Product Reviews

Mountfield 61cm Hedge Trimmer

Mountfield 61cm Hedge Trimmer
Average Customer Rating:
3.855 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
12
57 of 76(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy hedge trimmer
30 Jul 2015
By geolpat
, Co. Down. N.I.
" Had a previous model of Mountfield trimmer for a number of years.
This one very similiar, easy to start, which is always a plus. Good cutter but slightly on the heavy side if cutting for long period.
"
Review 2 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent petrol shears
18 Jul 2015
By megg
, mansfield
" Bought this product for my dad as a present best thing I cud have bought "
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it should
18 Jul 2015
By OGR1
, New Rossington
" Bought this after burning out clutch on electric hedge trimmer, went through it no bother, wish I had bought one of theses first "
Review 4 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Don't Delay - Buy Today!
4 Jul 2015
By Robbiethegas
, Hawick
" Bought this to replace an electrical hedge trimmer I had for years. Wish I'd bought it earlier! Safer, easy to use and much quicker.
Very well priced, too. Have only used it once so cannot comment on reliability.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best hedge trimmer
2 Jul 2015
By zoma
, Swansea
" not to heavy to hold adjustable handle for ease of use "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Petrol over electric
22 Jun 2015
By SandyP
, Cambridgeshire
" I have used electric hedge trimmers for years but wanted something which would make quick work of my leylandi. This machine is great straight from the box! Well made robust and saved me time. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy
16 Mar 2015
By Gardner1
, Grimsby
" Cut through thick hedges, like cutting through butter. Soon got the hedge in order. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New hedge trimmer
18 Jul 2014
By JWAa
, Bushmills
" So easy to use my wife was off like a shot to trim everything in sight! "
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
17 Jun 2014
By Keenie
, Hilgay, Norfolk
" I was fed up with poor quality products not working or hard to start so decided to but a Mountfield petrol Lawn mower from Screwfix the SP183 it has proved to be so good and reliable that I then decided to purchase the Mountfiled hedge trimmer and again this has proved to be excellent value for money, I would recommend the mountfield product every time. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
GOOD CHOICE
24 May 2014
By mrfussy
, WALES
" not had long enough to rate Reliability or Performance hence no overall rating, short use so far - best petrol cutter had so far, reasonably light - don't think you can get any lighter to be honest, good depth of teeth/cut capacity- rotation of handle excellent idea, fumes from engine nothing compared to previous petrol cutters I've had- would recommend "
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dog's doodaas
29 Apr 2014
By Lurcher57
, Sopley
" Only just bought this. Used it for 3 days x 4 hrs /day continuously to clear my overgrown jungle garden so bit of a short term review.
-Starts first time every time.
- Reasonably light
- Used in pouring rain yesterday so good thing I didn't choose electric.
- Actually got it to cut up to 40mm diameter branches (resinous pine so not hardwood).
- One minor negative point: On/off switch is in EXACTLY the wrong place to ensure you turn the machine off when turning handle, moving hand to get more comfortable, changing hands, etc. Maybe it's just me...
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, started on 3rd pull!
4 Apr 2014
By justtri
, Surrey
" Having purchased a cheaper trimmer from another retailer which refused to start I opted for this one - the quality looked good and the reviews excellent. I wasn't disappointed - followed the instructions and after 3 pulls of the cord it started. The next day it started 1st time. It cuts through my leylandii hedge like a hot knife through butter. Not too heavy and feels agile. An absolute pleasure to use. I hope it continues to perform. "
Review 13 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hedgetrimmer
10 Jan 2014
By munts
, surrey
" heavyish but well balanced machine well up to a good days work "
Review 14 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great machine for the money
7 Oct 2013
By bob88
, Kent
" I ordered it on line and picked it up at my local store with no trouble at all. Filled it up with 50:1 2T fuel/oil mix and it started straight away. Did a large hazel hedge with it and other hedges no problem - cuts well and is easy to handle, although not the lightest of machines. That's not necessarily a bad thing as it seems to be well made and solidly constructed and the engine is quiet, idles well and runs as sweet as a nut. I can't really give an idea of reliability yet, but out of the box I'm very impressed with it for the money. The only minor points are that I found it easy to knock the choke lever over to fully choked and also accidentally knock the cut-off switch to the off position, both of which stop the engine, of course, but it's something I'm sure I'll get used to. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield MHJ2424 Hedge Trim
28 Sep 2013
By VTEO
, Lincolnshire
" Arrived next day as promised from Screwfix and all in order. Unpacked, followed set up instructions, mixed fuel oil ratio and fired it up second pull of the cord after priming. It does everything I expected and runs very well. idles fine and restarts well hot or cold almost first time every time. Makes very short work of any hedge and as long as you treat the tool with respect, oil the cutting blade and generally don't abuse the trimmer by trying to chop down too large a diameter of branch then its a good buy and performs well. 2 months in and done a great deal of work already so have to report its a good buy. Hope its the same in 3 years time ! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MountfieldMHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc
25 Sep 2013
By skiz
, macclesfield
" Amazing delivery from Screwfix. Ordered 7pm and was cutting my hedge with it before noon next morning. Trimmer easy to set up and start. Works very well for its size and weight. Just need to be careful that choke hasn't been knocked into the on position which stalls engine. As previous reviewer pointed out , don't mistake the air cleaner screw for the choke. Not had long enough to comment on reliability other than good in the couple of hours I've operated it. "
Review 17 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Hedge Trimmer
23 Sep 2013
By tony200mph
, Hertfordshire
" Great value for money, easy to start engine which runs well and does exactly what it says on the box ... Cuts hedges. "
Review 18 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Hedgetrimmer.
18 Sep 2013
By chris9369
, Norfolk
" Good product. Easy starter and a lot lighter in weight than many similar models which is important when reaching over to cut the back of a large hedge. Rotating handle is a good idea and it is easy to change from one position to another. 50:1 two stroke oil ratio makes it more economical to run than many of its competitors.
Overall a good buy and a well respected name too.
"
Review 19 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish I'd bought one years ago.
17 Sep 2013
By artyjay
, North Wales
" For years I've been either hiring or borrowing a hedgetrimmer for my bi-annual cut. Not a problem really, except for the guilt about borrowing so often. Anyway I decided to take up the offer and go for a trimmer of my own and wish that I'd done it years ago. This trimmer is much lighter than the ones I've been using making the job a lot less tiring. I'm now finding myself bringing it out to do a bit of tidying up as and when required - not something one can do when the machine is on hire for a limited period.
I'd certainly recommend this trimmer
"
Review 20 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moutfield Hedge Trimmer
9 Aug 2013
By Bryun
, West Sussex
" Outstanding little machine and such a good price. Could not get it to started so returned it - no quibble - but it was my fault as I had failed to find the choke using instead the air filter opening catch!!. However having reread the manual the new machine is great - no problems and does the job "
Page : 1 2 3 4 next>