Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter

Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
16 of 19(84%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Review 1 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top quallity
25 Aug 2014
By seniorminnion
, newcastle
" had numerous star cutters over the years ( different sizes - they last forever ) and I realise they're expensive - but you get what you pay for. For the DIYer or tradesman - its a great piece of kit ( good case too) - will have to remember to look after this one a little better -- ie clean it after use and it'll last you a lifetime! "
Review 2 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
9 Oct 2013
By ronchas
, Blyth Northumberland
" Looked all over for reviews of a tile cutter to do 450mm tile, found this one great for the diy jobber.Needs to be on a sturdy bench/table.Only a slight drawback it could do with a bit more support at the side to avoid the tiles tipping when measuring.Appart from that i cant fault it. "
Review 3 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
great tile cutter
24 Mar 2013
By minitin
, kettering
" Brought this tile cutter to lay 2 x bathroom floor tiles was superb cut brilliant and also light so easy to handle. havent had it long so cant really comment on the reliability of it but I think it will stand the test of time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good overall cutter
28 Dec 2012
By taty
, exeter
" Needed to replace my old tile cutter for a large tilling job just before Xmas. Decided on the Rubi brought extra gold cutting wheels as a precaution in case tile's wore the wheel quickly, no problem there. I work with my daughter and she felt very confident working with it even with small cuts. Great kit. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
11 Jul 2012
By HandyJoiner
, Pontefract
" After a lot of sheaching of the screwfix catalogue I decided on the Rubi.
I needed the larger model for cutting bigger tiles but with 20% off it helped on the wallet anyway when I first used it I couldn't have been more pleased, it cuts straight, true and without any effort at all, it was very easy to use compared to my £25 Plasplug model, I must say it's far far superior but well worth the extra money.
What can I say should have got one years ago.
"
Review 6 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just Superb
1 Apr 2012
By Thaicurrymad
, Rotherham
" Although I do have an electric wet tile cutter which is fine it can also be a little slow and I wanted something I could rely on for doing the quick straight line cuts needed in most situations. I went with other reviews on this and I have to say so far I am absolutely delighted with the Rubi, well made and accurate. Just one run with the blade and the tile cuts perfectly saving time and effort. Worked perfectly straight from the box and comes with a nice firm and tidy plastic box to store it in. I now use the electric cutter only for angles and am more than happy with my purchase. For an occasional tiler absolutely perfect. "
Review 7 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rubi tile cutter
25 Sep 2011
By Bram
, Cheshire
" Very well made does a great job,bit pricey but worth it. "
Review 8 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good purchase
5 Nov 2009
By Raythechippy
, Lincoln
" Having used the cheaper manual cutters and an electric tile saw in the past. I came across some tiles that neither of my usual tools could cut. Purchased this and it solved my problems.
I would recommend this to anyone who does tiling as I do, on the odd occasion it will do exactly what it says it will do. I am not a tiler I am a joiner so it suits my purposes fine.
"
Review 9 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tile Cutter
4 Apr 2009
By myrddin
, Surrey
" I bought this when tiling a shower room as my old tile cutter was well past it's use by date. It was a bog standard cutter from one of the big DIY shops and was a bit iffy on accuracy of cut and snapping clean, so I decided to treat myself and get something good. Rubi has a good name so I went for this cutter. It's had quite a bit of use on the shower room and all I can say is that it's been worth every penny. It is 100% accurate and snaps completely clean, even on thin cuts that other cutters wouldn't manage to snap clean, which is probably down to the design of the snapping bracket. It makes cutting really easy. The cutting blade is adjustable for height and thickness of tiles, which is great, just remember to keep the handle tightened up to hold the cutting blade in place. Excellent tool and so easy to use. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really easy to use
24 Nov 2014
By WelshMikeA
, Cardiff
" Just spent five days solid tiling a wet room. Needed a new cutter as my old one had failed and chose this one because of the reviews. It has been excellent. Nice sideways support for the wider tiles. Very easy to make a quick accurate cut. I didn't have a single failed cut at all. "
Review 11 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Realisable tile cutter
10 Oct 2014
By Glenboy
, Barnsley
" This tile cutter is child's play to use meaning anyone can use straight away. The cutting wheel can be inter changed for thicker tiles. Cuts are smooth and clean. Comes in a handy carry case. "
Review 12 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reasonable cutter
8 Aug 2013
By Meeee
, Luton
" The tiles chipped a bit when cut but this could have been the tiles. I had to remove the black triangular plastic piece as this made the measurements 2mm out. The box is handy, stops me losing the cutting wheel. "
Review 13 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great tool
21 May 2013
By rea142
, Epsom
" read the reviews and looked at the alternatives this was highly recommended.
