Product Reviews

Adjustable Hole Cutter+Cowl

Adjustable Hole Cutter+Cowl
Average Customer Rating:
2.9 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
5 of 10(50%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Review 1 for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hole Maker Extraordinaire
14 Mar 2013
By
, Gloucester
"I was at a loss to cutting 190mm dia holes in 6mm MDF and celing tiles, c200 in total. This bit of kit is a beast, cut through very easily but be warned its got sharp blades in the wrong hands, so to speak. Got me out of a hole!! Excellent piece of equipment, highly recommended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of kit.
16 Nov 2009
By
, Ipswich
"This is an extremely useful, versatlie well designed bit of kit; if I had the time it is what I would have come up with! The catalouge description does this no favours. Save your money on all the various size board cutters; this one does them all. Buy it!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful, clean and easy!
24 Apr 2014
By
, Cumbria
"Although the 'instructions' supplied are very limited (to say the least!), it is very simple to assemble without them. (I only looked at them after I had put it together!) (DON'T ASSEMBLE IT LIKE IT SHOWS IN THE PICTURE ON THE WEBSITE! THE SPRING GOES ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE COWL!)
The cowl is mounted on, what appears to be, a good quality bearing which holds the main shaft perpendicular to the cutting surface. This allows for a comfortable cut without worrying about the entry angle, etc. but also means the cowl doesn't try to spin/turn, so doesn't mark the surface.
So far I have only used it to cut into a finished, painted, skimmed, plasterboard ceiling to flush mount downlighters (85mm hole) and custom install speakers (190mm hole).
My only small complaint is that the main bar that holds the cutting blades has a drilled dimple to centre it when tightened onto the drill shaft/spindle and this is not quite centred. so the, otherwise very useful, measurement markings on the bar are not quite accurate. However, this is a simple thing to overcome, especially as I would always check with a ruler anyway.
Overall a great bit of kit that does a good job AND that caught all the mess from cutting leaving virtually no clean up afterwards! (In a fully decorated and working kitchen) Result! :D
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
put it together correctlly
29 Apr 2009
By
, scotland
"use this for custom speaker installation mostly plasterboard works great put the assembly together incorrectlly the first time wondered why it was so rubbish note no assemblly instructions just me or all of them got the spring in the right place and the dust gaurd will press snug against the wall before the cutters start working would reccomend two man job when cutting larger holes one to hold the cowl steady and 1 to run the drill cuts nice clean holes no mess"
Review 5 for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works well.
23 Mar 2009
By
, South Wales
"Holesaws are very expensive and only come in certain sizes. With this product you can make any sized hole between 30mm and 200mm diameter. I think the one I received had been returned and if it had been used as it was it would have shaken itself to bits. Perhaps that's why it was returned. Using the allen kets supplied it was impossible to loosen some of the small allen screws. Luckily - being a cyclist - I had some allen keys that provided a bigger torque. Once set up , this product works a treat. Perfect for drilling accurately sized holes in a plasterboard ceiling(plasterered or not) .
The dust shield not only keeps dust out of your eyes but also helps to keep the cutter at rigt angles to the ceiling. The obvious drawback is that you can't get closer to a wall than 100mm, even if you are only drilling a 30mm hole. For that you will need a holesaw, hence 4 stars for overall rating.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Out of Control
1 May 2013
By
, Gloucestershire
"When it cuts right it's OK but I find that one of the blades will drift no matter how tightly my pliers twist the lock.
The result is a randomly larger hole than was intended, I couldn't recommend anyone to use the one I got!
"
Review 7 for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Choose something else
23 Apr 2013
By
, Hull
"After assembling the cutter and ensuring it was all tightened up I was ready to cut my first hole, looked at the info for my MDF cut and ensured the speed of the drill was correct. Started cutting and all was ok then just as the hole cut through the cutting blades both broke. Maybe ok for plasterboard but not recommended for anything else."
Review 8 for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not up to the job
30 Mar 2013
By
, Tetbury
"I bought this adjustable hole cutter to cut 3 holes in 12.5mm plasterboard.
Good things...
The tool is heavy and the bearing in the cowl is large and my first impression was that the tool is very robust.
Assembly is very simple.
Bad things....
The first hole I wanted to cut was 60mm diameter. Once I'd set the blades using the graduated ruler, I measured the outside edges of the blades AND cut a practice hold in cardboard; the resulting hole was 3mm too small. A 5% error before we get started.
The cutting tips that came pre-fitted did not last long enough to make it through the first sheet of plasterboard. They quickly became blunt and then hot as they rubbed against the plasterboard, despite keeping the drill below a few hundred rpm as advised. The spare cutting tips lasted a little longer but started to go the same way so I had to cut the rest of the holes with a jigsaw. Given that I can't find spare blades anywhere, I've just thrown away £40.
It's a pricey tool to cut cardboard. I would not recommend this at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not cut aluminium
16 Feb 2013
By
, Warwickshire
"Does not cut aluminium sheet.
It may cut plasterboard and the like as described by other reviews.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Adjustable Hole Cutter with Cowl
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor
30 Mar 2009
By
, Devon
"As Tyler said above the dust guard is useful unless (as is usually the case) you need to get close in to a wall or ceiling. It's heavy which ought to mean it is strong enough to cope but after only a few uses the cutting points have broken. I have used it for plasterboard, Fermacell and Sasmox and the cutting heads are drilled out for bolts which leaves them very weak. I wouldn't but this again and can't reccommend it. For near enough £40 it ought to last longer. Very poor."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.