Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

500ml. A superior blend of natural oils and resins that penetrate wood to nourish, feed and protect, giving a tough, durable and waterproof finish. Apply by cloth or brush to bare or previously oiled wood. Interior or exterior usage. Recoat after 6 hours.

500ml. A superior blend of natural oils and resins that penetrate wood to nourish, feed and protect, giving a tough, durable and waterproof finish. Apply by cloth or brush to bare or previously oiled wood. Interior or exterior usage. Recoat after 6 hours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Review 1 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well oiled
23 Oct 2013
By AllanM
, Glasgow
"I wanted something other than varnish to protect my new garden iroko bench slats as the originals oak ones had rotted. Having read the description and the reviews I had to give it a go. Really easy to apply and used the wire wool in between coats and what a beautiful finish. I have yet to find out how it performs against the elements but do plan to buy covers for additional protection if for no other reason than to protect the appearance. It does bring the wood up beauitifully. I am however optimistic about it's ability to protect as it soaks deep into the wood, unlike varnish."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treatment of kitchen worktop
14 Jun 2013
By JoolsW
, Newcastle upon Tyne
"Use this regularly on my natural kitchen worktop to seal and protect. Applies very well and gives a great look and presentation. Apply regularly to maintain wood."
Review 3 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danish oil
9 Dec 2012
By Kopforthis
, Widnes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Excellent product recommended by a family member and was not disappointed Goes further than you think. After oiling my oak mantle above my fire with 6 coats I still have lots left"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed
19 Oct 2012
By WWRV3
, Porthcawl
"Used this for first time on some Oak Table legs I had made as an alternative to wax. Was very pleased with the results. Follow the instructions and use a lint free cloth. Lint free car cloths 12 in a pack from ******* are good. Next time I will use fine wire wool between coats and use a dust remover before subsequent coats on furniture products. Definately a product to be tried if you have not come across it before."
Review 5 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danish Oil
1 Oct 2012
By Jim77
, Rural Lincolnshire
"I have used to Danish Oil on a pair of hardwood gates. I made the gates some 17 years ago and for the first four years I coated them with Danish Oil twice a year. Because of ill health they then only got another coat about every two to three years. It was six years since I last coated them and they looked very poor, however with a good rub down to clear lichens etc. I have once again given them another coat of Danish Oil. They have come up like new - as good as when I first made them. Danish Oil certainly has penetrated the wood and preserved the gates despite them being out in all weathers. I certainly would recommend Danish Oil for outdoor hardwood. I know of nothing better."
Review 6 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing for the job
14 Aug 2012
By Aidan
, Dundee
"The perfect thing for treating my wooden worktops."
Review 7 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colron Refined Danish Oil
10 Aug 2012
By rssllsmooth
, Harrow
"Excellent. 3 coats leaving 24hrs between. If still tacky, polish. Very pleased and everyone likes the effect."
Review 8 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff
12 Jul 2012
By Declfc
, Yeovil
"I used this on my solid oak work tops in my new kitchen about a year ago. I found it best to use old rags to apply it, then a light buff over with some wire wool between each coat. Once you have 2-3 coats on you are left with a quite hard wearing and really nice looking waterproof work surface."
Review 9 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colron Danish Oil
4 Jun 2012
By herabeblue
, Newcastle
"Have used this for a few years now on Yacht and household interiors. Have yet to find anything that is better quality or value for money. Very easy to use and to acheive excellent results. Just treated Mexicano Oak Doors and finish is as good as factory finish."
Review 10 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy!
4 Apr 2012
By DeeAyeWhy
, Edinburgh
"I really like this stuff. It's so much easier to use than a traditional varnish for example.
I'm currently using it to treat our new meranti window surrounds. Sand the wood down with a fine sandpaper; final sand with 240 grid or higher. Use a cloth like it suggests; I started off with a brush, but that's much more messy, since it's really thin. I bought some special lint free cloths which were quite dear, but they do the trick quite nicely.
Screwfix's price is very good - about three quid cheaper than one of the main DIY chains where I saw it too."
Review 11 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danger
19 Mar 2012
By erchie
, edinburgh
"This stuff is amazing, moved into a flat the ikea worktop looked dull, put this on and the worktop now looks better than new,but read the instructions and handle with care."
Review 12 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice product to use.
13 Mar 2012
By Knackeredrovers
, Canterbury
"Nice and easy to use product. Just wipes on with a clean cloth. Three coats is usually enough. You can smooth the surface before the final coat with some fine wire wool. Gives a nice satin sheen. Does smell quite strongly, not an offensive smell though - I quite like it."
Review 13 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danish Oil, a brilliant finish
17 Jul 2011
By scotsengineeer
, Edinburgh
"Danish Oil is a simple brush-on wood finish which soaks in and hardens to a natural wood colour. I used to use Linseed oil but Danish Oil is a great improvement.
Unlike varnish, Danish Oil can be added at any time without obvious edges."
Review 14 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job at a good price
23 Oct 2009
By Technoman
, Nr Hull
"Easy to apply and gives a nice finish, but pick a fine day as it takes a while to become touch-dry. Screwfix price was well below that of other stockists I tried. It's advertised as interior and exterior wood treatment and I've no reason to doubt its reliabilty or performance. Our fifteen year old garden hammock looks as nice as it's ever done."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garden furniture
14 Aug 2008
By resh
, nuneaton
"this is the best oil i ever come accross to treat garden wood furniture."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Liquid Gold
21 Nov 2013
By Kingofall
, Yeovil
"I had never heard of this before buying a solid wood block worktop, there were several reviews on other websites, the consensus being follow the instructions and it works well. This I did and am very pleased with it's performance so far, I shall have to remember to re-coat every 6 months."
Review 17 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Stuff
2 Apr 2012
By Bosunsdad
, Somerset
"Used to bring a very tatty teak garden table back to its prime. Following a good clean down this product really brought it back to life. Easily absorbed and good coverage - would definitely buy again."
Review 18 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Danish
8 Mar 2012
By pete38
, Essex
"Good quality product, that does exactly what it says on the tin!"
Review 19 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
22 Sep 2011
By lumberman
, Portsmouth
"As far as I am concerned Danish oil is an excellent finish for many wood surfaces and this works as good as any. However the screw top should be redesigned as commented by another reviewer."
Review 20 for Colron Refined Danish Oil
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Leaves quite a sheen
18 Jan 2013
By 718Spider
, London
"Unlike Danish Oil I have previously used (on my kitchen worktops) this one left quite a sheen on top of the wood, almost like a varnish. Other Danish Oil I have used has soaked completely in and just left a mild lustre, but this one gives a proper shine.
That said, it does look nice and is wearing very well.
"
Page : 1 2 next>