Product Reviews

Mountfield 61cm Hedge Trimmer

Mountfield 61cm Hedge Trimmer
Average Customer Rating:
3.934 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
8
47 of 61(77%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New hedge trimmer
18 Jul 2014
By
, Bushmills
"So easy to use my wife was off like a shot to trim everything in sight!"
Review 2 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
17 Jun 2014
By
, Hilgay, Norfolk
"I was fed up with poor quality products not working or hard to start so decided to but a Mountfield petrol Lawn mower from Screwfix the SP183 it has proved to be so good and reliable that I then decided to purchase the Mountfiled hedge trimmer and again this has proved to be excellent value for money, I would recommend the mountfield product every time."
Review 3 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
GOOD CHOICE
24 May 2014
By
, WALES
"not had long enough to rate Reliability or Performance hence no overall rating, short use so far - best petrol cutter had so far, reasonably light - don't think you can get any lighter to be honest, good depth of teeth/cut capacity- rotation of handle excellent idea, fumes from engine nothing compared to previous petrol cutters I've had- would recommend"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dog's doodaas
29 Apr 2014
By
, Sopley
"Only just bought this. Used it for 3 days x 4 hrs /day continuously to clear my overgrown jungle garden so bit of a short term review.
-Starts first time every time.
- Reasonably light
- Used in pouring rain yesterday so good thing I didn't choose electric.
- Actually got it to cut up to 40mm diameter branches (resinous pine so not hardwood).
- One minor negative point: On/off switch is in EXACTLY the wrong place to ensure you turn the machine off when turning handle, moving hand to get more comfortable, changing hands, etc. Maybe it's just me...
"
Review 5 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, started on 3rd pull!
4 Apr 2014
By
, Surrey
"Having purchased a cheaper trimmer from another retailer which refused to start I opted for this one - the quality looked good and the reviews excellent. I wasn't disappointed - followed the instructions and after 3 pulls of the cord it started. The next day it started 1st time. It cuts through my leylandii hedge like a hot knife through butter. Not too heavy and feels agile. An absolute pleasure to use. I hope it continues to perform."
Review 6 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hedgetrimmer
10 Jan 2014
By
, surrey
"heavyish but well balanced machine well up to a good days work"
Review 7 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great machine for the money
7 Oct 2013
By
, Kent
"I ordered it on line and picked it up at my local store with no trouble at all. Filled it up with 50:1 2T fuel/oil mix and it started straight away. Did a large hazel hedge with it and other hedges no problem - cuts well and is easy to handle, although not the lightest of machines. That's not necessarily a bad thing as it seems to be well made and solidly constructed and the engine is quiet, idles well and runs as sweet as a nut. I can't really give an idea of reliability yet, but out of the box I'm very impressed with it for the money. The only minor points are that I found it easy to knock the choke lever over to fully choked and also accidentally knock the cut-off switch to the off position, both of which stop the engine, of course, but it's something I'm sure I'll get used to."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield MHJ2424 Hedge Trim
28 Sep 2013
By
, Lincolnshire
"Arrived next day as promised from Screwfix and all in order. Unpacked, followed set up instructions, mixed fuel oil ratio and fired it up second pull of the cord after priming. It does everything I expected and runs very well. idles fine and restarts well hot or cold almost first time every time. Makes very short work of any hedge and as long as you treat the tool with respect, oil the cutting blade and generally don't abuse the trimmer by trying to chop down too large a diameter of branch then its a good buy and performs well. 2 months in and done a great deal of work already so have to report its a good buy. Hope its the same in 3 years time !"
Review 9 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MountfieldMHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc
25 Sep 2013
By
, macclesfield
"Amazing delivery from Screwfix. Ordered 7pm and was cutting my hedge with it before noon next morning. Trimmer easy to set up and start. Works very well for its size and weight. Just need to be careful that choke hasn't been knocked into the on position which stalls engine. As previous reviewer pointed out , don't mistake the air cleaner screw for the choke. Not had long enough to comment on reliability other than good in the couple of hours I've operated it."
Review 10 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Hedge Trimmer
23 Sep 2013
By
, Hertfordshire
"Great value for money, easy to start engine which runs well and does exactly what it says on the box ... Cuts hedges."
Review 11 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Hedgetrimmer.
18 Sep 2013
By
, Norfolk
"Good product. Easy starter and a lot lighter in weight than many similar models which is important when reaching over to cut the back of a large hedge. Rotating handle is a good idea and it is easy to change from one position to another. 50:1 two stroke oil ratio makes it more economical to run than many of its competitors.
Overall a good buy and a well respected name too.
"
Review 12 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish I'd bought one years ago.
17 Sep 2013
By
, North Wales
"For years I've been either hiring or borrowing a hedgetrimmer for my bi-annual cut. Not a problem really, except for the guilt about borrowing so often. Anyway I decided to take up the offer and go for a trimmer of my own and wish that I'd done it years ago. This trimmer is much lighter than the ones I've been using making the job a lot less tiring. I'm now finding myself bringing it out to do a bit of tidying up as and when required - not something one can do when the machine is on hire for a limited period.
