Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield HP164 Lawnmower

Mountfield HP164 Lawnmower
Average Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
43 of 44(98%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little mower
22 Aug 2014
By Fozzydanny
, Cheshire
" Having used this product for the last 6 months I couldn't recommend it enough.
Although it lacks a little power for slightly longer or damp grass it's great value for money, reliable and easy to use. "
Review 2 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little lawn mower
2 Aug 2014
By Rammos
, Newton abbot
" This is a brilliant grass cutting machine! Collected it from Bodmin depot as I was working local. Staff were most helpfull. Got it home that night and when I took it out the box I noticed that the engine had been upgraded to a Briggs & Stratton 148cc engine. Put it all together in about 10 mins, filled up with oil and petrol and away I went. It cuts the grass perfectly and is really easy to use. I set the height to 3 from the top and that was ideal. I think this mower is perfect and would 100% recommend. Also no problems from buying from screw fix. "
Review 3 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72h
24 Jul 2014
By fanshawe
, East Yorkshire
" I have just bought the above petrol lawnmower, I would recommend this to anybody who wants an easy to use mower. It does what it says on the box, light and easy to push. "
Review 4 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliable and great value
22 Jul 2014
By XXX40XXX
, essex
" Was delivered within one day with no charge. Hubby put together and used that evening. Very happy with purchase and cheapest on high street. "
Review 5 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Lawnmower
15 Jul 2014
By Richie1a
, London
" The HP164 was easy to assemble and it started very easily.
I bought the starter pack with oil & funnel which avoided any difficulties.
I wish I had bought a petrol mower years ago!
Cutting the grass is no longer a chore!
"
Review 6 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
23 Jun 2014
By Shooey
, Sheffield
" Bought this after reading the positive reviews on here, they are all correct too, easy to assemble filling the oil is a little tricky you need a funnel but that aside it's an absolutely brilliant bit of kit, filled her up with petrol primed the carb pulled the starter and she fired straight up, so much faster than the old electric mower too.
If your considering buying this go for it you won't be disappointed.
"
Review 7 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great entry petrol lawnmower
22 Jun 2014
By Fezza77
, Elgin
" Very happy with mover. If you have any inclines, buy the driven version for £30 extra. Wish i had now, worth the extra. "
Review 8 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield mower
13 Jun 2014
By prokart1
, hants
" Once again great service and good product,
local store rang to say my delivery was in, many thanks, took 15mins to assemble handle onto mower, fill with oil and petrol, 3 squirts on the primer, first pull it started. the instruction diagram pictures were a little small, but fairly easy to understand, well pleased though, it`s very light and does what it should do, Cut the grass, I was out there mowing at 9 in the evening, I recommend this mower.
"
Review 9 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent service
13 Jun 2014
By 2468
, Coventry
" I ordered this product on line and it arrived at my selected store at the appointed time. The mower is easy to assemble, easy to use and so easy to start. My only issue is that there was residual oil in the engine when delivered so be careful not to overfill.
Based on three mows, there does not appear to be any reason to suspect this mower will not give good service. I don't know why I struggled with a hover mower for so long.
As for the purchasing experience, first class and a member of staff at the store even helped me load it into my car.
"
Review 10 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!
12 Jun 2014
By Vincyprincess
, High Wycombe
" I fell in love with this Lawnmower! I have been dreaming about getting a Mountfield for a long time. It was easy to set up, but the thing that sold me, was that it was so easy to start!!! I have
used petrol mowers before, but have always struggled trying to get them started! I no longer have that problem with the Mountfield, as the cord sits nicely on the side, so I don't have to break my back going up and down trying to get it started! In the past, the cord would fly back, and my hand would recoil in pain! I put the petrol in, and the oil, you do need a small funell though to do this! Off I went. In no time at all the job was done! I have a large back garden, and small front. Something that used to take me up to an hour and half, only took me less than an hour! This is a push mower!!! If I had to quibble about anything, it would be the 'box'. Please can we have a big plastic box, not a material one? Other than that. I Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"
Review 11 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little mower.
2 Jun 2014
By jeds9
, Brighouse
" Having spent some time researching my next petrol lawn mower, I came across this one at screwfix. Having given my old Mountfield to my daughter I was happy to have another. When I bought it, it had a 25% reduction in price, so to me it was a no brainer. It is easy to put together very lightweight for manouvering around the lawn, started first time and powerful enough (100cc engine) to cut the grass without hassle. It also has given me a better cut than my old, more powerful, Mountfield. Overall for the price, I don't think you will get a better mower than this. "
Review 12 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Buy
31 May 2014
By Jacko46
, Salisbury
" Great lawnmower at a good price. Starts first time. Good cut. Easy to use and fairly light weight. "
Review 13 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best cut ever
28 May 2014
By Robuilder
, Northumberland
" This mower was easy to fix and starts first time. The lawn has had it's best cut ever. "
Review 14 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great lawnmower
16 May 2014
By ILoveAFC
, Cambridgeshire
" This is my first petrol lawnmower, was a great decision. Really well built, cuts brilliantly. "
Review 15 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Lawnmower
8 May 2014
By speedhound
, Dundee
" Got this mower and had it ready to go in no time! I had bought oil with it and used a funnel to fill the sump via the awkwardly sited oil filler neck. Primed it and it started 2nd pull. I have now used it for an hour and am well impressed with the performance. It was easy to manoeuvre and light enough to lift over borders if necessary. It seems robustly built so will hopefully last well.
A great mower for the price.
"
Review 16 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Petrol lawn mower
7 May 2014
By Swilson41
, London
" I'm very impressed with this purchase, not too taxing to assemble, put in oil and petrol , pushed the little red button 3 times to prime the engine and pulled the start chord.
Started first time and every time thereafter :-)
BRILLIANT !!!
"
Review 17 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money
25 Apr 2014
By Adrian13
, Chesterfield
" I bought this mower the other day. Put together in no time, easy for the most basic diy'er.
The engine starts first time, every time from the very first fire up.
For any medium sized lawn this is a perfect mower.
On larger or over grown gardens a larger cc engine and self propelled mower my be better.
Great for an entry level petrol mower.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Value Petrol Lawnmower
23 Apr 2014
By LawnMowerBuyer
, Oxfordshire
" Really pleased with this when I got it home (and thanks to the guys at the store who put it in the car for me).
It was easy to put together (although getting the grassbox clipped to the frame was a little tricky) and seems sturdy. It is fairly light which means lifting it on and off the lawn is easy (decking all around the lawn). We bought it with the starter kit so had everything we needed, and following a trip out for some go-juice it fired up on the second pull of the chord. Did a great job. Highly recommended - and at the price its about the best you can buy. "
Review 19 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mountfield lawnmower
22 Apr 2014
By ronnie49
, perth
" very good value for money very easy put together started 2 pull does a very good job the only fault I found was that you really need a funnel to put the oil in apart from that brill money well spent would recommend to anybody "
Review 20 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lawn Mower
22 Aug 2012
By Pain
, Garlieston
" The mower arrived quickly, was very easy to put together but needed oil which I had to buy later. Perhaps they should include a small bottle for the initial fill..
It started 3rd pull. After this it starts first pull every time. It seems strange not to have a throttle lever but this doesn't actually matter when you get used to the single speed.
It is a bit of a pain to have to adjust the height of each wheel individually, but this is a very minor point.
The mower is light and works well. I would buy another.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 next>