Product Reviews

Makita 710W Percussion Drill

Makita 710W Percussion Drill
Average Customer Rating:
3.438 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
4
10 of 16(62%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Review 1 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill
18 May 2016
By
, Guildford
" A very powerful little drill that will drill masonry no problem. We used it with a 16mm spade bit to drill through double 175mm wooden gate posts. "
Review 2 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top drill
8 Apr 2015
By
, Leicester
" Hard work drilling! - Not any more! This drill is very powerful and is light and comfortable to use. The carry case is well thought out providing space for screw and plugs etc. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A real beast
16 Jan 2015
By
, Teesside
" laughs in the face of brick walls. It just doesn't seem to sweat. Nicely built too, and comfortable to use. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOOD
10 Dec 2014
By
, WALES
" THIS IS A FANTASTIC DRILL I HAVE ITS BROTHER THE 650 WATT AND IT HAS THE SAME CHUCK ON IT , I AM JUST ABOUT TO PURCHASE THIS MODEL
I WOULD AGREE WITH ANOTHER REVIEW MENTIONING CHUCK JAMS I HAVE HAD THIS ALSO , THIS IN MY OPINION IS DUE TO DUST INGRESS AND THE WAY ROUND IT IS TO DRENCH THE CHUCK IN WD40 OR A SIMILAR FLUID GT40 CHAIN SPRAY WORKS WELL ALSO AS IT IS SILICONE BASED AND DOES NOT ATTRACT CRUD TO STICK TO IT .
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Drill
27 Jul 2013
By
, Essex
" The drill is smooth, powerfull and well balanced with an excellent chuck. The tool box is very well thought out with secure storafe for everything you might want.
Only wishes would be slightly longer flex (though adaquete) and fixed settings for variable speed - though the variable speed triger works reasonably well.
Once again Makita proves the right choice. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Typical Makita
2 Feb 2010
By
, Highlands
" It's well made, strong and does the job.
It has a good comfortable feel, a nice keyless chuck and comes in a useful carry case with plenty of room for drill bits and screws/plugs.
Would recommend it as a good general purpose corded percussion drill. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
drill
22 May 2015
By
, belfast
" very good drill for price gos through brick and wood like a knife through butter "
Review 8 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the best for the money
25 Apr 2015
By
, Leeds
" Forget Black and Decker and the other diy store rubbish. Get a proper drill. "
Review 9 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks good so far
28 Mar 2015
By
, Manchester
" I suspect people who complain about the chuck don't realise you do have to watch out for dust building up inside,clean & oil it occasionally.
The lid of the screw compartment in the lid of the box is a bit flimsy.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chuck it
6 Jan 2014
By
, tottenham
" I Have one of these over a year now and chuck has failed. It became harder and harder to open and close by hand to the point where I started using a pair of grips instead of by hand. Now even grips wont make it open or close. Go for an SDS drill, timer saver and no messing about "
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mains drill
23 May 2012
By
, northampton
" reasonable value for money.Would always prefer manual chuck with key, on mains/110V drill. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Compare with HP1621
16 Mar 2009
By
, Dunblane
" Looks like the same chuck on this model as on the HP1621. If so beware, as I've just had one fail after barely a year of very light use, and Makita's unhelpful response is that there's no warrantly cover on the chuck as it's a 'wear & tear' item. Conclusion.... my chuck's performance was very poor on 'wear & tear'. Anyone else found this too? "
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish chuck design
23 Feb 2016
By
, Taunton
" I used the drill for only 2 days before taking it back with a failed chuck.
I was drilling 5mm pilot holes through 25mm battens. The instructions said to insert the drill bit all the way into the chuck, but my 5mm masonry bit showed less than 25mm of drill protruding. If I inserted the bit so that I could show enough of the bit to pass through the 25mm batten the chuck would not hold it firmly enough to keep it in place and after a couple of holes it was back to showing less than 25mm.
Then I got onto the main 8mm holes for the plugs. This time I could insert the drill to the base of the chuck, but was unable to tighten the chuck enough to stop the bit slipping. Worse than that, when I tried to undo the chuck it had progressively tightened in use and had to resort to a pair of plumbing spanners to undo it. I will stress that I only tightened the chuck by hand.
When undone the chuck had damaged the shaft of a new drill bit and the resulting 'burr' became locked into a hexagon recess at the base of the chuck and I had to resort to a vice and pair of pliers to remove the bit from the open teeth of the chuck.
Fortunately I was able to take the drill back and get a refund, so please do not make the same mistake as I made. This chuck is badly designed.
Makita really need to go back to the drawing board.
"
Review 14 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rubbish chuck. Don't bother.
2 Feb 2016
By
, Maidenhead
" It looks good, feels good and when the chuck stays tight it performs very well.
Problem is the clever hand tight chuck is rubbish.
It slips and it jams.
Made out of plastic it slips if its not tight.
It distorts when you then undo it.
Too clever, doesn't work, don't buy this one.
"
Review 15 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What's up chuck?
19 Jul 2010
By
, Ramsbottom
" I bought the HP1621. The chuck has failed in just over 1 year of light use. Based on other reviewers comments this is a common problem so not much point buying a new chuck. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Makita HP1631K/2 710W Percussion Drill 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dodgy Chucks
26 May 2009
By
, South West
" I bought the HP 2051 and had a similar chuck failure after a little over a year of light use. Rubbish. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.