Product Reviews

For rapid sanding of large surfaces. Soft-grip handle for comfortable use.

For rapid sanding of large surfaces. Soft-grip handle for comfortable use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
23 of 29(79%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Review 1 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Sander for the Price
19 Mar 2014
By BenLee
, Cardiff
"Needed a belt sander to finish a job and didn't fancy paying over £100 for one right then. Picked this one up and have been very happy with it, solid reliable and powerful. Excellent sander for a budget."
Review 2 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
18 Mar 2014
By astyscott
, York
"I am currenlty working on my house and bought this belt sander to clean up floor boards. It has a great wieght to it and work really well on pine.
It only comes with 1 sand belt so I recommend buying some more with it.
For the price worth the buy.
"
Review 3 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
16 Oct 2013
By Scampifryboy
, Slough
"Needed a belt sander & didnt fancy buying one from the main brands at over £100, so got this one
It didnt disappoint. Like my other Titan tools this is just a fantastic machine
Would recommend"
Review 4 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Titan is easy & efficient.....
19 Sep 2013
By Pellis
, London
"This machine is a very sturdy piece of kit.
It has both weight and ease of use, NOT normally a twosome found together.
Changing the sanding loop takes ALL of 30 seconds.
BE CAREFUL NOT to sand in one place for too long, or it WILL indent the substrate.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value
13 Jul 2013
By mywoodhasathirst
, Devon
"This is the second power tool I have bought using Titan and I think for a low end budget tool it is excellent. The Titan SDS I bought has performed well so far, though not used heavily yet, it's done a few jobs - sure a dewalt or makita may outlast these makes and I would often argue sometimes cheap is false economy however with Titan it really performs well."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased
29 Mar 2013
By BassoP
, Bristol
"Have only done two smallish jobs so far, so can't comment on reliability, but it works very well, has enough power and speed to drive the most demanding belt through hard wood, and the dust extraction works well enough that a minimum of mess is made.
Might not be suitable for professional use, but I don't know what more an expensive unit could offer a DIY user."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good sander.
9 Apr 2012
By Moaning
, Lincolnshire
"Good reliable sander, worked tirelessly and effortlessly. Would recommend."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money
6 Mar 2012
By Knuckleduster
, Buckingham
"Well worth the money with plenty of guts in the motor--bought it to sand off a piece of Oak that had been dried and it had the chain saw cuts showing badly.This unit made short work of the job and the client was most pleased"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
17 Feb 2012
By Neverpaythefullprice
, Bishops Stortford,
"I bought this sander despite some adverse comments. I needed it to sand down an oak panelled wall - several square metres. It did the work quite effortlessly in a couple of hours. No problem with the belt, motor etc. I had purchased some extra sanding belts expecting to need more than the one supplied. Delighted to say I did not need them. Overall an excellent machine at a very good price, which does exactly what it says on the box."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great belt sander. Great price
25 Aug 2011
By illhaveago
, Derbyshire
"Great easy change sanding belt design. Change the sanding belt in 3 seconds. Some feel that the motor burns out or that the drive belt slips. I have to say I'm afraid that a bad workman may here be blaming his tool. This sander has a great fan built into the motor to cool the device. Sander has variable speed but try to keep the speed high as slowing it down also reduces the cooling effect of the fan, of course! As you use the sander you'll notice your leading hand is near the fan output air blast. Notice how hot the air is and if it starts to suddenly increase then don't stop the sander! Simply remove it from the wood you're sanding and let the motor cool down with its own fan. Someone else said that they wanted this to sand an entire floor with. Probably not the best idea, you really need a much wider floor sander. You'd be tempted to lean hard on this sander to make it strip faster and get the job done. Sander wouldn't spin freely then, it gets hot and that when you knacker it. I'm not perfect but i have to try to choose the right tool for the job."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander
24 Aug 2011
By Hawky
, Newport
"Having read the reviews for this product, I was a little wary when I ordered it, but I needed a cheap sander for a one off job, and the price fitted the bill.
Despite the shortcommings noted by other reviewers, I was quite impressed with the overall perfomance of this machine, which on its "maiden Voyage", was used for approx 4 hours with no problems from the machine at all.
The only problem I had was with the sanding belts I bought with it, which were less than reliable ( see my review in "sander belts") to put it mildly. Otherwise, I was very pleased with the performance of this tool.
"
Review 12 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best belt sander at its price
24 Aug 2011
By superplumb
, mansfield
"I got this as my old sander,about 12yrs old,the bearings went.
This sander is fat superior at 1 1/3rd of the price of my old one.
Its features are great,its variable speed control,the belt angle adjuster,and the dust collection bag,make this this a great machine.
"
Review 13 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Money well spent
15 Jul 2013
By Sprox
, Northampton
"I bought this to sand a hallway floor after struggling with a random action and mouse sander. The finish was much better than I expected and the dust collector worked really well unlike some of my other power tools. Very impressed."
Review 14 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
titan belt sander
8 May 2013
By markymarkcom
, cheltenham
"good value, does the job, the belts stay on, but always use the right grade."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
titan sander
21 Jan 2013
By noelllll
, yorkshire
"the sander was very good it sanded my full floor without any broblem or overheating on the down side the dust bag zip bust in the first hour apart from that it was very reliable"
Review 16 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Belt sander
7 Jan 2013
By ang6x
, cheshire
"good product for the price. However this is the second one I have had recently. They are for moderate to light use only. They are not for big long jobs that require heavy duty sanders such as sanding down complete floors!. The old addage ' you get what you pay for '
Use it for smaller jobs and let it cool down if you have worked it hard for 20 minutes or so and it will last and prove reliable.
"
Review 17 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprised at how good this was
4 Nov 2012
By Guttersnipe
, Tonbridge
"Having used a sander in the £200-£300 range ( excellent !) I was dubious about buying this far cheaper product.
However with some old oak window frames
that needed refurbishment I thought I would 'risk it'.
I was very impressed at the value for money
that this sander offered.
I soon found some more jobs to utilise it's
potential for those DIY jobs about the home.
I would definitely recommend this product
for general DIY jobs but professionals may need something more robust.
The dust bag is a waste of time but probably necessary for nominal 'health and safety '
criteria to be met by manufacturers.
Wear a mask, work outside or just hold your breath !
Guttersnipe
"
Review 18 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surprised
23 Sep 2012
By Cassieann
, Gloucester
"Not expecting much for the money, this Titan surprised me at how powerful and trouble free it has been, and it has been used hard. Dustbag is a total waste of time, but attach a vacuum to it and you're away. Yes, it is noisy, and it can get warm. But is does the job."
Review 19 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does fine
15 Jul 2012
By gorganpix
, taunton
"suprised at how well this works. have never done any huge jobs with this, but so far has done well. dont think i would do any long term work with it, but happy to keep it in my van."
Review 20 for Titan TTB290SDR 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cracking for DIY.
19 Jun 2012
By Meatball51
, Warwick
"I bought this to sand down walls that had been gouged badly scraping off damp proof coating. I have used it to sand off paint on the woodwork too, thick layar from years of paining, came right off.
Read the instructions, well worth the money.
"
Page : 1 2 next>