Product Reviews

Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shear

Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shear
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Rothenberger Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shears 0-38mm
Review 1 for Rothenberger Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shears 0-38mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant cutters
14 Jun 2015
By
, Staines
" brilliant cutters cheap as well top quality would reccommend these to everyone get them before they go "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rothenberger Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shears 0-38mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
why did i wait so long to buy
12 Jan 2013
By
, Hertfordshire
" i do alot of genaral diy plumbing and have done for years and just never got round to buying pipe shears. After buying these i wish i bought them years ago they give a quick and clean cut. no more messing about with rough saw cuts they even cut 32mm waste pipe with ease. the lock makes them easier to fit in the tool box too "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rothenberger Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shears 0-38mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid buy
2 Apr 2016
By
, West Wales
" These aren't the cheapest plastic pipe cutters on the market but you can tell that. They are solidly built and have a good feel in the hand. I had previously purchased some from somewhere else and quickly returned them as they crushed the pipe, not the problem with these. They cut through the pipe with not problem, my only wish is they had a ratchet system to help with the cutting. "
Review 4 for Rothenberger Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shears 0-38mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good
14 Nov 2015
By
, Ballymena
" Good job,straight cutting ,much better than similar cheaper ones that don't cut straight,, "
Review 5 for Rothenberger Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shears 0-38mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tool
14 Sep 2015
By
, Lincoln
" I was sceptical before using these to cut 32mm HDPE pipe: looked too light and small but they glide through it like a knife through butter. Not easy to make a perfect cut at 90 degrees to the pipe but that's not so important for what I'm doing. Well designed and made as you'd expect from this brand. Slightly pricey but they do the job well. "
Review 6 for Rothenberger Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shears 0-38mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful
10 May 2014
By
, Belfast
" Good item, does what it says on the tin but after about 20 or so cuts a little part of the cutting blade snapped off and now makes it awkward to cut.
I feel this was partly my fault, maybe I was bending to the left or right as I cut and partly a brittle part of the blade. I'm pretty sure it would be classed in the 10% of faulty stock and that is why I am still giving it a higher rating.
Good for a now and then DIYer not so good for a day to day trades man. "
Review 7 for Rothenberger Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shears 0-38mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Pair
25 Mar 2013
By
, London
" I've been having renovating my home and upgrading pipework and radiators on an as needed basis...up until recently I been using a small pipe cutter for 15mm and 22mm pipe which did the job perfectly.
I bought these as I needed something to cut up to a 28mm pipe.
I cant believe that I hadnt bought them before. So much easier and quicker than a rotational cutter - you can line up by sight and make the cut where you need it. A fairly intricate leak repair requiring many different joints was done in half the time using these. I'd like to think that my labour is worth more than £11.99 per hour so in that respect these are a great buy. Wish I'd thought of them sooner. "
Review 8 for Rothenberger Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shears 0-38mm
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
poor design
18 Dec 2015
By
, London
" Initially seem like good cutters, however now put aside to throw away or return to screwfix.
They only really work on PEX tube - polyb. tube is too flexible and the cutters just squash the tube and deform it.
However, the main problem is the handle design which perhaps because the handle is (uncomfortably) narrow, manages to repeatedly very painfully trap a bit of skin on my hand as they close.
Interesting because as soon as you pick them up you will notice the mean narrow thin handle which is the source of the problem... "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rothenberger Rocut 38 Direct Cut Pipe Shears 0-38mm
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Angled cut every time
2 Oct 2015
By
, Glasgow
" I practised with these on 32mm waste pipe when I first got them and no matter which way I tried using them they always cut at an angle = 5 degrees minimum! So I ended up taking them back and went back to using a hacksaw. Maybe I got a bad set but it didn't seem a very a good design. "