Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Steel construction. Suitable for commercial and domestic use.

Steel construction. Suitable for commercial and domestic use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 18" High Velocity Floor Fan Chrome
Review 1 for 18" High Velocity Floor Fan Chrome
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Fan for workshop
20 Aug 2013
By SUVM
, Surrey
"Bought this fan to have air flow and cooling in the workshop, its very powerful and the noise is not a problem. Quality is what you would expect and does not disappoint. It comes well packaged and has a decent cord length, all for a great price."
Review 2 for 18" High Velocity Floor Fan Chrome
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Fan I've Used
20 Jul 2013
By Matt123
, Nottingham
"This has to be the best fan I've ever come across, it moves an incredible amount of air and has been a life saver is the heatwave we're currently experiencing.
The only negative points about the fan are firstly, the power cord is pretty short (though you could always use an extension cord) and secondly, the fan is quite loud, especially on the highest power level. Despite that, personally, I can sleep fine with the fan on the lowest setting, which still moves more than enough air to create a pleasant, cooling draught.
I would fully recommend this fan to anyone who is sick of having fans which only seem to create a breeze in a small part of the room. This beast will blow you away, excuse the terrible pun."
Review 3 for 18" High Velocity Floor Fan Chrome
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rather impressive
18 Jul 2013
By Edmond
, London
"Cheaper fan I can find of this size, rather impressed with the volume of air it can move even at lowest settings. A bit loud when on max but it helped me survive this year's british heat.
like: rather light weight and easy to move around, powerful wind for the price
not-so-like: power cord is slightly on the short side, quite bulky when used in bedroom"
Review 4 for 18" High Velocity Floor Fan Chrome
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Velocity it sure is...!!!
11 Jul 2012
By RubbleUK
, Fareham
"Just bought 2 of these as my existing 12" pedestal fans really don't provide enough air movement. First impressions are that the fan body appears to be a little flimsy but on the flip side, that also makes it light weight and given it's a compact floor fan it's perfectly adequate unless it's going to be used on a building site where I suspect it would get damaged quite easily. For home or office use though, it's perfect, especially compared to a traditional desk or pedestal fan.
Screwfix really do need to change the description immediately as the fan is clearly not chrome, it's black painted steel with natural pressed steel blades, no chrome in sight! The cable is around 2m long BTW.
The blades are much deeper and more curved than any domestic fans I've had before which possibly explains the noise issue but I've just done a side by side comparison with this on the lowest setting and a 12" domestic fan on the highest setting side by side, and there is no comparison, this shifts way more air at the lowest setting than my other fan does on full blast!
The 120w motor is very quiet, the fan blades make all the noise but if you're wanting something that's going to move a lot of air and keep you cool during the day, this is the beastie to go for. 120w may not be as energy efficient as a desk fan (my pedestal fans are rated at 55w) but I suspect this moves a lot more air per watt with those big scooped blades so the reality is this doesnt need to be on the fastest speed to do the same job. However, unless you're a really heavy sleeper, it's not suitable for night time use upstairs, is just too noisey.
Similar fans are £50+ in the usual DIY sheds and £40 online so to get 2 for £57 is an absolute bargain. If you're looking for a sturdy floor fan for daytime domestic or office use, look no further, for the money, this is a compete no brainer....!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18" High Velocity Floor Fan Chrome
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Powerful
23 May 2012
By fieldfest
, isle of wight
"Just unboxed this, the listing says chrome but it is as per picture and black framed with chrome blades. 3 speeds, very powerful but very noisy at high speed-fan noise not motor noise so unavoidable. motor is virtually inaudible. handle seems flimsy. very happy with this especially as was £50 down to £30. i put reliability as average as i dont know about that yet. value is 4 stars as £50 is too much but £30 is a bargain so depends what price you paid!"
Review 6 for 18" High Velocity Floor Fan Chrome
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8" High Velocity Floor Fan
28 Jul 2013
By rust
, witham essex
"Ok great fan but very noisy with not a great deal of wind , the blades are set wrong remove front cover and bend the the small end of the blade towards the back of the fan a small amount then bend the large end curve more towards you .
Now try wow what a difference
"
Review 7 for 18" High Velocity Floor Fan Chrome
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Capacity Air Fan
23 Jul 2013
By AckroydPlumbingandHeating
, Bicester
"1). The finish on the fan is good.
2). It has selectable speeds (3).
3). It can adjust from straight up to near pointing to the floor.
4). It has rubber feet that keep it planted in place when running even at full speed.
The only negative I would give it is it is a tad loud. Given the amount of air it is moving its kind of not surprising.
I purchased for decorating projects. Drying paint quicker and removing dust it has proved great. Another positive I got it just before the recent heat wave so it has been earning its value."
Review 8 for 18" High Velocity Floor Fan Chrome
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little fan
13 Jun 2012
By tomdec
, Herts
"Saw this on offer in branch at just the time i was looking to change an upright fan.
Great value and works well, I use this in the gym to keep cool
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.