Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

9¾" (250mm). Heavy duty, tungsten carbide scraper with a double-edge blade. Can outlast steel blades up to 100 times.

9¾" (250mm). Heavy duty, tungsten carbide scraper with a double-edge blade. Can outlast steel blades up to 100 times.
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 30(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Review 1 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scraping excellance
20 Mar 2010
By titpygmy
, west sussex
"This scraper did a superb job. Saved so much time. I had been spending ages burning back layers of paint with a hot air gun. I bought this scraper and it just scraped off about five layers of paint right back to the wood without any heating at all. It will scrape right into the corners and right up to the glass on window frames. It has done an awfull lot of paint and varnish scraping and I am still on the first edge of the blade."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scraper
1 Aug 2014
By Dissjointed
, Norfolk
"We used these for removal of several artex ceiling , which wasn't quite the advertised usage, but work a treat on a laborious task."
Review 3 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
11 Jul 2014
By Cyberdog
, Newport, Gwent
"Great for removing bitumen from parquet tiles and the floor. The blade is reversible. Just wish they sold replacement blades"
Review 4 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harris Carbide Wood Scraper
24 Jun 2014
By 1948FatBloke
, London E9
"Used this to clean up many aged parquet blocks. By far the best solution against other methods. Make sure you are wearing a dust filtering mask, though ..."
Review 5 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harris Paint Scraper
17 Aug 2013
By Aquarian
, winchester
"Was impressed by all the other reviews so tried one of these- is first rate, and does much more work than a heat gun. Good value, and very tough."
Review 6 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST EVER
31 May 2013
By johnone
, CUMBRIA
"saved me a lot of time and works with out nasty chemicals, has a very sharp blade and comfortable grippy handle"
Review 7 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the NUTS !!!
13 May 2013
By RichieFingers
, Essex
"I agree, this scraper did a superb job. I too had been spending ages burning back layers of paint with a hot air gun, and burning my fingers. I bought this scraper and it just scraped off about five layers of paint right back to the wood without any heating at all."
Review 8 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant!
6 Oct 2012
By Tileta
, Somerset
"This is one of those tools you wish you bought years ago. I have used it for many different things.
For it's intended purpose as a paint scraper it is simply brilliant, very sharp and just the right shape and size. You can shave of old paint and and leave a very flat surface which needs minimal sanding. I use it for door frames after filling nail holes etc, it will cut right through the filler leaving it flush to the wood - so easy.
I also use it for scraping plaster high spots before tiling. it gets into those corners to produce a nice square corner that would otherwise prevent your tile from sitting flat.
It's a real labour saver."
Review 9 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Multi use tool.
4 Aug 2012
By JLPS
, Fife
"I bought this for its intended use, to remove old paint. I was ripping out an old kitchen and removing the tiles.
If you have ever removed old tiles you will appreciate you either leave tile adhesive on the wall on remove the plaster skim coat, (assume a brick wall). In my situation I was left with a lot of old tile adhesive on the wall. I didn’t want to sand it down as that would take ages so I used a scraper to get under the adhesive to get it of (massive fail) So.... I had this tool in the bag, lets give it a try if I bust the blade you can get replacements. What a blast, it ripped the old adhesive of the wall in a few of strokes. OK it was hard work, lots of elbow grease needed but it worked a treat. (tip always drag towards yourself with the tool, don’t push it, it will not work as well) . Long story short after all that abuse the blade was a good as new to remove old paint with heat gun (using Erbauer ERB096HTG 2000W Heat Gun 230V)
also a decent bit of kit
"
Review 10 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Product
12 Jul 2012
By allanpc
, Luton
"The only Downfall is that I was told that they no longer sell th eblades for it ????????"
Review 11 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top scraper
9 Apr 2012
By chickenmother
, Cornwall
"It used to take 2 of us 2 days to scrape the antifoul from our boat, with this scraper it took us an hour and a half, right back to the gel coat, it's amazing! Can't recommend it highly enough, have even bought 2 more for friends who have boats!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fabulous tool
9 Feb 2012
By Biscuit
, Telford
"As a professional joiner I have saved HOURS with this tool. I have scraped concrete and wood with it and it just keeps going. It is without a doubt one of the best tools I have ever used - and I use it daily."
Review 13 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tool
6 Sep 2011
By AlwaysPondering
, Warwickshire
"So much better than other scrapers I've used in the past. The only downside I can find is that having used to for 12 hours per day for a couple of days I end up with a blister on my little finger..
Screwfix, please can you sell the blades for this as well. Although I think I'm along way off needing any would be nice to have a few in stock, as I just know at somepoint I'll get up taking a chunk out of the blade on something."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really good wood scraper
23 Apr 2011
By Tutor
, Oxford
"Excellent for removing old dry paint off wood
It also works for scraping soft antifouling paint from boats - (it is still hard work though)
"
Review 15 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scaper, spares from Harris
23 Nov 2010
By kt33
, YORK
"Great scraper, Screwfix used to sell the spare blades, but I now have to purchase these direct from Harris, shame Screwfix don't offer the whole package any more"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good
5 May 2009
By NoNeck
, Norfolk
"This is a very handy little tool and good for more than mere paint scraping. The best use I've found for this so far is removing artex.
It's successfully taken the artex back to a smooth surface for reskimming in a toilet, bathroom, stairwell and upper and lower hallways and it still scrapes paint just like the day I received it, without even turning the blade around yet."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job
3 Aug 2008
By Argent
, Northants
"Excellent tool for removing the final layer of paint and varnish from wood. Much better than most stripping knives. Especially useful for the removal of older paints."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
strong tool
19 May 2008
By braveheart
, kilmarnock
"easy to use for long periods of time without fatigue.leaves great results and well made"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BAD BLADES
22 Jul 2014
By Anonymous
, suffolk
"This is a good hunky tool that really speeds up the work. Very comfortable in the hand. Trouble is, the blade has been ground concave. Scrape it along a flat surface and you will see two parallel lines from each side of the blade. I can still use it but shame they couldn't get the blade right."
Review 20 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The best scraper..
22 Jul 2014
By Paintpot2
, Salisbury
"This takes paint off better than any other scraper. The angle of the head and the carbide blade make this an excellent product.
There are a couple of downsides. Because the blade is replaceable it is fixed by a screwed bracket. This eventually loosens (especially using a blow torch) and regular tightening becomes a bit of a hassle. Again with blowtorch the tool becomes hot, the top of the plastic handle gets pliable and the metal top falls out.
Despite this it is the best scraper you'll find.
"
Page : 1 2 next>