Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield HP164 Lawnmower

Mountfield HP164 Lawnmower
Average Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
30
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
76 of 77(99%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mowed down
22 Jun 2015
By LImara
, Abergavenny
" What a great buy this was if you have a smaller garden to mow you can't go wrong with this little beauty only thing when you purchase it buy some oil this is not supplied with the mower.simple to make up and so easy to use. good easy adjusters for height and so easy to start. you won't regtret buying it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NOT CAUGHT IN THE LONG GRASS
12 Jun 2015
By shortshanks
, belfast
" Bought this mower just over a week ago, my old mower had moved on to pastures new. The grass hadn't been cut for a month so it was a good 8 inches high in places. After reading the instructions and with the second pull of the starter cord I set about my business . With considerable ease this wee mower took no prisoners and left my lawn neatly and closely cut. Well done Mountfield (SCREWFIX) great to see value and quality
can still be got.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
10 Jun 2015
By Churchy
, Saltash Cornwall
" A brilliant machine, power little motor which starts first time, grass cutting very smooth and easy.
For its power its very light weight and easy to handle, might even let my wife have a try!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mount field lawnmower
1 Jun 2015
By Mintycoop
, Norwich
" Easy to assemble, easy to set up
Started second pull of the starter
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent petrol mower
30 May 2015
By TedinBallymullo
, Balmullo , Fife
" The handle was very easy to assemble and fit to the mower body,
Make sure you have a clean funnel for oil filling, without one the oil will go everywhere And do not invert or turn on its side after oil filling.
My previous mower always left the lawn looking discoloured, after using this mower it looks great.
I ordered the mower on line at 2pm, it arrived at 10-15am the following day fantastic service thank you SCREWFIX !!
All in all a great product, great value and great service !!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good value for money
29 May 2015
By mrbri
, West Yorks
" well made product easy to assemble. I like the none rust base. Agree with other reviews regarding oil filler. Extension tube required .Cannot comment on reliability as yet but pleased with performance. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower
25 May 2015
By DIYsteve87
, Consett
" Easy to build, cuts the grass great, good collection bag, what more could you want "
Review 8 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value petrol mower
20 May 2015
By DaveIY
, Aylesbury
" Very similar to what others have said, easy to put together, started first pull, just awkward to fill with oil. I wouldn't let that put you off though, still a great mower, maybe just buy a funnel to help with the filling and topping up with oil. "
Review 9 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cut above the rest.
17 May 2015
By Happyhandyman
, Yorkshire
" Easy to set up handle etc. Oil fill awkward without an extended funnel but straight forward with one. Started first pull. I have used several lawn mowers in last few years and this one is quite lightweight and although I have only made one cut the result was very good. Can't comment on reliability as have only just purchased. "
Review 10 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase
13 May 2015
By Doors27
, Cambridgeshire
" I've only used this once since purchasing, but have to say i am very pleased with the results. This is my first petrol mower, having recently cut through the cable on my old electric one! The mower was easy to assemble and started first time. The only issue, as has been raised by many others is that the oil filler is difficult to access and fill, but this should not put off potential buyers.
The cut is very good, fantastic and easy height adjustment.
Overall, i'm very happy with this. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wouldn't be without it.
12 May 2015
By MickeyDaFish
, Greater London
" Lovely mower. Much higher quality than my old hover mower, and for not much more money.
Easy to put together. Took me 20 minutes. But if you have done one before it will only take you 5.
nice quality feel to it. Much quieter than previous mower And better cut To the lawn.
I wish I had brought it in the first place rather than mess around with the hover.
Only flaw to it is it takes up quite a lot of floor space in the shed. "
Review 12 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent lawnmower
11 May 2015
By megliq
, Lichfield
" the Mountfield HP164 lawnmower was easy to assemble and started the first pull. The only down side is that the oil filler cap is difficult to get on and is difficult to get access to fill it with oil. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
started first pull
25 Apr 2015
By dannyf1982
, rugby
" My first petrol lawnmower and it was a doddle! Bit of oil petrol and a couple of pumps on the primer and one pull it wss away and running. Wish id have bought one of these years ago. It leaves hardly any grass behind if any! So impressed and yes its plastic but so was my old mower and that lasted years it is more than tough enough for my lawns and the height adjustment is brilliant.
Cant recommended highly enough!
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield mower.
15 Apr 2015
By Phyl
, Cardiff
" I trust Mounfield mowers having had a few in the last 40 or so years. The HP I64 is a small mower with a big punch, and it is more than adequate for our medium size lawn. In fact it ticks all the boxes, and has the advantage of a solid plastic deck; therefore it will not rust. Great price, excellent service, and now I have a new screwfix store within a half mile of my home. Therefore here is a very happy chappy. Well done Screwfix. "
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield hp164 petrol mower
23 Mar 2015
By Stezloco
, BISHOP AUCKLAND DL14
" A keenly priced, simple to operate, compact petrol hand push lawnmower, which easily has enough power to do the job without struggling. It did that first post winter 'rough' cut with ease and at less than 20 kg is light enough for me to carry by hand. My last mower rusted out after 10 years but this one has a plastic body so may last even longer.....Great Product. "
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawn mower
20 Mar 2015
By djbr
, malvern
" good for value does what its says on box
only used it once so far but does the job
good value for price
delivered on time
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield Petrol Mower
14 Mar 2015
By Billp64
, Mablethorpe
" Just had delivered, brilliant service and have set it up, will use later so cannot comment on performance etc.
Product looks good and appears excellent value for money, bought the filler kit as well which again is great and good value.
This is a must buy for anyone looking for a new mower and you can't get it from a better company
"
6 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little mower
22 Aug 2014
By Fozzydanny
, Cheshire
" Having used this product for the last 6 months I couldn't recommend it enough.
Although it lacks a little power for slightly longer or damp grass it's great value for money, reliable and easy to use. "
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little lawn mower
2 Aug 2014
By Rammos
, Newton abbot
" This is a brilliant grass cutting machine! Collected it from Bodmin depot as I was working local. Staff were most helpfull. Got it home that night and when I took it out the box I noticed that the engine had been upgraded to a Briggs & Stratton 148cc engine. Put it all together in about 10 mins, filled up with oil and petrol and away I went. It cuts the grass perfectly and is really easy to use. I set the height to 3 from the top and that was ideal. I think this mower is perfect and would 100% recommend. Also no problems from buying from screw fix. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72h
24 Jul 2014
By fanshawe
, East Yorkshire
" I have just bought the above petrol lawnmower, I would recommend this to anybody who wants an easy to use mower. It does what it says on the box, light and easy to push. "
Page : 1 2 3 4 next>