been in less than 6 months the operating shaft breaks all at different customers learnt lesson back to Dudley! "
Page : 1 2 next>