Product Reviews

Armeg Scutch Comb + Chisel

Armeg Scutch Comb + Chisel
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Review 1 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knife through butter
13 May 2014
By Chelseaboy79
, Staines
" Was looking for an alternative to a standard sds flat chisel and came across this, a little pricey but reading reviews thought I would give it a go. I was removing plaster from all my internal brick walls and it was night and day compared to the standard sds flat chisel. The teeth really help it get flush with the brickwork,didn't leave any bits behind and I would say it was twice as fast.also I really noticed a lot less vibration in the hands which enabled me to carry on longer.
I did experience the comb coming loose but it was after at least an hours use, just tapped it back straight with a hammer,left it for 10mins while I cleared up and went back to it.
Even come across some cement rendered patches and it took these apart too.
Great tool
"
Review 2 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant floor tile remover
2 Jul 2013
By watsonmscl
, Aylesbury
" Best £35 ever spent. Been trying to lift old floor tiles and adhesive that had been down for eons with hammer & chisel.
This thing went through tiles and adhesive like a hot knife through butter. Had the entire floor up in a couple of hours and smooth enough for the new covering - brilliant
"
Review 3 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chi
11 Dec 2012
By RockJock
, Hampshire
" This was an extremly usefull tool when I had to remove crumbling self leveling screed from my garage floor, prior to having this tool I was using a hammer and chisel which was extremley hard work to say the least. Well worth the money & justified having the SDS drill with rotary stop too! "
Review 4 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Where to start......
29 Aug 2012
By bloggs96
, Northamptonshire
" Well I purchased this for chasing walls & removing plaster from brick... Being an electrician and using a hammer and bolster far too long I thought I'd give this a go... at fisrt its brilliant, and after reading Armeg's usage policy.... then I suppose it would work as intended. but 15 minutes use the shaft heats up and expands meaning the comb falls out, moves. if you use this for 10-13 mins its fine, allow to cool and continue then it's ok...
saves time and leaves a neat cut. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great piece of equipment
20 Apr 2012
By Dontdoityourself
, Essex
" Is a great piece of equipment to attach to your SDS plus drill. Cuts very neat and precise areas whether small or large. Have to make sure you dont lean on a corner of the comb as it can move in the holder. Just needs a good whack with a hammer to put in place! "
Review 6 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SDS scutch chisel
2 Oct 2011
By geebee
, Cardiff
" Does what it says on the tin.
Cuts much neater holes than a straight / flat chisel, though you do still gets lots of dust (as with all 'pulverising' tools.)
I used it for chasing cable routes and socket holes for back boxes in brick/blockwork and render.
I still used SDS drill to 'stitch' drill round the area to be chased out. "
Review 7 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Prevent RSI
14 Jul 2011
By BestFlyingPig
, Plymouth
" This attachment is good for those of us that are habitually using the scutch hammer, particularly whilst removing the top coat from lime plaster as it to be found in C19th houses. It saved my wrist and the time saved using the chisel action on an sds was significant.
But there is a diownside. The head does heat up and so the grip on the scutch comb holder reduces leading to the scutch falling out or moving down the groove of the attachment . To compensate turn the attachment through 180 degrees periodically. The life of the scutch comb is a little limited, but a pack of five managed to remove 384 sqm of surface very quickly.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scutch Chisel
6 Apr 2011
By Racebiz
, Cornwall
" Well impressed for cutting straight edges having first got rid of worst of it with std chisel "
Review 9 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Expensive but effective
1 Aug 2010
By Chinwag
, Bristol
" I bought one of these to cut out socket boxes. I didn't fancy spending £100 odd quid on a box cutter, firstly because of the price, and secondly because I was worried the box cutter would demolish the entire wall. The £30 purchase price is not exactly cheap, but the tool was a revelation. You can cut incredibly accurately with this tool, and due to the combed teeth, it doesn't skate around all over the place when you first offer the drill to the wall. I had never cut out a socket box before and I managed 7 double ones in about 3 hours, probably hopelessly slow by pro standards, but I was pretty pleased.
It offers excellent find control allowing you to shave off a few mm here and there without making a complete pigs ear of your wall.
The only drawback is that the actual chisel is not a brilliant fit in the bit (I think the chisels are hardened steel and form a sort of "interference fit" which gets wedged into place). The led to me losing a chisel down my wall cavity - luckily replacements are under a fiver for 5 so I won't lose too much sleep over that.
Overall a very useful tool that's a pleasure to use. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Think about continuous use.
5 May 2014
By apps
, Tavistock
" I bought this to remove a horrible rough render on the front of a house that had been put over the original Tyrolean render. I had used normal SDS chisels before and they were OK but I was hoping this would be quicker on the really tough bits. To start with it probably was but as a previous reviewer has said, once it warms up, after about 10 minutes constant use, the metal jaw expands and the comb moves sideways and eventually drops out. Perhaps not really designed for my particular job.
It is indeed great for chasing channels once you've cut the sides with a disc, very quick and tidy.
"
Review 11 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
great idea poor execution
1 Jun 2011
By electricbuilder
, lymington
" simple tool for low impact cutting in masonary etc very useful - BUT the bit keeps falling out or slipping in the holder! "
Review 12 for Armeg SDS Plus Scutch Comb Chisel
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Scutch Comb Chisel
15 Mar 2011
By jim1
, Preston
" The chisel removed the material without any problem. Removal of the chisel from the drill was almost impossible. The shaft of the chisel had thickened with the use over 1.5 days. I was lucky not to have damaged my drill chuck. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.