Product Reviews

Mountfield 61cm Hedge Trimmer

Mountfield 61cm Hedge Trimmer
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
13
70 of 90(78%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantanstic
14 Jun 2016
By
, north lincolnshire
" got this to replace old petrol cutter that finally gave up on us half way through cutting a big conifer hedge.
It started first pull and cut through the conifers no problem and made an excellent job and a lot quicker due to the longer blade.
definantly recommend a real good hedge cutter that matches the mountfield mower we purchased too.
so don,t hesitate buy it you won,t be disappointed.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MHJ2424
4 Jun 2016
By
, Oldham
" This is a really good hedge trimmer starts first time and a lot better than my electric 1 it took half the time to cut all my bushes very satisfied "
Review 3 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
20 May 2016
By
, Newcastle
" Just recently purchased this hedge trimmer. Have previously used electric streamers but they are just not powerful enough. I had a fairly major cut back job to do. The strimmer started without any problems and I was astonished at how quickly the job was completed. It cut through thick stems with ease. It is heavier than an electric strimmer but i took plenty of short breaks. Started easily every time. "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good and reliable
3 Feb 2016
By
, Peterhead
" I have used this on beech and willow hedges as well as a number of bushes and shrubs. Starts easily, comfortable to hold and light enough to hold at height. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top hedge trimmer
6 Nov 2015
By
, Kilmarnock
" My last petrol hedge trimmer was a Ryobi, when you could get it started that worked well.....I finished up putting it in a skip because I nearly put my shoulder out after an hour of trying to start it! ....not so with this Mountfield. From cold prime it, pull the handle it starts. When it's hot, pull the handle it starts. Cuts well, not too heavy and more importantly it starts whenever I want it to.......works for me! "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pricey but worth it
7 Oct 2015
By
, Mansfield
" Purchased this trimmer to replace another brand I had purchased earlier the same day which was useless! Started very easily, and ran faultlessly for over a hour giving a very neat/clean cut.
Haven't needed to use since, so can't rate reliability at 5* yet. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
breath of fresh air
26 Aug 2015
By
, Rugby
" after purchasing an alternative brand, not from Screwfix, I returned to Screwfix and Mountfield, 15 month old alternative is in the bin.
Great service, product fires up as soon as it is primed and performs very well. And you add in the price, great value for money.
Too early to comment on reliability but my Mountfield lawnmower has worked perfectly for years. "
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc
21 Aug 2015
By
, bedfordshire
" Great hedge trimmer cuts though paracantha hedge with ease love the tilting handle. it a powerful machine with no doubt.
a good buy
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value
4 Aug 2015
By
, Cheshire
" Looked around at Sthil and others with a similar spec, all at least £100 more for the same spec as this machine.
We have a lot of hedges, some laurel and some mixed privets and I previously used an electric hedge cutter which I stupidly left out during a shower and it blew up!
Compared with the electric trimmer this Mountfield is much more powerful, and goes through hedges like a knife through butter and will cut through pretty thick branches with no bother.
On the down side it is much heavier than an electric machine and after an hour or so's use my arms were aching! Who needs the gym! Looking at the spec for other petrol machines this is no heavier than other 2 stroke units, it's just one of the features of petrol v electric.
On the upside, there is no cable to chop through! (yes I managed to do this too with my electric trimmer!)
This machine starts very easily and will idle without the blade running.
The only downside on the design is the on/off switch is poorly positioned and it's easy to catch it by accident and switch the machine off, however once you get used to it it's not too bad. The handle rotates to make it easier to hold and do the top of the hedges.
All in all I am very pleased with this machine, and would give it 9/10 with the only down mark for the position of the on/off switch. Great value.
"
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable Hedge Trimmer
31 Jul 2015
By
, Chelmsford
" Easy to Start, Hot or Cold. Cuts like Butter.
Not to Heavy to Use and with the adjustable
Handle it makes cutting easier.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy hedge trimmer
30 Jul 2015
By
, Co. Down. N.I.
" Had a previous model of Mountfield trimmer for a number of years.
This one very similiar, easy to start, which is always a plus. Good cutter but slightly on the heavy side if cutting for long period.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent petrol shears
18 Jul 2015
By
, mansfield
" Bought this product for my dad as a present best thing I cud have bought "
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it should
18 Jul 2015
By
, New Rossington
" Bought this after burning out clutch on electric hedge trimmer, went through it no bother, wish I had bought one of theses first "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Don't Delay - Buy Today!
4 Jul 2015
By
, Hawick
" Bought this to replace an electrical hedge trimmer I had for years. Wish I'd bought it earlier! Safer, easy to use and much quicker.
Very well priced, too. Have only used it once so cannot comment on reliability.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best hedge trimmer
2 Jul 2015
By
, Swansea
" not to heavy to hold adjustable handle for ease of use "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Petrol over electric
22 Jun 2015
By
, Cambridgeshire
" I have used electric hedge trimmers for years but wanted something which would make quick work of my leylandi. This machine is great straight from the box! Well made robust and saved me time. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy
16 Mar 2015
By
, Grimsby
" Cut through thick hedges, like cutting through butter. Soon got the hedge in order. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New hedge trimmer
18 Jul 2014
By
, Bushmills
" So easy to use my wife was off like a shot to trim everything in sight! "
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
17 Jun 2014
By
, Hilgay, Norfolk
" I was fed up with poor quality products not working or hard to start so decided to but a Mountfield petrol Lawn mower from Screwfix the SP183 it has proved to be so good and reliable that I then decided to purchase the Mountfiled hedge trimmer and again this has proved to be excellent value for money, I would recommend the mountfield product every time. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
GOOD CHOICE
24 May 2014
By
, WALES
" not had long enough to rate Reliability or Performance hence no overall rating, short use so far - best petrol cutter had so far, reasonably light - don't think you can get any lighter to be honest, good depth of teeth/cut capacity- rotation of handle excellent idea, fumes from engine nothing compared to previous petrol cutters I've had- would recommend "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 next>