Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield HP164 Lawnmower

Mountfield HP164 Lawnmower
Average Customer Rating:
4.448 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
27
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
66 of 67(99%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value petrol mower
20 May 2015
By DaveIY
, Aylesbury
" Very similar to what others have said, easy to put together, started first pull, just awkward to fill with oil. I wouldn't let that put you off though, still a great mower, maybe just buy a funnel to help with the filling and topping up with oil. "
Review 2 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cut above the rest.
17 May 2015
By Happyhandyman
, Yorkshire
" Easy to set up handle etc. Oil fill awkward without an extended funnel but straight forward with one. Started first pull. I have used several lawn mowers in last few years and this one is quite lightweight and although I have only made one cut the result was very good. Can't comment on reliability as have only just purchased. "
Review 3 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase
13 May 2015
By Doors27
, Cambridgeshire
" I've only used this once since purchasing, but have to say i am very pleased with the results. This is my first petrol mower, having recently cut through the cable on my old electric one! The mower was easy to assemble and started first time. The only issue, as has been raised by many others is that the oil filler is difficult to access and fill, but this should not put off potential buyers.
The cut is very good, fantastic and easy height adjustment.
Overall, i'm very happy with this. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wouldn't be without it.
12 May 2015
By MickeyDaFish
, Greater London
" Lovely mower. Much higher quality than my old hover mower, and for not much more money.
Easy to put together. Took me 20 minutes. But if you have done one before it will only take you 5.
nice quality feel to it. Much quieter than previous mower And better cut To the lawn.
I wish I had brought it in the first place rather than mess around with the hover.
Only flaw to it is it takes up quite a lot of floor space in the shed. "
Review 5 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent lawnmower
11 May 2015
By megliq
, Lichfield
" the Mountfield HP164 lawnmower was easy to assemble and started the first pull. The only down side is that the oil filler cap is difficult to get on and is difficult to get access to fill it with oil. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
started first pull
25 Apr 2015
By dannyf1982
, rugby
" My first petrol lawnmower and it was a doddle! Bit of oil petrol and a couple of pumps on the primer and one pull it wss away and running. Wish id have bought one of these years ago. It leaves hardly any grass behind if any! So impressed and yes its plastic but so was my old mower and that lasted years it is more than tough enough for my lawns and the height adjustment is brilliant.
Cant recommended highly enough!
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield mower.
15 Apr 2015
By Phyl
, Cardiff
" I trust Mounfield mowers having had a few in the last 40 or so years. The HP I64 is a small mower with a big punch, and it is more than adequate for our medium size lawn. In fact it ticks all the boxes, and has the advantage of a solid plastic deck; therefore it will not rust. Great price, excellent service, and now I have a new screwfix store within a half mile of my home. Therefore here is a very happy chappy. Well done Screwfix. "
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield hp164 petrol mower
23 Mar 2015
By Stezloco
, BISHOP AUCKLAND DL14
" A keenly priced, simple to operate, compact petrol hand push lawnmower, which easily has enough power to do the job without struggling. It did that first post winter 'rough' cut with ease and at less than 20 kg is light enough for me to carry by hand. My last mower rusted out after 10 years but this one has a plastic body so may last even longer.....Great Product. "
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawn mower
20 Mar 2015
By djbr
, malvern
" good for value does what its says on box
only used it once so far but does the job
good value for price
delivered on time
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield Petrol Mower
14 Mar 2015
By Billp64
, Mablethorpe
" Just had delivered, brilliant service and have set it up, will use later so cannot comment on performance etc.
Product looks good and appears excellent value for money, bought the filler kit as well which again is great and good value.
This is a must buy for anyone looking for a new mower and you can't get it from a better company
"
6 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little mower
22 Aug 2014
By Fozzydanny
, Cheshire
" Having used this product for the last 6 months I couldn't recommend it enough.
Although it lacks a little power for slightly longer or damp grass it's great value for money, reliable and easy to use. "
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little lawn mower
2 Aug 2014
By Rammos
, Newton abbot
" This is a brilliant grass cutting machine! Collected it from Bodmin depot as I was working local. Staff were most helpfull. Got it home that night and when I took it out the box I noticed that the engine had been upgraded to a Briggs & Stratton 148cc engine. Put it all together in about 10 mins, filled up with oil and petrol and away I went. It cuts the grass perfectly and is really easy to use. I set the height to 3 from the top and that was ideal. I think this mower is perfect and would 100% recommend. Also no problems from buying from screw fix. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72h
24 Jul 2014
By fanshawe
, East Yorkshire
" I have just bought the above petrol lawnmower, I would recommend this to anybody who wants an easy to use mower. It does what it says on the box, light and easy to push. "
Review 14 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliable and great value
22 Jul 2014
By XXX40XXX
, essex
" Was delivered within one day with no charge. Hubby put together and used that evening. Very happy with purchase and cheapest on high street. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Lawnmower
15 Jul 2014
By Richie1a
, London
" The HP164 was easy to assemble and it started very easily.
I bought the starter pack with oil & funnel which avoided any difficulties.
I wish I had bought a petrol mower years ago!
Cutting the grass is no longer a chore!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
23 Jun 2014
By Shooey
, Sheffield
" Bought this after reading the positive reviews on here, they are all correct too, easy to assemble filling the oil is a little tricky you need a funnel but that aside it's an absolutely brilliant bit of kit, filled her up with petrol primed the carb pulled the starter and she fired straight up, so much faster than the old electric mower too.
If your considering buying this go for it you won't be disappointed.
"
Review 17 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great entry petrol lawnmower
22 Jun 2014
By Fezza77
, Elgin
" Very happy with mover. If you have any inclines, buy the driven version for £30 extra. Wish i had now, worth the extra. "
Review 18 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield mower
13 Jun 2014
By prokart1
, hants
" Once again great service and good product,
local store rang to say my delivery was in, many thanks, took 15mins to assemble handle onto mower, fill with oil and petrol, 3 squirts on the primer, first pull it started. the instruction diagram pictures were a little small, but fairly easy to understand, well pleased though, it`s very light and does what it should do, Cut the grass, I was out there mowing at 9 in the evening, I recommend this mower.
"
Review 19 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent service
13 Jun 2014
By 2468
, Coventry
" I ordered this product on line and it arrived at my selected store at the appointed time. The mower is easy to assemble, easy to use and so easy to start. My only issue is that there was residual oil in the engine when delivered so be careful not to overfill.
Based on three mows, there does not appear to be any reason to suspect this mower will not give good service. I don't know why I struggled with a hover mower for so long.
As for the purchasing experience, first class and a member of staff at the store even helped me load it into my car.
"
Review 20 for Mountfield HP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!
12 Jun 2014
By Vincyprincess
, High Wycombe
" I fell in love with this Lawnmower! I have been dreaming about getting a Mountfield for a long time. It was easy to set up, but the thing that sold me, was that it was so easy to start!!! I have
used petrol mowers before, but have always struggled trying to get them started! I no longer have that problem with the Mountfield, as the cord sits nicely on the side, so I don't have to break my back going up and down trying to get it started! In the past, the cord would fly back, and my hand would recoil in pain! I put the petrol in, and the oil, you do need a small funell though to do this! Off I went. In no time at all the job was done! I have a large back garden, and small front. Something that used to take me up to an hour and half, only took me less than an hour! This is a push mower!!! If I had to quibble about anything, it would be the 'box'. Please can we have a big plastic box, not a material one? Other than that. I Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"
Page : 1 2 3 4 next>