Cuts cleanly and I was able to take very narrow strips off the sides of tiles without errors or broken tiles.
definitely worth the money
"
Review 14 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
29 Apr 2012
By Thegrouter
, Glos'
" Very good little cutter , I'm biased as I already have 3 Rubi's , TS30 , TX 700N ,TX1200N , but I needed something light weight for a site with limited access and tiles that are 400mm.
Just tried it on some 10cm x 10cm and it cut some 10mm strips with ease.
Also a 40cm x 30cm , again , cut with ease , not surprising given the quality wheels. Look forward to trying it on porcelain. It's not a TXN but then it's not supposed to be , but for the price I'm not complaining.
"
Review 15 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value tile cutter
5 Jul 2011
By neatntidy
, London
" This cuts tiles beautifully with only the lightest pressure on the wheel. If you push too hard the surface glaze will crack and chip. This mistake is easily done if you are used to a cheap tile cutter. I have previously used the RUBI pro tile cutter borrowed off a good mate which convinced me RUBI is simply the best. This model is not as solidly built as the pro model and is not quite as smooth in operation but is great value for the money. If you are tiling 5 days a week get the pro, if not get this. Hope this review helps ;-) "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good purchase
13 Jun 2010
By Kitchenfitters
, Northants
" I brought this as an upgrade for my old cutter and also as I needed the extra length of cut for a job I was doing, not looked back since buying this, good clean cuts and up to yet has cut every type of tile I have come across. "
Review 17 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average cutter
29 Mar 2013
By HandyHarper
, Hertfordshire
" Cutter is well made and sturdy. The only flimsy part is the plastic removable measuring rod. The disappointing aspect is the actual cut. Only used so far on wall tiles but quite a bit of 'chipping' incurred. Even after experimenting with different pressures.
It's adequate functionally but (I know you are not suppose to mention price) in relation to the price paid very disappointing.
An average piece of kit which I would expect to pay a lot less for
"
Review 18 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Poor value
30 Oct 2011
By ItsAllTooMuch
, London
" Bought this to to do the the splash back in my kitchen - thin 10x30 ceramic. Though its a bit flimsy it coped OK with these, but did struggle a bit with long thin cuts close to the edge, as I recall. Recently hoped to use it for the bathroom, to cut 300x600x10mm porcelain tiles (though only the short dimension, obviously). These tiles it cannot cope with consistently, usually failing to make the full length of the 300mm cut, and often with chips along the cut.
Gave up and bought a Big Clinker for not much more, which is superior in every respect. Its big an solid, cuts beautiful clean straight lines, and whats more can do up to 600mm cuts.
I think Rubi are trading on their name. This is a entry level cutter with a very basic and ineffective breaking platform, at a not so basic price. "
Review 19 for Rubi Star 50N Plus Tile Cutter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
never rubi again
15 Mar 2009
By withoutadoubt
, west lothian
" I bought this tile cutter because everyone said rubi was the best. It has been the worst cutter I have ever used and now sits in my van taking up space as a reserve cutter. A complete waste of money. "
1 of 8 people found this review helpful.