Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

5Ltr. For protecting and enhancing the beauty of all types of timber decking. 24 hour drying time. Covers approx. 6m²/Ltr.

5Ltr. For protecting and enhancing the beauty of all types of timber decking. 24 hour drying time. Covers approx. 6m²/Ltr.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Review 1 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value Deck Oil
19 Mar 2014
By BilgeRat2
, Staines
"Dries to an even, light brown colour (oak) and penetrates well into the wood. Coverage is good, I applied with an old 4" paint brush, my deck is over 15m square and I got two coats with some to spare. I had doubts if I enough for the job but the second coat went much further than the first. A strong odour when applied this goes once dry. Some light rain a couple of days after application just beaded on the surface so it's working well, lets see how it lasts the summer."
Review 2 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decking oil
5 Sep 2013
By scorpiodave
, Lichfield, Staffs
"Needed to do something with my decking after disastrous performance of a brand name decking stain went flaky and peeled off in places. Read on a forum that should use decking oil not stain so tried this as opposed to brand names costing twice as much.I complety sanded down the decking and then applied 2 coats of this. It went on easily and was ready for second coat after about 4 hours.It is quite thin in consistency so be aware if you use a brush it will flick everywhere so protect any areas you need not to cover.My only criticism of Screwfix is that there is no clue to the actual colour of each in the range.Other brands do try to give some clue to the finish. This oak is actually a mid oak and is rather a sort of coffee colour and looks ok. If my decking was newly laid I would have gone for the clear oil."
Review 3 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Nonsense Decking oil Oak
5 Aug 2013
By diyhousewife
, Maidstone
"Did new decking with this yesterday and I am really pleased with it. Have only used one coat and the colour is lovely dry's lighter than it looks as you are applying so don't worry if it seems dark at first. We have had a downpour today and the water is in little beads as it runs off so it is not penetrating the wood I love the colour it is now so if necessary would do second or future coats in a clear finish. Others have said that oil quality is not good and appears to be more spirit based I beg to differ. Although not as thick in consistency as more expense Dutch oils etc. It has done as good a job. Really, Really pleased with price and quality of this product. Tried to put on with one of the long handled brushes for the job but ended up using a paint brush as I thought it was wasting to much of the product doing it that way as it is very liquid. To my surprise the product went a very long way our decking is 8 meters by 21/2 metres plus rails and sides and legs and I still have some left and I was putting it on very generously. It is a soak in not a sit on product. Defiantly will be buying this again"
Review 4 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used on my fence
8 Jun 2013
By Par151
, Warwickshire
"To coin a phrase does what it says, I used it on my shed and fence, the wood sucked it up and the staining provided an even colour with one coat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Oil!
25 Mar 2013
By philandsan
, Somerset
"Excellent coverage, lovely colour (the oak) and very easy to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No nonsense decking oil
15 Jun 2012
By Cockerchumps
, Runcorn
"Real good value for money, 50% cheaper than ronseal and similar"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
decking oil
1 Apr 2012
By RoseR
, Central Scotland
"No nonsense decking oil is an excellent product, good value for money, with a range of colours. This is the second year I have used it, performs well."
Review 8 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Proper Stuff
15 Sep 2011
By DJDave
, Nottingham
"Spirit based not water based which I don't rate as suitable for use on timber! especially in a horizontal situation. Shame you seemed to have withrawn it from your latest catalogue but glad I brought an extra tin for maintenance!"
Review 9 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No nonsense deck oil
22 Aug 2011
By LMH1
, St Andrews Fife
"First class easy to apply good stain.Have used before and will use again no competition at this price."
Review 10 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No Nonsense Deck Oil
19 Sep 2013
By blackknight
, Suffolk
"I have up to now only used preservatives on my decking, this year I applied a presevative followed by the No Nonsense Deck Oil.
The coverage was very good and the finish was very acceptable, rainwater just lay on the surface which gave me the confidence that a good shield had been achieved, It is too early to comment on the long term protection, but if it achieves a couple of year I will be well impressed.
"
Review 11 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin
19 Sep 2012
By statusmick
, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
"Great value for money ,just as good as other products out there,does what it says on the tin"
Review 12 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oil used for decking
8 Sep 2012
By rockey
, Stevenage
"Oil has got so expensive. Used this and it soaked well into the wood.
Does smell quite strong whilst drying.
Done it during evening and by morning had dried enough.
Applied it to the decking with a cheap floor brush.
"
Review 13 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great, especially for the pric
28 Oct 2011
By mellie
, Scarborough
"I was a bit dubious with this being half the price of most well known oils, I have to admit so far its great, the colour is nice too and goes on evenly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bit dissapointed
23 Aug 2013
By chesh
, devon
"not impressed by the end result,should have paid a bit extra for the cuprinol."
Review 15 for No Nonsense Timber Decking Oil Oak 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
False Advertising
28 Aug 2013
By DDderby
, Derby
"Although the product itself seems ok, please be careful as it is advertised by screwfix that the coverage is approx 6m square per litre. This is clearly not the case. On the tin it says it covers between 4-6 M square per 5 ltr tin.
The real coverage is between 1-1.2 M square.
"