Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield HP164 Lawnmower

Mountfield HP164 Lawnmower
Average Customer Rating:
4.528 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
5 stars
65
4 stars
37
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
105 of 106(99%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great lawnmower
14 Jun 2016
By
, Bedford
" After my steel bodied mower rusted away I saw this on the Screwfix site and it was a good price. Paid on line and collected next day. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Assembly was easy, filling with oil a bit tricky but luckily I had a flexible funnel. Found that 4 presses of the primer button helps and even the wife can start it. Whether she will be cutting the grass is another matter. The mower is nice and light and easy to manoeuvre around the flower beds. Brilliant mower for the price and with the Mountfield name. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and service
12 Jun 2016
By
, Swindon
" 1 month old and used 6 times. Starts 1st time every time.
Easy to assemble and easy and quick to adjust cutting height - just brilliant.
1 issue was rectified quickly by Mountfield.
"
Review 3 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fabulous
8 Jun 2016
By
, Lichfield, UK
" So happy with my new petrol mower, it starts really easily and cut grass with lovely lines.
Great buy looking forward to using it for many years to come thanks !!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great machine!
6 Jun 2016
By
, Bicester
" Bought this to replace an electric Qualcast, as we've recently moved house and have more lawn now. Had to also cut a neighbours garden due to illness and this was very overgrown. The mower made light work of it. Very pleased with it. Easy to start and light to handle. Bit fiddly to get the oil in cleanly, but bought a funnel with a narrow spout. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
3 Jun 2016
By
, Tywyn, Gwynedd
" Recently moved into a new house with a long garden and needed to buy a new mower. I chose a petrol version so I didn't have to deal with the faff of cables.
The mower was quick and easy to assemble, all that is required is attaching the handle and filling with oil. The only caveat here is that without a funnel or tube this is nigh on impossible. Thankfully I had read reviews and bought one at the same time. It would perhaps be nice if Mountfield included one.
After assembly starting was as simple as pressing the primer three times, and with a couple of swift pulls of the starter it fired right up.
The mower cuts well and is easy to adjust the height. I have used it both with and without the collection bag and it works well both ways.
A few weeks and a tank of fuel in it is still starting first time and cutting as well as the day I bought it.
I would definitely recommend.
"
Review 6 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Mower
23 May 2016
By
, Swindon
" This is a great small mower at a good price. Easy to Assemble
MUST Buy oil, as none in the box. Also will need a funnel to add the oil, as the filling point is low down on the engine.
Pull the starter a few time to get the oil round the engine and draw the fuel into the Carburetor. After that it starred first time without any effort.
Very Light and easy to maneuver with good height adjustments compare to some other models.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mower power
14 May 2016
By
, Ayrshire
" Bought this mower for my sons new house, he hasent got a big lawn but would have to trail leads a long way for an electric mower. This model is the smaller version of the one I have & if it's a thing like its big bro then it will last for years. Perfect for the small garden, easy to assemble & work & no leads to run over ! "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mountfield mower
12 May 2016
By
, Doncaster
" Very good petrol mower. Had a Mountfield in the past so, I knew what I was buying. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield petrol mower
28 Apr 2016
By
, st helens
" I bought this mower to replace my old electric one. I've been saying for ages I was going to get a petrol mower but never did my only regret is not getting this mower sooner as it made light work of my lawns that were pretty long and damp. Upto now it's an excellent purchase hopefully it stands the test of time. "
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Value Petrol Mower
27 Apr 2016
By
, Bristol
" Only just bought but started first time and was very easy to use. Very happy so far. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cuts lawns
20 Apr 2016
By
, Wales
" Easy to set up and started first time. My first petrol lawnmower and certainly much easier than mucking around with cables! "
Review 12 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Value Mower
16 Apr 2016
By
, Swindon
" Wanted a simple / light petrol push mower for the difficult to reach areas in the garden .The Mountfield HP164 fits the requirements at an extremely good price. Very easy to assemble not a kit of parts like some, "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
looks good
15 Apr 2016
By
, new romney kent
" easy to put together fill it up with oil & petrol started first time only used once so far so good "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase
1 Apr 2016
By
, Coventry
" Really pleased with this mower. It was a distress purchase as the crank failed on my old mower bought in Feb 2002. Easy to assemble - although I did have to fettle one of the square holes in the handle - and started second pull after fueling and filling with oil. There was even a bottle of fuel stabiliser in the box. It went through the overgrown lawns on the highest setting no problem at all. The price was a real bonus and the nice polite man at the branch even carried it out to the car for me. "
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Destiny @ Work
25 Mar 2016
By
, Northampton
" Springtime means the lawn needs mowing, haul out the 14year old petrol mower, fire it up, away I go. Half way round a wheel falls off! The previous day a flyer from Screwfix offering a replacement at a keen price. Rude not to accept. Delivered, assembled and working within 48hours.
BTW it needs oil, it also needs petrol, funny that. Plus Screwfix sell oil at half the price of the next cheapest I could find. I said it was destiny.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower
20 Mar 2016
By
, Northumberland
" This is my first petrol mower, absolutley delighted
with it. Bought this Mountfield on the recommendation of a garden service engineer and he was correct. Well built,easy to assemble and use, at this price it is a steal even at full price I would be pleased. Ordered 1 day received the following day as requested great service
Screw fix.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value mower
31 Aug 2015
By
, Devizes
" Easy to set up. Needs a 500 ml bottle of oil and put in 450ml using a funnel. Started 1st time . Bought for cutting the grass on my allotment and the verge outside my home between council cuts. Strong plastic cutting body and reasonably light to put into the car. All in all a good little mower from a reputable brand. "
25 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
11 Aug 2015
By
, Wigan
" A great solid mower , it would have been nice to have been told it required seperste oil purchase "
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality mower for budget price
5 Aug 2015
By
, Leicester
" I've always used petrol mowers, so when I used an (old) electric mower for the first time on my new lawn and it blew up I decided to invest back into petrol power. Being on a limited budget and seeing this Mountfield, as a reputable brand, it ticked all the boxes. I don't have massive lawns in the new house so something to get rid of the trailing cables and make mowing effortless was all I was after. This Mountfield was easy to assemble, bit challenging to fill with oil (recommend buying a small funnel!) and started up straight away on the second pull. After warming the tyres (plastic wheels) I was off on the maiden voyage of the garden. The mower cut brilliantly and adjusting the height was a piece of cake. My cornering needs some work but that was more driver error than anything to do with this fantastic machine. I look forward to the next opportunity I get to work on my lawn mowing lap time. "
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money buy A+
2 Aug 2015
By
, Crewe
" After my power devil petrol lawnmower stopped working i nearly bought an electric hover mower until i read the reviews and remembered how easy it is to do more than one lawn very quickly without cords, after a little research came across this mower, already knowing the brand i thought i would give it a try with not much expectation for the price being a entry level model, after buying it on the way home i thought maybe i should have bought the self propelled?? but once i got it home and had it up and running in no time at all and gave it a try i was very surprised it was light to use yet sturdy and no effort to push, cut my small front lawn and medium-large rear lawn in no time at all, cutting through long damp grass and compacting in the basket very well, the easy to adjust hight adjusters are good (no taking the wheels off like my old one) and has left my lawn looking great, i am even looking forward to using it again already - well recommended "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>