Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hitachi ¼ Sheet Palm Sander

Hitachi ¼ Sheet Palm Sander
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V
Review 1 for Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very capable tool
26 Jun 2012
By
, Somerset
"I purchased this sander as a replacement for an old Bosch. Have to say I am very impressed with it. Vibration back through the tool to the hand is extremely low making it easy to use. The only minor gripe I have is that it is not possible to connect an extract hose from a vacuum to it due to the rectangular shape of the dust bag connection point."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value
23 Jul 2011
By
, Bangor
"first from the collection of hitachi tools i have, good sturdy quality to all the hitachi range. have a jigsaw and 235mm circular saw already and can't praise them enough.
Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V has been used very intensively over last few weeks due to cabinet and door making, the finish is superb, very little vibration coming from tool itself when in use on a hard or soft wood.
metel punch is built very toughly and has been abused a while seen as its been in the back of the van. overall rating is that its a worth while tool, excellent value for £53 compared to makita and de'walt. a very competetive brand.
screwfix itself got the tool out in next day delivery although i am in a very rural area of Gwynedd North Wales."
Review 3 for Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great sander for small jobs
2 Nov 2010
By
, LONDON
"I keep this sander in my van for when it's needed. It's cheap, well made and easy to use. It's compact so it's easy to stash away with the rest of your kit.
If you were sanding large areas you would want something more serious but as an occasional tool, or for windows, doors and for DIY it's perfect. The Hitachi seemed better value than the Makita yet is hopefully a better product than some of the cheaper makes available.
I gave it 3 stars for reliability merely because I haven't had it long so I don't know it's long term performance...
"
Review 4 for Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a must have sander
7 Sep 2008
By
, walsall
"after my old sander died , i purchased this hitachi sander and i was surely surpised it is soo light weight compared to others i have owned ..
it comes packaged with a dust bag ,1 sanding sheet oxide 100 grade and a metal paper puch template that works really well ( unlike some other makes of sander that give you the rubbish plastic punch templates that dont cut through the sand paper )
the hitachis well built and very versatile , it does the job and with complete ease .. it holds very nicely in the hand and due to its rugged rubbery/plastic feels nice to handle and grips well .. even using one handed it works excellent.
the paper clamps also feel very strong and sturdy and do the job , unlike cheaper sanders which tend to use britle metal and the ends of the clamps tend to snap off ,
its also very easy to change sanding sheets on it
unlike others.the dust bag also actually sucks up dust.
emptying it was also easy .. has a zipped recess in the dust bag which emptys the bag.no need to remove the dust bag.
only downside's i could find ..
the sander doesnt come packaged with its own carry case.. comes in an old fashioned plain old cardboard box.
I also couldnt make out how long the hitachi sander is guaranteed for.. the literature supplied with it , isnt very clear .. i know some sanders come with 2 or 3 year guarrantees ? so i presume this comes with only 1 .. even thou i doubt you will need to use the guarantee ..
overall conclusion ... tough durable sander which will last many years to come .. star buy !
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handy Machine
2 Aug 2012
By
, Scotland
"A good hardy machine. My only complaint is that the dust bag won't stay on without holding it tightly and when it does it doesn't collect the dust that well."
Review 6 for Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
D id all I asked of it.
5 Jul 2012
By
, York
"Bought for sanding down paintwork prior to repainting without creating piles of dust. Worked admirably for this. Dust collection not perfect but adequate. Needed corner sander for tricky corners. Good feature is ability to use sheet sanding paper using template provided. It's also a bit noisy."
Review 7 for Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well
25 Jun 2011
By
, Yorkshire
"I bought this to replace an old Black 'n Decker which had burned it's bearings out and am inpressed. Despite a lower rated power, it does more work, makes less noise & dust, and vibrates less.
Cheap tools are never an investment."
Review 8 for Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First sander purchase
20 Mar 2008
By
, Surrey
"I needed a palm sander to sand down my window frames and to perform other small sanding duties. I have to say, it's not bad. Don't expect it to rip through the job though - its not really designed for man-size sanding. When using your own sanding paper make sure you make the holes in the paper nice and big - it really does draw the dust from the job and stops the paper clogging up."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi SV12SG ¼ Sheet Palm Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use
6 Mar 2008
By
, Preston
"great to hold , good performance, a few more sheets of sandpaper would be good, dust bag could be better."