Product Reviews

For removing mortar from joints without damaging masonry. Outlasts up to 150 abrasive discs. For 115mm and 125mm angle grinders.

For removing mortar from joints without damaging masonry. Outlasts up to 150 abrasive discs. For 115mm and 125mm angle grinders.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
4 of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Erbauer Mortar Rake Soft/Abrasive 115 x 22.23mm
Review 1 for Erbauer Mortar Rake Soft/Abrasive 115 x 22.23mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly Recommended
14 Jun 2012
By PeterMc
, Dorset
"There are a number of different tools available for raking out mortar; I chose this one over the others as I guessed that it would be the easiest to control in a straight line, and would offer least risk to damaging the brick.
As I haven't tried any of the other offerings, I can't make a comparison, but I can tell you that this one performed well. Extremely well, in both the horizontal courses and vertical joins.
The disk width is only 4.5 mm, so you can clear through the centre of the course, with no risk of colliding with the brick. You'll then need two more passes - one to the top, and one to the bottom. It cuts quickly and cleanly, up and down, as well in its direction of rotation.
It's also surprisingly easy to stop at the brick edge, rather than go ploughing into it.
I cleared approximately 25 sq ft of brickwork (in around 60 mins), and the disk was as fresh when I finished as it was when I started.
A couple of final points; - don't skimp on the PPE, and DON'T underestimate the mess you'll make!!"
Review 2 for Erbauer Mortar Rake Soft/Abrasive 115 x 22.23mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant!
8 Jun 2012
By Gazooks
, Essex
"Been caught out buying cheaper blades before but this blade performs just as well as the more expensive ones available. Used this one all day on soft reds with very hard mortar and showed no signs of wear whatsoever! Save your money and buy this one. Excellent!"
Review 3 for Erbauer Mortar Rake Soft/Abrasive 115 x 22.23mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good blades
14 Jul 2011
By jackofalltrades
, Cheshire
"Mortar raking hand made bricks. The equivelant super expensive Norton blade would have proved too thick. Started the job with cheap diamond blades. This one cuts quicker and lasts about 6 times longer!"
Review 4 for Erbauer Mortar Rake Soft/Abrasive 115 x 22.23mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average!
3 Oct 2013
By Screwboy
, Northumberland
"I have used two of these on a pointing job. They are excellent for old lime mortar but don't last long with anything harder."
Review 5 for Erbauer Mortar Rake Soft/Abrasive 115 x 22.23mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor Durability
25 Oct 2012
By DavidL
, South Oxfordshire
"Performs efficiently but does not last more than 20 times conventional disc even on soft mortar and probably nearer 10 times life so not an economic proposition. Mine lasted perhaps 6 hours mostly on really soft mortar. Stick with conventional discs. I have worn out two angle grinders so should know."
Review 6 for Erbauer Mortar Rake Soft/Abrasive 115 x 22.23mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
wears down quickly
26 Jul 2012
By philh
, Thatcham
"even on fairly old & soft mortar I was surprised how quickly this wore out. Cheaper to either use standard disc or put 2 standard blades in grinder at same time (worked for me anyway!)"
Review 7 for Erbauer Mortar Rake Soft/Abrasive 115 x 22.23mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
complete waste of money
27 May 2014
By sharks
, manchester
"I bought this mortar rake on the understanding that it would outlast upto as many as 150 standard grinding discs.
I fitted it to my grinder and began raking out mortar joints for repointing, it lasted less than 4 hours and had become completely useless.
All the diamond tips had worn away and I had to revert to using a standard masonary disc, of which I could have purchased at least 10 for the same price.
So save your money because the standard disc lasted almost as long as the mortar rake.
"
Review 8 for Erbauer Mortar Rake Soft/Abrasive 115 x 22.23mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst blade
25 May 2013
By bricky40
, east sussex
"bought this to cut out mortar joints in a patio
it lasted about 30mins cutting out approx 8sqm
joints were not even hard total rubbish
had to buy another blade to finish job
"