Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Folds away for safe storage. Supplied with 5 blades.

Folds away for safe storage. Supplied with 5 blades.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Lockback Utility Knife & 5 Blades
Review 1 for Forge Steel Lockback Utility Knife & 5 Blades
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, Handy Little Knife
28 May 2013
By Mgsteve
, Manchester
"Bought this knife on a whim while in Screwfix. I've found it to be very sturdy and extremely useful. Feels really solid in use. My only gripe is that the locking mechanism is a bit too good. I sometime struggle to fold it back up. Great for safety but can be a bit of a pain (literally). Hence the 4 stars for performance. I also bought a similar knife from a different manufacturer. It was a little cheaper but you can tell. This one wipes the floor with it. If I need another, I'll be sticking with the Forge Steel."
Review 2 for Forge Steel Lockback Utility Knife & 5 Blades
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great handy stuff
3 Mar 2013
By brostraders
, london
"very handy knife with extra storage for spare blades,great value for money"
Review 3 for Forge Steel Lockback Utility Knife & 5 Blades
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great, but use with care
25 Jan 2013
By jdman
, Tiverton
"I've been using these knives since their first release. Over the last few years they have been gradually improving them. The newer versions have push-button blade releases rather than the fold over releases on the earlier versions which are much easier and safer to use. The earlier style would pop open during heavy use and cause the blade to come out, and jam when cutting through materials such as roofing felt. The push button is nice and secure and cannot be operated accidentally.
I've dropped dropped them into water, into paint and off of roofs and they have always survived. I've even used one as a hammer. The blades they are supplied with are of standard quality. I keep a handful of these knives in my bags at all time as people are always borrowing them instead of using their more widely accepted brands. Some Forge Steel/Screwfix tools can be hit or miss. These are definitely a big hit.
The 4 stars for reliability is because the latest ones regularly lose the little magnets that hold the spare blades in their compartment. It is not critical (the compartment latches closed anyway) but is an indication of poor build quality that lets down an otherwise great product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Forge Steel Lockback Utility Knife & 5 Blades
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fabulous utility knife.
3 Jul 2012
By Thoee
, Tidworth
"What a great product, no need for cases or scabbards just sits safely on your belt until needed. I never go to work without one & keep a spare one in the cab incase I get forgetful. Everybody who see's me using this knife are impressed by it's features and very quickly get one for themselves. I've started buying in quantity and give them away as presents since I know pretty much everyone will be chuffed with it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Forge Steel Lockback Utility Knife & 5 Blades
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid!
20 Jun 2014
By Hayz
, Cardiff
"Had one of these knifes before and they are good, very strong very handy as they fold up and clip to work trousers etc, ideal."
Review 6 for Forge Steel Lockback Utility Knife & 5 Blades
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Forge Steel Lockback Utility K
5 Nov 2013
By 7646
, Bolton
"A very useful Knife and a very good price,I have looked at a similar knife at a similar price but it was made from alloy and did not feel as safe in use as this one,, this knife is sturdy in use and packs away safely for storage."
Review 7 for Forge Steel Lockback Utility Knife & 5 Blades
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far so good
21 Jun 2013
By HandyHarper
, Hertfordshire
"Initial impressions are very good. Easy to use, blade seems to lock in ok. Haven't had any problems with the blade coming loose yet. Useful compartment for spare blades. The clip is OK but needs to be hooked onto a fairly thick belt. Have marked down reliability as I have not had this knife long enough to properly test this. Overall a solid product."
Review 8 for Forge Steel Lockback Utility Knife & 5 Blades
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NOT THE KNIFE IN PICTURE.
17 Jun 2013
By Pat1984
, Lancashire
"The knife you see in the picture (see attached image) is not the knife you'll get at the counter (or delivered). I bought this knife and when I opened packaging, it was a completely different knife, the blade holding mech is completely different to one in picture; one I was given had a quick release button (which is fine but allows for blade movement, fine if that's not a problem for you) also no thumb pad for applying pressure, casing was also different- blocky not rounded for comfort as the one in picture. Basically it is a very different knife to one in picture, I'm not saying it is a bad knife, just not the one advertised. 1 star for Screwfix on this occasion, can't really comment on the tool itself would be unfair to praise it highly or trash it, so averaged it on star rating. Rant over!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.