Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Harris Heavy Duty Wood Scraper

Harris Heavy Duty Wood Scraper
Average Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
33 of 35(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Review 1 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scraping excellance
20 Mar 2010
By
, west sussex
"This scraper did a superb job. Saved so much time. I had been spending ages burning back layers of paint with a hot air gun. I bought this scraper and it just scraped off about five layers of paint right back to the wood without any heating at all. It will scrape right into the corners and right up to the glass on window frames. It has done an awfull lot of paint and varnish scraping and I am still on the first edge of the blade."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Best Scraper
21 Nov 2014
By
, Essex
"This is the best scraper I have used for removing paint only needs light pressure to quickly get to bare wood."
Review 3 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth the money
11 Oct 2014
By
, Worthing
"Wouldn't normally spend this much on something that is just a blade but was definitely worth the money. Far more effective than knife, standard scrapers, etc. scores low on features as only useful on flat surfaces."
Review 4 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top notch paint remover
27 Sep 2014
By
, Sheffield
"This is the first time I've used a paint scraper that you pull along the surface and it's great!
Really does remove the paint well on its own, but found it better if the paint is softened slightly with a heat gun, item no. 59740.
On its own, with light/medium pressure it removed one layer of paint per pass or heavier pressure it removed three layers right down to bare wood.
If you are removing a lot of gloss paint like me, it is still hard work over time so found it better to heat and soften the paint slightly, then one light pass removed all three layers with ease!
Really do recommend this scraper, the tungsten carbide blades last a long time aswell!
Also recommend Heat Gun - 59740
and replacement Harris blades - 52538
"
Review 5 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The paint jumps off!
2 Sep 2014
By
, Surrey
"This works, and fast - you pull it along the paint and the paint literally flies off, it is especially good around windows but be careful not to touch the glass with it as it can score it with ease.
It leaves the wood smooth and bare, just avoid nails and screws as these damage the blade without warning.
"
Review 6 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Product
26 Aug 2014
By
, London
"I purchased this tool to remove paint from door frames and skirting board.
It is very proficient at this task and the blade bites through the paint very easily. I've found it great for scraping paint residue from wood which has already had paint removed with a heat gun. Takes it right back to the wood and handles all the little corners of door frames nicely.
One word of warning, avoid going over nails as this will damage the blade.
To summarise, this tool will save you time and energy if you've a lot of paint to remove."
Review 7 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scraper
1 Aug 2014
By
, Norfolk
"We used these for removal of several artex ceiling , which wasn't quite the advertised usage, but work a treat on a laborious task."
Review 8 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
11 Jul 2014
By
, Newport, Gwent
"Great for removing bitumen from parquet tiles and the floor. The blade is reversible. Just wish they sold replacement blades"
Review 9 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harris Carbide Wood Scraper
24 Jun 2014
By
, London E9
"Used this to clean up many aged parquet blocks. By far the best solution against other methods. Make sure you are wearing a dust filtering mask, though ..."
Review 10 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harris Paint Scraper
17 Aug 2013
By
, winchester
"Was impressed by all the other reviews so tried one of these- is first rate, and does much more work than a heat gun. Good value, and very tough."
Review 11 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST EVER
31 May 2013
By
, CUMBRIA
"saved me a lot of time and works with out nasty chemicals, has a very sharp blade and comfortable grippy handle"
Review 12 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the NUTS !!!
13 May 2013
By
, Essex
"I agree, this scraper did a superb job. I too had been spending ages burning back layers of paint with a hot air gun, and burning my fingers. I bought this scraper and it just scraped off about five layers of paint right back to the wood without any heating at all."
Review 13 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant!
6 Oct 2012
By
, Somerset
"This is one of those tools you wish you bought years ago. I have used it for many different things.
For it's intended purpose as a paint scraper it is simply brilliant, very sharp and just the right shape and size. You can shave of old paint and and leave a very flat surface which needs minimal sanding. I use it for door frames after filling nail holes etc, it will cut right through the filler leaving it flush to the wood - so easy.
I also use it for scraping plaster high spots before tiling. it gets into those corners to produce a nice square corner that would otherwise prevent your tile from sitting flat.
It's a real labour saver."
Review 14 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Multi use tool.
4 Aug 2012
By
, Fife
"I bought this for its intended use, to remove old paint. I was ripping out an old kitchen and removing the tiles.
If you have ever removed old tiles you will appreciate you either leave tile adhesive on the wall on remove the plaster skim coat, (assume a brick wall). In my situation I was left with a lot of old tile adhesive on the wall. I didn’t want to sand it down as that would take ages so I used a scraper to get under the adhesive to get it of (massive fail) So.... I had this tool in the bag, lets give it a try if I bust the blade you can get replacements. What a blast, it ripped the old adhesive of the wall in a few of strokes. OK it was hard work, lots of elbow grease needed but it worked a treat. (tip always drag towards yourself with the tool, don’t push it, it will not work as well) . Long story short after all that abuse the blade was a good as new to remove old paint with heat gun (using Erbauer ERB096HTG 2000W Heat Gun 230V)
also a decent bit of kit
"
Review 15 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Product
12 Jul 2012
By
, Luton
"The only Downfall is that I was told that they no longer sell th eblades for it ????????"
Review 16 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top scraper
9 Apr 2012
By
, Cornwall
"It used to take 2 of us 2 days to scrape the antifoul from our boat, with this scraper it took us an hour and a half, right back to the gel coat, it's amazing! Can't recommend it highly enough, have even bought 2 more for friends who have boats!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fabulous tool
9 Feb 2012
By
, Telford
"As a professional joiner I have saved HOURS with this tool. I have scraped concrete and wood with it and it just keeps going. It is without a doubt one of the best tools I have ever used - and I use it daily."
Review 18 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tool
6 Sep 2011
By
, Warwickshire
"So much better than other scrapers I've used in the past. The only downside I can find is that having used to for 12 hours per day for a couple of days I end up with a blister on my little finger..
Screwfix, please can you sell the blades for this as well. Although I think I'm along way off needing any would be nice to have a few in stock, as I just know at somepoint I'll get up taking a chunk out of the blade on something."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really good wood scraper
23 Apr 2011
By
, Oxford
"Excellent for removing old dry paint off wood
It also works for scraping soft antifouling paint from boats - (it is still hard work though)
"
Review 20 for Harris Heavy Duty Tungsten Carbide Wood Scraper 9¾"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scaper, spares from Harris
23 Nov 2010
By
, YORK
"Great scraper, Screwfix used to sell the spare blades, but I now have to purchase these direct from Harris, shame Screwfix don't offer the whole package any more"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>