Product Reviews

Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr

Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Average Customer Rating:
1.867 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
10
2 of 15(13%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Review 1 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Removes ivy frm painted render
29 Aug 2014
By DocJ
, Woking
" Have ivy tendrils stuck onto painted rendered outside wall. 2 coats Nitromors and a lot of scraping is the most effective treatment I have found. "
Review 2 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does what it says.
30 Apr 2013
By DevilS
, Weston-super-Mare
" Does exactly what it says on a tin.
High price is the only issue
but on the other hand it's worth paying .
Would definitely recommend.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works but not all that well
21 Mar 2014
By JLPS
, Inverclyde
" This did remove silk emulsion paint on skirting boards but it only worked a layer at a time. As there were a few layers it took a long time and used a lot of product to do the job. Not surprised it comes in such a large 4L can
You need a lot to do a little
With a final sanding the skirting boards did come up nice so all in all it's not a waste of money it does work just not a quick as the marketing info suggests "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
better off with another produc
6 Jun 2013
By philll
, east sussex
" having used nitromors before, and had exceptional results, i purchased some to remove paint from spindles on a free standing mirror. unfortunately due to the safe use of chemicals, all the good additives have been removed, what is left is a gel that is useless, better to go back to the hot air gun and scraper. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not 100% stronger
12 Dec 2012
By Dovechick
, Seaford
" It says in the description that it is 100% stronger than the old Nitromors... I would have to disagree... I have used the old nitromors often and it did a job in one go on two or three coats of paint. This new one needs to be repeated at least once more and at the price it is not worth it. A hot air gun is a much better option these days. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lost its strength
13 Dec 2014
By tufnol
, derbyshire
" Used this product years ago and it was brilliant. stripped almost anything. Brought some of the new formula and could not believe was from the same company. almost useless. go buy the non-nonsense alternative you'll save yourself time and a heap of dosh. "
Review 7 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Notsogoodanymors
21 Nov 2014
By Andee23
, Abingdon
" I don't know what has happened to this since I last bought some a few years ago.
It used to be excellent for efficient removal of layers of paint. Not any more. "
Review 8 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
New Nitromors is Rubbish
7 Apr 2014
By LL247
, London
" The New Nitromors is absolutely Rubbish compared to the old version, which I still do have a small tin. (I have compared them to each other)
DO NOT waste your money and time.
Need to Now find a better product now + this rubbish product is so expensive! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Side by side test.
8 Dec 2013
By VictorianGent
, Deal, Kent
" I've just had the opportunity to test old and new Nitromors on the same wood with the same paint and I can confirm what others have said here. The new version isn't even have as good as the old. The new stuff dries out before lifting the paint. Frankly I feel like I've wasted my money on this new formula stuff.
I am tempted to order some Dichloromethane and try adding that to the new Nitromors to see if that improves it. "
Review 10 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Near useless paint stripper
4 Oct 2013
By Duckshigh
, Suffolk
" This new 'Advanced super strength formula' Nitromors which does not contain dichloromethane takes twice as long to blister and needs two applications to get the same result as the 'new improved' Nitromors which contains dichloromethane which I used last year.
The same job takes four times as long!
"
Review 11 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't believe the hype...
8 Aug 2013
By JC850R
, Glasgow
" ...and if you do not believe the other negative reviews, here is another.
What irritates me most is that claim about being more powerful, I can only assume that tests were carried out on paint/varnish types that would give a positive result therefore justifying the claim.
As someone the once ran a paint shop catering to motorcycle renovation and customising (automotive paint), I used the original product every week for 5 plus years and it would remove the most stubborn of paints, it is now complete guff in this regard.
I cannot comment on it's effects on non-solvent based paint's as I have never tried it, but if it only works on such paint types it should state that on the can.
Maybe it does...need to check that. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor
25 May 2013
By mellobenno
, Newbury
" Compared to the old Nitromors this new formula is rubbish. It takes multiple coats to strip paint whereas it used to take only 1 or 2 with the old formula. I won't be buying this again. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Paint Stripper Ever
5 May 2013
By Pharic
, Glasgow
" I've always used the old Nitromors in the past and it was great. But this new formula is totally useless. I tried using it on the same varnish I always used to use it on and I had to use twice as much and it took twice as long as it used to take me on the same varnish. Now you get half as much for your money! Total waste of money and time!! "
Review 14 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
utter rubbish
20 Apr 2013
By chapper
, Glasgow
" They have "improved" this product by removing the main ingredient..methylene dichloride.and now it does not work. It is completely useless for stripping paint.It seems to be impossible now to obtain the original Nitromors,so don't waste your money on this stuff. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nitromors All-Purpose Paint & Varnish Remover 4Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not Improved
11 Feb 2013
By PhilipK
, Bradford
" Just tried this new improved product having run out of the old formulation.
It simply did not work, where the old formulation did.
I cannot recommend this product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.