Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thompson's H-P Roof Seal 2.5L

Thompson's H-P Roof Seal 2.5L
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
32 of 35(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Review 1 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It really works,
20 Jul 2016
By
, ayr
" Tried a few different products over the years but this one works, give it a nice heavy coat, it dries really quick and does the job. This is the third time I have used it and no complaints. will use it again. "
Review 2 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
18 Jan 2016
By
, South Wales
" I've used this product several times and it never lets me down. Easy to apply, dries quickly and has good performance. I stick with what I know and keep using the products that work well. This product is highly recommended. "
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great waterproofing product
9 Dec 2015
By
, Bury St Edmunds
" The product was very easy to use and after two coats we now have a water tight office roof.
Product was used on asbestos sheet roofing so has enabled us to avoid roof replacement.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what is says on't tin
1 Dec 2015
By
, Winchester
" Great product - very easy to apply if surfaces are prepared well. Seems to give protection for a long time. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just too add to others....
21 Nov 2015
By
, Middlesex
" Very easy to apply even in cold weather. Just need dry weather so it can dry as it is water soluble. However the roof doesn't need to be totally dry before you paint.
A useful feature is that the black product is grey when applied. Makes it really easy to see when applying another coat. "
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous product for shed felt
16 Nov 2015
By
, Penzance
" I always use this to seal shed felt when I have re-felted a shed. It goes on easily, dries to an even texture so it looks good, but it also keeps your shed watertight for a LOT longer than just the felt!
Like all Thompsons stuff, I have tried other names but if Thompsons do a version of what you want buy the Thompsons one! "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best roof sealant ever
2 Nov 2015
By
, Willenhall
" Had to repair my garage roof so I can at least servive winter..
On my garage roof one of the ply is almost rotten from the edges. I used this sealant in the edges let it dry for couple of hours and the. Cut a new felt for the size ( patch work ) and seal that on the edges and also cover this new piece of felt with this sealant ..
It been raining since that day .. But touch wood I have no leaks at all !!!
I used this as a work around .. Once I get the open season I'll replace my ply wood for permanent solution .
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roof Seal
19 Oct 2015
By
, Sunderland
" Excellent product -easy to apply and no mess.
You can even wash your brush out after " "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
17 Oct 2015
By
, Ipswich
" It does exactly what it says on the tin and more. I have used it on a couple of roofs and used it on several sheds made from OSB board. Don't expect it to work on a roof which is in a really bad state of repair like some people on here have expected. "
Review 10 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top stuff
8 Oct 2015
By
, withernsea
" Easy to apply, i just used a brush where i wanted it thick and tipped it out and rolled the rest, seems to have sealed my pain in the but felted flat roof, a touch expensive but i imagine its not cheap stuff to make and worth it for the convenience. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not just a roof seal
4 Jul 2015
By
, nottingham
" I use this seal on most metals like my greenhouse base my large gates and fence as it is a perfect coating to stop rust and a great undercoat for repainting on and gives the outer coat a longer life. "
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin!
28 Jun 2015
By
, Brighton
" Excellent product -easy to apply and no mess.
You can even wash your brush out after "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
roof seal
14 Mar 2015
By
, glenrothes
" what a great product , I am a painter of 30 years experience and always used bitumen. but tried roof seal instead for cracked roofing felt. it worked great went on like emulsion and no mess . superb! "
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
24 Oct 2014
By
, Dartford
" Easy to apply and clean up. Great improvement to leaking garage roof which is now waterproof and looks good. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product - easy to apply
22 Oct 2014
By
, London
" A water based product made it very easy to apply and meant absolutely no strong chemical fumes were present. It is a mid/dark grey when wet, but drys a much darker colour grey, almost black. This clever colour change indicates clearly when it has dried. Used for applying to a shed roof where the existing felt had cracked and some moisture was beginning to seep through. Coverage was exactly as stated on the tin, although it might vary from quoted amount depending on absorbency of surface. It dried in around 6 hours and withstood heavy rain 10 hours after application. I now much prefer to use this to traditional bitumen based products. Cleaning up brushes afterwards was easy using soapy water. "
27 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
roof sealant
15 Aug 2014
By
, Reading
" this product did the job perfectly, easy to apply to
existing garage roof felt
"
Review 17 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thompsons bitumatic roof seal
20 Jun 2014
By
, Scunthorpe
" A bit disapointed with the coverage, barely 0.5ltr per sq metre of roof. I only wish this had been stated on the write up. But it seems to be an excellent product for repairing a leaky roof, although it has yet to rain really hard. Easy to apply. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sealer
24 May 2014
By
, plymouth
" waiting to use product have used it before and gave rating on that. "
0 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product
5 May 2014
By
, liverpool
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" this roof seal was brilliant. OK i did use it on concrete tiles to seal and change the colour of a tired old roof but WOW its so good!
Coverage was 65 concrete tiles (textured 12x16 inch teracotta coloured) needed 2 tins to complete the job. got covered in the stuff and it washed off so easily. brushes and kettle came up like new
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thompsons High Performance Roof Seal Black 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thompsons HP Roofseel
28 Sep 2013
By
, ILFORD, ESSEX
" I made sure the weather was going to be dry for at least 24 hours before using the product. In my opinion this is very important to ensure it really seels well. I was re-seeling a small flat roof on a window bay that started to leak a few weeks back. The seeler was very easy to apply and I put it on thickly. The temperature was around 15C with a slight breeze and it dried within a couple of hours. By the following morning the seeler had set really hard and looked as thought it didn't need another coat, but I gave it one anyway.
I am confident the roof will remain water proof for years !! A VERY GOOD PRODUCT IN MY OPINION, WHEN APPLIED CORRECTLY !!
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>