Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Portable Bench Vice 3"

Portable Bench Vice 3"
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Review 1 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bench vice
26 Jun 2015
By adds73
, Kent
" I got the small bench vice to use on site to cut down bolts etc. worked very well I was pleased with it "
Review 2 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Portable Vice
23 Jun 2015
By TheBedMan
, stockport
" I looked around the big tool stockists for this kind of product and i narrowed it down to two similar ones,this one and one from a big retailer.
I asked in store at my local Screwfix to have a look and feel of the item before purchase,which the staff were quite happy for me to do.
After a good look at the vice,i thought this is perfect and bought two there and then.
After getting back to workshop and doing a proper test,i was really pleased that i had purchased two of these.
Powerful grip,sturdy,well built and best of all,portable...
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portable Vice
1 Jun 2015
By Kirriedod
, Kirriemuir
" Needed a small, but not too small portable vice.
Item selected worked well does what it says on the tin.
Staff brilliant, very helpful
"
Review 4 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vice
28 Apr 2015
By Gooner1967
, Essex
" When viewing the product I was impressed with the write up and build quality, also when purchased I was not disappointed, it was exactly what I was looking for, my shed is now more than looking like what I have wanted with this tool a complete workshop. "
Review 5 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little vice
17 Mar 2015
By Drinks
, Warrington
" I needed a small metal vice which I could attach to my workbench when needed - but I could store when not required - it needed to be metal as I would on occasions use heat to bend metal whilst holding the metal in the vice.
The Forge Steel Portable bench vice easily met all these requirements whilst also providing the added bonus of a small 'anvil' area which does provide extra flexibility when working hot metal!! Very well engineered - provides all the functionality and flexibility I was looking for plus really good value for money - highly recommended
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant vice.
14 Jan 2015
By philipnrw
, Norwich
" This vice is very sturdy; I have never had it shift at all at the base it's clamped with. No need to overtighten either so it doesn't leave any trace of having been there. The anvil is a bit on the small side but good to have it there anyway.
Build quality is very reassuringly sturdy and has held up well in long term use. I've used it for wood and metal, filing and sawing etc.
I bought this after buying a different brand from elsewhere that was absolutely awful. This was the same price and 1000% better. Perfect unless you need a bigger one. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent little vice
28 Mar 2014
By Kras
, Gosport
" Works well, Clamp held vice securely and steady - no rocking.
Smooth jawed so little risk of damage to job.
Lead screws and parallel slides benefited from a little greasing making the operation a lot smoother.
Useful tool to carry in van!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit for purpose
22 Mar 2013
By degsy
, Peterlee
" What you see is what you get, perfect for the smaller pieces that require holding. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good solid vice
3 May 2011
By Wildgoose
, Merseyside
" A good solid vice for it's size. Found to be very useful for holding small pieces to be sawn or drilled. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good
23 Mar 2011
By phil1
, norwich
" excellent small vice . Ok for diy use. it is perfectly adequate for home us what else can i say to fill 50 characters. more perhaps??? "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish all vices were this cheap
13 Jun 2010
By Anonymous
, Croydon
" What a hunk of metal for the price. Seems to be very well engineered and pre-greased (perhaps a bit too much?) However, this will last for ever, and I think I will just find excuses to use it. My first job was to crush my Xbox, very satisfying. "
Review 12 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swivel bench vice
2 Jun 2010
By trahic
, Stotfold
" Very well made, easily fitted to my bench and strong enough for any of my jobs. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy - met my expectation
27 Jul 2015
By Kaps
, Hounslow
" I wanted a small vice to fit on my small workbench (also bought from ScrewFix 2 years ago) to hold and bend steel flat bar (2 mm thick). Very easy to fit and use. I used it also to hold while cutting with hacksaw and filing. I might buy another one. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little Vice.
3 Jan 2015
By able8bty
, plymouth
" A great,versatile robust little vice an excellent addition to any Tradesmans, DIYers or Bengali Lancers (Chancers), toolbox, and a Great price to boot. Well done Screwfix. "
Review 15 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great hobby vice..
13 Nov 2014
By ibo24
, Bridlington
" Perfect for my hobby have it set up in my hobby room not the shed, not to small,not big,3" jaw and full 360% rotation.. "
Review 16 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portable vice.
11 Nov 2014
By collector
, Nottingham
" well up to Screwfix's excellent quality. Bought this item to carry in my car for occasional use, so the vice 's weight makes it easy to transport. The vice will be used for clamping mainly light items and is ideal for this use. "
Review 17 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality clamp-on vice
5 Jul 2014
By PBG1
, Plymouth
" I was looking for a sturdy small bench vice that was strong enough to withstand some reasonably heavy work. I compared a few and most were lightweight, badly made or just didn't give you any confidence. This one ticks all the boxes. "
Review 18 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A vice but not a sin
29 Mar 2012
By CraftIt
, Scotland
" A solid and reliable bit of kit for portable use at a bargain price. Excellent for light-medium work on small parts of the car, caravan, or boat, crafts, or anywhere you need a mobile but sturdy vice and light anvil. The swivel base makes adjusting the angle of parts as you work much easier and more convenient than trying to move around them. And fast reliable service and delivery from Screwfix, as always. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great vice
9 Mar 2010
By Ebooon
, Kent
" This is a great vice for the money -- very sturdy and lots of adjustment. The only thing that lets it down slightly is the jaws are a bit too smooth, so you really have to tighten to get a good grip "
Review 20 for Forge Steel Portable Bench Vice Swivel Base 3"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
handy little vice
14 Dec 2009
By davspr
, Bridgend
" A good small vice. Ideal for that small job. Swivel base handy to reposition clamp "
Page : 1 2 next>