Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter

Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
23 of 28(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Review 1 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compact and good quality
9 May 2015
By Marc288
, Yeovil
" This is a very sturdy product that comes in a hard case. One of the plastic bits I didn't need did snap off when I accidentally stept on the cutter. Would by again though as it cuts perfectly well, even when taking off tiny strips off tiles. "
Review 2 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy piece of kit
8 May 2015
By MrMakeGood
, North London
" If you're looking for an easy to transport tile cutter, this is the one for you. It comes in a nice plastic case with a handle which makes it easy to pack away without damaging anything around it. Has served me well so far. "
Review 3 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tile cutter
20 Apr 2015
By sparkalot
, Lincolnshire
" Needed a good tile cutter for my bathroom refurbishment. Not the cheapest and not the most expensive, but did the job very well. Used it for cutting 500mm ceramic tiles which made the whole process easy and effortless. I would thoughly recommend this tool, a professional job for a tiling amateur. "
Review 4 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect tile cutter
15 Jan 2015
By RSV4Andy
, Huddersfield
" Having used and purchased numerous tile cutters previously this is by far the best tile cutter I have used both manual and motorised. Only one critizisem it wont cut 600mm tiles lengthways other than that one score and click and your tile is cut with a nice neat crisp edge. "
Review 5 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top quallity
25 Aug 2014
By seniorminnion
, newcastle
" had numerous star cutters over the years ( different sizes - they last forever ) and I realise they're expensive - but you get what you pay for. For the DIYer or tradesman - its a great piece of kit ( good case too) - will have to remember to look after this one a little better -- ie clean it after use and it'll last you a lifetime! "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
9 Oct 2013
By ronchas
, Blyth Northumberland
" Looked all over for reviews of a tile cutter to do 450mm tile, found this one great for the diy jobber.Needs to be on a sturdy bench/table.Only a slight drawback it could do with a bit more support at the side to avoid the tiles tipping when measuring.Appart from that i cant fault it. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
great tile cutter
24 Mar 2013
By minitin
, kettering
" Brought this tile cutter to lay 2 x bathroom floor tiles was superb cut brilliant and also light so easy to handle. havent had it long so cant really comment on the reliability of it but I think it will stand the test of time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good overall cutter
28 Dec 2012
By taty
, exeter
" Needed to replace my old tile cutter for a large tilling job just before Xmas. Decided on the Rubi brought extra gold cutting wheels as a precaution in case tile's wore the wheel quickly, no problem there. I work with my daughter and she felt very confident working with it even with small cuts. Great kit. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
11 Jul 2012
By HandyJoiner
, Pontefract
" After a lot of sheaching of the screwfix catalogue I decided on the Rubi.
I needed the larger model for cutting bigger tiles but with 20% off it helped on the wallet anyway when I first used it I couldn't have been more pleased, it cuts straight, true and without any effort at all, it was very easy to use compared to my £25 Plasplug model, I must say it's far far superior but well worth the extra money.
What can I say should have got one years ago.
"
Review 10 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just Superb
1 Apr 2012
By Thaicurrymad
, Rotherham
" Although I do have an electric wet tile cutter which is fine it can also be a little slow and I wanted something I could rely on for doing the quick straight line cuts needed in most situations. I went with other reviews on this and I have to say so far I am absolutely delighted with the Rubi, well made and accurate. Just one run with the blade and the tile cuts perfectly saving time and effort. Worked perfectly straight from the box and comes with a nice firm and tidy plastic box to store it in. I now use the electric cutter only for angles and am more than happy with my purchase. For an occasional tiler absolutely perfect. "
Review 11 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rubi tile cutter
25 Sep 2011
By Bram
, Cheshire
" Very well made does a great job,bit pricey but worth it. "
Review 12 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good purchase
5 Nov 2009
By Raythechippy
, Lincoln
" Having used the cheaper manual cutters and an electric tile saw in the past. I came across some tiles that neither of my usual tools could cut. Purchased this and it solved my problems.
I would recommend this to anyone who does tiling as I do, on the odd occasion it will do exactly what it says it will do. I am not a tiler I am a joiner so it suits my purposes fine.
"
Review 13 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tile Cutter
4 Apr 2009
By myrddin
, Surrey
" I bought this when tiling a shower room as my old tile cutter was well past it's use by date. It was a bog standard cutter from one of the big DIY shops and was a bit iffy on accuracy of cut and snapping clean, so I decided to treat myself and get something good. Rubi has a good name so I went for this cutter. It's had quite a bit of use on the shower room and all I can say is that it's been worth every penny. It is 100% accurate and snaps completely clean, even on thin cuts that other cutters wouldn't manage to snap clean, which is probably down to the design of the snapping bracket. It makes cutting really easy. The cutting blade is adjustable for height and thickness of tiles, which is great, just remember to keep the handle tightened up to hold the cutting blade in place. Excellent tool and so easy to use. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It cuts tiles...
14 Apr 2015
By BB76
, Epping
" Bought this 6 months ago and have used on a number of jobs, and have just bought it again after I had it stolen.
Clean cut and easy to use, but the ruler on both cutters was very flimsy, and about 2.5mm out, so never used it.
Comes in a strong case.
"
Review 15 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rubi Star 50N
16 Mar 2015
By tinbasher
, Leicester
" First attempt at tiling this weekend - I'd underestimated the amount of cutting I needed to do and my wet cutter wasn't up to it. Some quick research and a look at the reviews on here led me to this cutter and I can't say I'm disappointed. Very easy to use, did 50ish cuts (10mm porcelain tile) with only one small chip. More expensive than a cheapo one but I expect it to last well. Comes with a very sturdy carry case as well. "
Review 16 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good machine
16 Jan 2015
By Arcticson
, Aberdeen
" I was dreading tiling the shower... and was considering a tile saw to get clean cuts near the ceiling but on balance decided on a manual, less messy machine. Ruby seems to get good reviews and you can change the adjustable cutting wheel. Job done - great straight cuts. the plastic support is not great but put two 3mm chips on each side of the tile to keep it steady. Remove these before you break off the cut. Ok for cutting a 15mm strip as well. "
Review 17 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really easy to use
24 Nov 2014
By WelshMikeA
, Cardiff
" Just spent five days solid tiling a wet room. Needed a new cutter as my old one had failed and chose this one because of the reviews. It has been excellent. Nice sideways support for the wider tiles. Very easy to make a quick accurate cut. I didn't have a single failed cut at all. "
Review 18 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Realisable tile cutter
10 Oct 2014
By Glenboy
, Barnsley
" This tile cutter is child's play to use meaning anyone can use straight away. The cutting wheel can be inter changed for thicker tiles. Cuts are smooth and clean. Comes in a handy carry case. "
Review 19 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reasonable cutter
8 Aug 2013
By Meeee
, Luton
" The tiles chipped a bit when cut but this could have been the tiles. I had to remove the black triangular plastic piece as this made the measurements 2mm out. The box is handy, stops me losing the cutting wheel. "
Review 20 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great tool
21 May 2013
By rea142
, Epsom
" read the reviews and looked at the alternatives this was highly recommended.
Cuts cleanly and I was able to take very narrow strips off the sides of tiles without errors or broken tiles.
definitely worth the money
"
Page : 1 2 next>