Product Reviews

Woodworking Vice 8"

Woodworking Vice 8"
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Review 1 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy bit of kit
30 Apr 2014
By samjack26
, Bethesda North Wales
" Excellent value for money very sturdy vice ideal for DIY use.
Would recommend this vice to all.
"
Review 2 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
woodworking vice
16 Dec 2012
By spider123
, Norwich
" Great value for money, I'm not a pro so will not get a vast amount of use. Ideal for DIY "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not my only vice!
5 Jan 2015
By HobbyWoodworker
, Croydon, Surrey
" I purchased 2 of these vices in order to secure longer work pieces on my bench. Fitted the vices along with the jaw chops without any problems and have used them both. One of the vices is smoother than the other but as I bought them both on offer, 2 for less than the correct price of 1 I am not moaning! On the contrary they seem to be a really great value for money acquisition, the features are basic but I would definitely recommend the vices, a good solid bit of kit. Hard to comment on reliability as I haven't had them long enough to judge. "
Review 4 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid well made vice
28 Aug 2014
By JONKED
, Hamilton
" Not used much so far but what I have done it functions as I would expect "
Review 5 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid and simple
21 Aug 2014
By Dickens
, Berkshire
" Robust piece of equipment, just right for DIY jobs and probably more demanding use.
A great buy at the offer price.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Seems ok
23 Jun 2014
By Tedwardian
, Sussex
" front plate has got a bit of a wobble on it, unsure if this is typical of this kind of product. Holes and lugs in the right place, cant complain "
Review 7 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap & functional
2 Dec 2013
By adpsimpson
, Belfast
" Not great, the jaws don't stay parallel under load either way (across or up-and-down), and there's no quick release, but it's cheap. For the price, it's fine - case of you get what you pay for. "
Review 8 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Woodworking vice
10 Sep 2013
By DrWood
, Northumberland
" Wanted a woodworking vice for a new bench that I had built, could not justify the expense of a Record vice so opted for the Forge Steel 8". Probably the only criticism I have is its top face to bottom face size, this is not that big, so I had to remove a considerable section from the bench's support rail to accommodate the attaching lugs. To compensate for this potential weakening of the bench I used a block of thick timber screwed& glued to the rail and the underside of the bench. That apart I have no qualms in recommending it, the big plus is the width the jaws open which I have used some 13mm oak flooring to face. "
Review 9 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bench vice
1 Jul 2011
By Jocke
, Birmingham
" What can you say about a vice? It works! and is good value for the money. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Forge Steel Woodworking Vice 8"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A vice that won't close!
7 Mar 2012
By lendeadneck
, Cumbria
" I bought one of these and the 2 jaws were so far out of alignment that the handle wouldn't turn! One of the bars the moveable jaw slides on was several degrees out of perpendicular. I always thought that Forge Steel were a reputable company but their quality control is obviously non-existent. Screwfix responded immediately and I am awaiting my replacement vice - I hope the quality of this one is somewhat better. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.