Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Average Customer Rating:
4.848 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 33(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for
Review 1 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Best Kit I've Ever Bought!
11 Apr 2013
By ehammock
, Dorset
" This is spot on, you can drive in a 4" by #8 screw through timber without any pilot hole. Bucket loads of torque. The three speed is cracking, simply snap it into top gear and you are drilling at full pelt.
Build quality is second to none, the all metal front end feels like a proper bit of kit. The metal chuck locks nicely yet easily releases when required. The all metal gearbox gives confidence that it is built to last.
Battery life is spot on. Some people may not like only one battery but in reality 20mins charge time is enough time for biscuit and a cuppa! I can't see me needing a second one any time soon.
The difference between this one and the version down is clear and professional. "
Review 2 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing
7 Mar 2013
By DIYERR
, Oxford
" Had the drill for a couple of months now and really pleased with it's performance.
Initially thought the LED light was a gimmick but surprised just how useful it is . It switches on as soon as you press the trigger then off about 5 secs after you've finished. Great for a more mature DIYERR with failing eyesight.
Only wish I'd bought one years ago!
"
Review 3 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing drill.
3 Dec 2012
By AckroydPlumbingandHeating
, portsmouth
" got this drill about two months ago and the power is amazing i have even been using 20mm sds drill bits for fixings very good battery life no need for two overall its amazing. "
Review 4 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best value for money
11 Oct 2012
By Snowmoose
, Cumbria
" Bought this drill last year on a clearance as it only had one battery ( was supposed to have 2).
Drill is utterly fantastic by far the best drill i have used. The battery lasts ages and will drive 120mm screws into wood all day. I bought a cheap second battery off chEap bay as a back up while the main battery charged.
This drill will break your wrist if your'e not careful with large wood bits i.e. the wood beaver,
the torque is fantastic and it almost handles like a mains corded drill. I havent bothered using corded drills for anything less than 13mm since buying this drill. It takes more time setting up the corded drill rather than using the Makita.
Buy a set of Bosch multi purpose drills and you're laughing.
"
Review 5 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review of Makita BHP451RF
27 Sep 2012
By Jeijib
, Leicestershire
" Truly awesome bit of kit. I use this mainly for drilling holesaws up to 80mm. The torque/turning power of this drill is so strong that you will definitely need two hands to hold it steady! For such a powerful drill it is very comfortable to hold and in my opinion - a good weight. The battery is good compared with other Li-ions or fantastic when you compare it to a nicad. Holds its charge well and lasts a good amount of time. The fast charger is handy and takes less the half an hour for a full charge. Its not a cheap drill but you definitely get a LOT of bang for your buck. "
Review 6 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New cordless drill
7 Aug 2012
By Tony2602
, Kent
" This cured my frustration with fading NiCad batteries and interference with electrical flexes! I bought this as an all round drill/driver for serious domestic use and so far not disappointed. Hammer action in masonry like hot knife in butter .... not cheap but worth it. It is rather heavy for prolonged or delicate use. "
Review 7 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best cordless drill
29 Jul 2012
By badger123
, norwich
" this makita is the best cordless power drill i have used to date,the only down side is that it only comes with 1 battery,but with a 20 min charge it aint the end of the world. "
Review 8 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent!
29 Jul 2012
By FrustratedWithNickname
, Basingstoke
" I bought this with the extra battery using a Screwfix voucher code for £230 in total.
Getting a voucher code that works from the internet is very time consuming indeed.
I screwwed in 600 screws in a day without any trouble at all.
From the apparent quality I'm expectin g this to last for years.
A 1000W mains powered drill is better into walls & concrete but apart from that this is now my main drill.
