Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

5Ltr. For protecting and enhancing the beauty of all types of timber decking. 24 hour drying time. Covers approx. 6m²/Ltr.

5Ltr. For protecting and enhancing the beauty of all types of timber decking. 24 hour drying time. Covers approx. 6m²/Ltr.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 of 25(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Review 1 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
no nonsense decking oil - oak
18 Aug 2014
By Yiddo70
, Maidstone, Kent.
"To be honest, I was a little dubious about this product, given the cost versus the better known branded oils......, but what can I say 'brilliant!!!!'. It comes out the can a little thinner than I'd imagined, but the coverage is excellent (done a 6 x 5 metre decking and some to spare) and the finish looks great. It rained not long after I applied the oil and the rain just beaded up straight away and run straight of the boards....like I said 'brilliant!!!' I applied it with a decking roller and completed the whole job in a couple of hours...simple. I would definitely recommend this product to friends and family, the only reason I've not given it 5/5 on the performance and reliability, is that its only been down a few days, so too early to tell, but....great product Screwfix!!!!"
Review 2 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DECK OIL
7 Aug 2014
By MOVER
, SEAHAM
"SUPERB SOAKS IN WELL AND IS TOUCH DRY IN MINUTES AND CAN BE WALKED ON"
Review 3 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Duck stain
31 Jul 2014
By evsy
, maesteg
"The race was on to get our new decking stained and sealed before the anticipated rain arrived.
We bought screwfix no nonsense decking oil and applied one generous coat early in the morning, we returned home and it was dry and sure enough the next morning it rained and we were amazed to see the droplets of water on the decking just like water off a ducks back !
We would recommend this product, very pleased.
"
Review 4 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
proper gear
19 May 2014
By teepot
, Birmingham City
"used this decking oil for first time was surprised how much coverage was in one tin...went on easy and top price....."
Review 5 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value - ideal for decks
9 May 2014
By ADM1
, Gloucesterhire
"Bought this for several large decks and handrails. Wood hadn't been treated for a couple of years so pressure washed to remove algae etc then applied with a 4" brush. Great coverage, good color and fantastic protection - will buy next year too!"
Review 6 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant deck oil
8 May 2014
By fazman
, Dunfermline
"I used this deck oil 6 weeks ago on 1 year old deck and it looks great .
Water just sits on it and is very protective.
It is messy like other oils but has low odour
Bargain price too.
"
Review 7 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value Deck Oil
19 Mar 2014
By BilgeRat2
, Staines
"Dries to an even, light brown colour (oak) and penetrates well into the wood. Coverage is good, I applied with an old 4" paint brush, my deck is over 15m square and I got two coats with some to spare. I had doubts if I enough for the job but the second coat went much further than the first. A strong odour when applied this goes once dry. Some light rain a couple of days after application just beaded on the surface so it's working well, lets see how it lasts the summer."
Review 8 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decking oil
5 Sep 2013
By scorpiodave
, Lichfield, Staffs
"Needed to do something with my decking after disastrous performance of a brand name decking stain went flaky and peeled off in places. Read on a forum that should use decking oil not stain so tried this as opposed to brand names costing twice as much.I complety sanded down the decking and then applied 2 coats of this. It went on easily and was ready for second coat after about 4 hours.It is quite thin in consistency so be aware if you use a brush it will flick everywhere so protect any areas you need not to cover.My only criticism of Screwfix is that there is no clue to the actual colour of each in the range.Other brands do try to give some clue to the finish. This oak is actually a mid oak and is rather a sort of coffee colour and looks ok. If my decking was newly laid I would have gone for the clear oil."
Review 9 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Nonsense Decking oil Oak
5 Aug 2013
By diyhousewife
, Maidstone
"Did new decking with this yesterday and I am really pleased with it. Have only used one coat and the colour is lovely dry's lighter than it looks as you are applying so don't worry if it seems dark at first. We have had a downpour today and the water is in little beads as it runs off so it is not penetrating the wood I love the colour it is now so if necessary would do second or future coats in a clear finish. Others have said that oil quality is not good and appears to be more spirit based I beg to differ. Although not as thick in consistency as more expense Dutch oils etc. It has done as good a job. Really, Really pleased with price and quality of this product. Tried to put on with one of the long handled brushes for the job but ended up using a paint brush as I thought it was wasting to much of the product doing it that way as it is very liquid. To my surprise the product went a very long way our decking is 8 meters by 21/2 metres plus rails and sides and legs and I still have some left and I was putting it on very generously. It is a soak in not a sit on product. Defiantly will be buying this again"
Review 10 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used on my fence
8 Jun 2013
By Par151
, Warwickshire
"To coin a phrase does what it says, I used it on my shed and fence, the wood sucked it up and the staining provided an even colour with one coat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Oil!
25 Mar 2013
By philandsan
, Somerset
"Excellent coverage, lovely colour (the oak) and very easy to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No nonsense decking oil
15 Jun 2012
By Cockerchumps
, Runcorn
"Real good value for money, 50% cheaper than ronseal and similar"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
decking oil
1 Apr 2012
By RoseR
, Central Scotland
"No nonsense decking oil is an excellent product, good value for money, with a range of colours. This is the second year I have used it, performs well."
Review 14 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Proper Stuff
15 Sep 2011
By DJDave
, Nottingham
"Spirit based not water based which I don't rate as suitable for use on timber! especially in a horizontal situation. Shame you seemed to have withrawn it from your latest catalogue but glad I brought an extra tin for maintenance!"
Review 15 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No nonsense deck oil
22 Aug 2011
By LMH1
, St Andrews Fife
"First class easy to apply good stain.Have used before and will use again no competition at this price."
Review 16 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality product
17 Jul 2014
By superdee1893
, Dundee
"I bought this item when i decided to freshen up my decking ...after looking around and seeing previous reviews for this item , i decided to purchase.It was very reasonably priced and was ready for collection when i reserved the item.It covered a good area and was easy to apply . It dried quickly and when the next time it rained you saw that it seemed to have worked as there was beaded rain droplets on the wood. My only criticism was that it tends to make a mess when you pour into a container as it is a screw top that opens on the top ....well worth the price and i would definitely buy again"
Review 17 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value
16 Jul 2014
By crazyworkaholic
, oldham
"great product and a great price it does the job as well as any other"
Review 18 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decking Oil - Oak
7 Jun 2014
By Resmat
, Ilkley, Yorkshire
"Went on very well, and initially used a combination of a roller and brush; though this was taking ages. I then used an old five litre garden spray and this proved much better and quicker. The fluid is very thin and this does help absorption, my decking was very dry and not been protected for years. It does need another coat and I will have to buy another five litre can. Coverage was about six square metre per five litre tin, though I am expecting the second coat to use less. Overall, much better than the 'water based' products and has left a lovely finish to the timber."
Review 19 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No Nonsense Deck Oil
19 Sep 2013
By blackknight
, Suffolk
"I have up to now only used preservatives on my decking, this year I applied a presevative followed by the No Nonsense Deck Oil.
The coverage was very good and the finish was very acceptable, rainwater just lay on the surface which gave me the confidence that a good shield had been achieved, It is too early to comment on the long term protection, but if it achieves a couple of year I will be well impressed.
"
Review 20 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin
19 Sep 2012
By statusmick
, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
"Great value for money ,just as good as other products out there,does what it says on the tin"
Page : 1 2 next>