I'd certainly recommend this trimmer
"
Review 13 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moutfield Hedge Trimmer
9 Aug 2013
By
, West Sussex
"Outstanding little machine and such a good price. Could not get it to started so returned it - no quibble - but it was my fault as I had failed to find the choke using instead the air filter opening catch!!. However having reread the manual the new machine is great - no problems and does the job"
Review 14 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fantastic tool
12 Jul 2013
By
, Edinburgh
"I do not normally write reviews but I ordered this product yesterday at 4pm. It arrived this morning first thing. I also ordered a 2-stroke mixer bottle, some 2-stroke fuel and a funnel. Within 15 minutes - and after reading the instructions - I had this marvellous piece of equipment humming perfectly. I have used electric cutters for years and this one has put them all to shame, it went through the hedge like the proverbial knife through butter; in a fraction of the time it took me to struggle with my old electric cutters. I should have got one of these years ago. It's cuts through small branches up to an inch thick! In short, it has made hedge cutting a pleasure! The only advice I would give is to open the choke half way, make sure the engine is primed as per the instructions and away you go. I had to keep the choke open a touch to get the cutting blades going at first. The 3 way handle is a dream and the device is not heavy. You find yourself going through cycles of cutting, stopping and then cleaning up anyway so if you really needed a break you get one! All in all, I heartily recommend this product."
Review 15 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good
24 Jun 2013
By
, Crawley
"I brought this after reading the reviews and i must say it went through bush like butter!
I cut a 100ft blackthrone hedge at 7ft and had no issues.
The sideways handle rotation is perfect for vertical cutting!!
Great tool, Great price!!!"
Review 16 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield hedge trimmer MHJ24
12 Jun 2013
By
, Gloucestershire
"This hedge trimmer was more powerful than I expected. Easy to start, cuts well, easy to follow instructions. It also has a long blade which makes it easy to keep hedge sides straight.
Not too heavy easy to handle!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Good Powerful Hedge Cutter
24 May 2013
By
, South Cheshire
"I have always owned an electric hedge cutter which has served me very well, until my last property development project forced me to re-think my position ... Faced with 250+ metres of overgrown beech hedge with an average branch size of 2.5cm I attempted the impossible cut with my electric trimmer and failed totally, having trimmed less than a metre down to size in over 45 minutes and with the electric trimmer motor glowing hot in my hand ... I clearly needed something more powerful to tackle this job, but also something not too expensive either as I don't use hedge cutters on a daily basis at work ... So I opted for this the cheapest model on offer ... It arrived the next day well packaged and with full clear instructions, It is very lightweight for such a long cutter (In fact my old electric cutter feels heavier than this one does) ... filled it with two-stroke fuel, pumped the primer, opened the choke and pulled the starter handle just once and it burst into life ... (very easy pull start motion) ... A minute later and with the choke now closed I was ready to tackle the beech hedge again ... squeezed the trigger too full power (for such a size of engine it is very quiet at working speed) I introduced the blades to the beech branches expecting to have to put in some effort to get the job done ... How wrong I was. the blades made short work of everything in their path. I was able to hold the cutter at a set level and just walk at a normal pace along the hedge, watching the cut branches fall to the ground behind me ... Not once did the engine labour during use despite the average branch being around the 2.5cm mark ... I was able to cut the whole hedge (250+ metres) in just three sweeps (top first followed by each of the sides) ... It took in total just under two hours, and used two full tanks of fuel (approx. 1.5ltr) I also found the rotating rear handle very useful and quick to change when changing cut from horizontal to vertical ... All in all one of the best purchases I have made in a long while (and I paid the full £129.99 at the time) ... I can't comment on the long term reliability of this cutter obviously ... but it has certainly exceeded my expectations and impressed me in every way with its performance so far ... I'm very happy with my purchase it leaves a great finish, and I'm glad I opted for this model, it is just superb."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding
17 Sep 2012
By
, West Dorset
"I must admit that I was a bit sceptical that the Moutfield hedge trimmer would be as good as the reviews suggested but they proved to be accurate. This machine is a dream, it starts every time and it performs brilliantly. I have a strimmer and a chainsaw made by Stihl and by comparison this Mountfield is way easier to start.
Thanks Scewfix - great product at a fantastic price and super-fast delivery too.
"
Review 19 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good bit of kit
16 Sep 2012
By
, stoke on ttrent
"i have only used it twice since i purchased it but it seems good it does the job i want it to do and seems very good quality.it was easy to set up and use not too heavy so hopefully will keep me going for years to come."
Review 20 for Mountfield MHJ2424 61cm 24.5cc 1.1hp Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant
3 Sep 2012
By
, Spalding
"After numerous electric hedge trimmers packing up when trimming my conifers, i decided to try petrol, much more powerful and easy to use.
Starts from cold after a couple of pulls and starts on first pull once warmed up, should of got one years ago.
This is a good robust quality machine.
"
Page : 1 2 3 4 next>