Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Telescopic Anvil Loppers 32"

Telescopic Anvil Loppers 32"
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Review 1 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why pay more
8 Nov 2014
By
, kent
"Excellent loppers especially for the money! have used far more expensive professional horticultural loppers but these are amazing, time will tell with the durability, but so far so good"
Review 2 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent anvil loppers
22 May 2014
By
, North Down
"These loppers do what it says on the tin. They are light but strong and very easy to use."
Review 3 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value, does the job
21 Mar 2014
By
, abingdon
"My old loppers had given up the ghost fighting with a new garden. these have already cut 2 inch diameter branches and removed lots of undergrowth. The telescopic handles seem sturdy and the whole tool feels like its built to last."
Review 4 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Superb
26 Feb 2014
By
, West Sussex
"I bought these due to my Fiskars pair snapping in half for a job cutting down and prunning. At under half the price of the above mentioned rubbish they did the job with ease. Cutting a big set of cherry trees down to size. The telescopic handles were much better than the usual twist lock as they didn't once extend by accident. I was able to release the buttons without removing my gloves and was amazed really how easily they cut. Would be happy if they only lasted me one season at that price considering how much i use them and how superior they are to more expensive ones. Have only given 4 stars for reliability as not long purchased. Dont waste your money on expensive ones that look good.
Happy Lopping!"
Review 5 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loppers
4 Jul 2012
By
, Swanley, Kent
"Loppers come in two varieties : BYPASS, where two blades act in a scissor-type action, and ANVIL, where a single blade cuts against a fixed bar. This lopper is of the latter type, which although technically less efficient (ie. may not cut as thick a branch), is far more robust and avoids the shearing forces that can result in the two blades of a bypass lopper becoming twisted with a partially cut branch jammed between them.
The design is simple, elegant and functional, with anodised surfaces and comfortable grips. Whilst it is not obvious what metal the loppers are made from (too light to be steel, but too strong to be aluminium), the loppers are extremelyt robust and handle rough work with ease.
The telescopic handle action is better than some more expensive types which twist to lock - until they wear, after which they slide uncontrollably. This lopper has positive locking positions which extend the length in four steps from around 18" closed to around 30" fully extended. My only (slight) criticism would be that the buttons that release the extensions are slightly fiddly to operate - particularly when wearing gardening gloves. The extended length is quite generous, but still exhibits very little 'bend' on stiff cuts.
I cannot verify longevity, but my example has managed more than a season of reasonably heavy use so far without any noticeable wear or damage."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As good as the best
19 Nov 2014
By
, norfolk
"In my job I get through a lot of loppers so I thought I would give this a try as the are much cheaper than the fiskas which i have had in the past and these seem to be okay for the price and enjoy using them and do the job as good as higher priced ones."
Review 7 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good pruner
10 Nov 2014
By
, London
"Good bit of kit at a good price. seems strong and light. the spring loaded pins for extending the handles also seem robust. As to how it lasts time will tell."
Review 8 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
performs excellently so far
6 Nov 2014
By
, somerset
"looks as if it is manufactured in same place as more expensive brands, sharing their design features - though i didn't actually check in the flesh. Altogether lighter construction than my previous loppers but performs excellently so far for sustained work on an overgrown hedge."
Review 9 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bargain loppers
16 Aug 2014
By
, Hartlepool
"Had to grab a new set after starting a big job removing a load a of conifer branches. These loppers had good reviews and where on offer at half price. Sharp and effective loppers that made short work of the job. Extending handles are useful but not often required. Cut up to 2 inch diameter branches with ease. Lets hope they last as long as the ones they replaced."
Review 10 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Forge Steel Loppers Used and A
7 Aug 2014
By
, Southend-on-Sea
"2nd pair I have had. First lasted 18 months of extremely hard use. Abused them to help take out 12 mature firtrees and many other smaller trees and bushes. Normal use and they would have lasted much longer. Great cutting ability. Extending handles v positive with push button operation.- superior to more expensive handle twist types. You would be hard pushed to find a better one anywhere near this price."
Review 11 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All very good
26 Apr 2014
By
, Telford
"Service from screwfix was excellent.
Loppers where much better than I expected, find the telescopic handles easy to operate and secure and the lopping is now almost a pleasurable experience, it is effortless, even cut through quite large branches. The weight i found was also good, my old ones where way too heavy as well as bent and useless! Even if i get a couple of seasons out of these I will feel i have have had value for money. Would have put 5 stars on all but it is early days yet...
"
Review 12 for Forge Steel Telescopic Anvil Loppers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked well
25 May 2013
By
, Essex
"Needed relatively cheap loppers to help get rid of 4 wheelie bins of off cuts. Worked really well cutting up to 40mmm"