"
Review 9 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita BHP451RF 18V 3.0Ah Li-I
16 Jul 2012
By LondonDave
, London
" Just bought this drill as my bosch 24V has packed up. Though lighter and smaller than my bosch, i must say it feel good to handle. 16 torque settings 3 speeds and a dedicated screw driver setting. hammer action and reversable. nice two led lights to light up the working area and a 3.0Ah battery which last a while. not too keen on the plastic case but seems to be sturdy and top lid has compartments for screws, bits etc. sloe start operation and feels man enough to do average work around the home. good decent battery charge, which charges in no time....but buy a second battery if you are going to be canning the diy scene. very impressed so far. "
Review 10 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill
30 Jun 2012
By Wockachika
, Leicester
" Like everyone on here, I can't sing this drills praises enough. By far the most powerful combi I've owned to date. At £199 it's a real steal so get it now. Shame there's only 1 battery but I'm a Makita man so have afew others from the rest of the 18v range. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to others. "
Review 11 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best cordless
13 Jun 2012
By andrew1957
, wakefield
" already got one but it was getting old and a gear didnt work so got it when it was on offer ,they seem a bit expensive but if you want the best buy it .its powerfull and the batteries last a long time even under pressure from drilling hard brick i just cant say how good this drill is ,so all i can say is try it yourself. "
Review 12 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brill Drill
29 Mar 2012
By knowall
, yorkshire
" As with most trades i have used all the named cordless drills and drivers and i have to agree this is a serious piece of kit and if you are in the process of buying a combo drill i wouldn't hessitate to recommend this drill but what i would say is buy an extra battery because the charge span is very poor.its ok saying the charge time is only 20minutes but if you want continuos work out of the drill you need 2 batteries. other than that expensive minor detail buy it. : ) "
Review 13 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makita Combi Drill
8 Mar 2012
By ajax
, Norwich
" This Drill is a power house, will do every task you ask of it. Well balanced for an 18v combi, charge time is unbelievable, 22mins, Bad points are even though drill is brand new the Gearbox selector switch is sticky between hammer, drill, and screw, but is easily overcome by flicking the trigger. Just need another battery now and i'm sorted. "
Review 14 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blooody fine drill
5 Mar 2012
By silverwood4landscapes
, Leeds
" This drill just keeps on going and going.
i was thinking of getting another battery but for the time it takes to boil the kettle and drink a cuppa
the batteries charged and im good to go.
Coupled with screwfix service this aint half a bad deal as it goes.
"
Review 15 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita BHP451RF 18V 3.0Ah Li-I
5 Mar 2012
By chellafella1964
, Bradford
" After carefully checking this item online. It proved to be the best all-rounder. Typical Makita professional quality. after using the drill a few times the impressions are excellent. Does everything you can throw at it.. Lots of torque and staying power. Efortlessly drills timber, brick concrete and metal..
Over all opinion is excellent albeit the batteries have had quite alot of poor reviews. I have been in touch with Makita UK and the batteries have to be looked after. IE dont run flat and dont overheat or make too cold and they will last the test of time.. I found a 10% discount code which made the drill top value for money.
"
Review 16 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita drill BHP 451
26 Feb 2012
By dhros
, Stranraer
" If you require a reliable well made product look no further, this is the drill for you.This company Screwfix is well known for its excellent service and back up if you need it. "
Review 17 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
23 Dec 2011
By muddymickey
, Derbyshire
" I previously owned two Erbauer cordless drills, first an 18v then a 24v. They were good value and gave good service - although I'm not a pro, I have made extensive use of them during my selfbuild.
When the second one gave up the ghost, I thought I'd splash out on this Makita.
It's just brilliant - *really* powerful (as good as my trusty old mains drill), weight & balance are just spot on, LED worklight is really useful, and although it only comes with one battery, it only takes 20mins or so to charge - easy to work that around a brew or other jobs.
I always thought the Erbauer one was good, but this is in a different league altogether.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!
Top tip: Two things that contribute to shortening the life of Li-Ion batteries are high temperatures, and storing at high charge levels. Whenever I've finished using it, I store the battery in the fridge. Keeps it cool and charge level is reasonably low after a period of use. Then next time I use it, battery goes straight from fridge to charger - not only is it ready for a day's work, but the battery stays cooler while it's being charged too. Sounds nuts and my wife thinks I'm weird, but at £130 for a new battery from Screwfix...if it helps extend the life I'm giving it a try ! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just the job
16 Dec 2011
By chapster
, devon
" This is by far the best drill combo I have ever had hands on and it just does the job no matter what it is , the thing that I like most is the balance that just seems to take the effort out of the job , well done for the metal chuck too as this gives great accuracy and probably helps with the balance. "
Review 19 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Drill
10 Oct 2011
By CliCon357
, Kent
" Superb drill. Has done everything I asked of it so far. Torque is very impressive. Well balanced. One slight niggle is that the LED lights do not shine exactly where you want if using very short bits in the chuck - like the screwdriver bits that come with the drill. "
Review 20 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic product
3 Oct 2011
By BlueJay
, Birmingham
" I thought long and hard before buying this drill but without doubt it is quality through and through. First time I used it I knew I'd made the right decision. This is an everyday proper professional tool and as for that metal chuck - Absolutely Brilliant. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>