Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Colron Refined Danish Oil

Colron Refined Danish Oil
Average Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 31(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Review 1 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use - looks great
12 Aug 2014
By
, Bath
"I've never used Danish Oil before but it was recommended by the manufacturers of my (solid beech) worktops... and by a lot of other kitchen experts it seems. It's more like a varnish than an oil but MUCH easier to get a great finish. You can apply it with a rag but I used a good quality brush which worked extremely well and (I felt) was probably more economical than rags. I used 3 coats as recommended (2 on day 1 - and the third on day 2). The final coat needs 24 hours before use - it looks absolutely fabulous.
When you apply the first coat it seems you are going to use a LOT of product (especially on end-grain where it disappears instantly) but the second coat is much more economical and the third can be really thin. 500ml did a full 3 metre worktop (less a sink cutout). I treated both sides. Very pleased with the result. The product REALLY penetrates the wood and should give an extremely lasting finish. Water droplets just sit there.
Would recommend and will use again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Refined Oil
18 Jul 2014
By
, Portsmouth
"Not much to say about this, goes on easy and looks great. Mixed it with a little stain as it is very light when used on light wood. Nice finish"
Review 3 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use
10 Jun 2014
By
, bedford
"very easy to use and leaves no mess or drips and changes the colour of the wood to a rich colour and already the wood looks better."
Review 4 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product
19 May 2014
By
, glasgow
"I am yet to test the weathering effects, but restored my wood work back to a good finish. Took a couple of coats, but the wood was really dry and weathered. finish is great, a good product."
Review 5 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Finish
30 Apr 2014
By
, Glasgow
"Bought this to do some internal doors that had been stripped of all paint. Have now finished doing a set of walnut worktops. The finish once dry is superb and at Screwfix prices it cant be beaten"
Review 6 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well oiled
23 Oct 2013
By
, Glasgow
"I wanted something other than varnish to protect my new garden iroko bench slats as the originals oak ones had rotted. Having read the description and the reviews I had to give it a go. Really easy to apply and used the wire wool in between coats and what a beautiful finish. I have yet to find out how it performs against the elements but do plan to buy covers for additional protection if for no other reason than to protect the appearance. It does bring the wood up beauitifully. I am however optimistic about it's ability to protect as it soaks deep into the wood, unlike varnish."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treatment of kitchen worktop
14 Jun 2013
By
, Newcastle upon Tyne
"Use this regularly on my natural kitchen worktop to seal and protect. Applies very well and gives a great look and presentation. Apply regularly to maintain wood."
Review 8 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danish oil
9 Dec 2012
By
, Widnes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Excellent product recommended by a family member and was not disappointed Goes further than you think. After oiling my oak mantle above my fire with 6 coats I still have lots left"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed
19 Oct 2012
By
, Porthcawl
"Used this for first time on some Oak Table legs I had made as an alternative to wax. Was very pleased with the results. Follow the instructions and use a lint free cloth. Lint free car cloths 12 in a pack from ******* are good. Next time I will use fine wire wool between coats and use a dust remover before subsequent coats on furniture products. Definately a product to be tried if you have not come across it before."
Review 10 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danish Oil
1 Oct 2012
By
, Rural Lincolnshire
"I have used to Danish Oil on a pair of hardwood gates. I made the gates some 17 years ago and for the first four years I coated them with Danish Oil twice a year. Because of ill health they then only got another coat about every two to three years. It was six years since I last coated them and they looked very poor, however with a good rub down to clear lichens etc. I have once again given them another coat of Danish Oil. They have come up like new - as good as when I first made them. Danish Oil certainly has penetrated the wood and preserved the gates despite them being out in all weathers. I certainly would recommend Danish Oil for outdoor hardwood. I know of nothing better."
Review 11 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing for the job
14 Aug 2012
By
, Dundee
"The perfect thing for treating my wooden worktops."
Review 12 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colron Refined Danish Oil
10 Aug 2012
By
, Harrow
"Excellent. 3 coats leaving 24hrs between. If still tacky, polish. Very pleased and everyone likes the effect."
Review 13 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff
12 Jul 2012
By
, Yeovil
"I used this on my solid oak work tops in my new kitchen about a year ago. I found it best to use old rags to apply it, then a light buff over with some wire wool between each coat. Once you have 2-3 coats on you are left with a quite hard wearing and really nice looking waterproof work surface."
Review 14 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colron Danish Oil
4 Jun 2012
By
, Newcastle
"Have used this for a few years now on Yacht and household interiors. Have yet to find anything that is better quality or value for money. Very easy to use and to acheive excellent results. Just treated Mexicano Oak Doors and finish is as good as factory finish."
Review 15 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy!
4 Apr 2012
By
, Edinburgh
"I really like this stuff. It's so much easier to use than a traditional varnish for example.
I'm currently using it to treat our new meranti window surrounds. Sand the wood down with a fine sandpaper; final sand with 240 grid or higher. Use a cloth like it suggests; I started off with a brush, but that's much more messy, since it's really thin. I bought some special lint free cloths which were quite dear, but they do the trick quite nicely.
Screwfix's price is very good - about three quid cheaper than one of the main DIY chains where I saw it too."
Review 16 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danger
19 Mar 2012
By
, edinburgh
"This stuff is amazing, moved into a flat the ikea worktop looked dull, put this on and the worktop now looks better than new,but read the instructions and handle with care."
Review 17 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice product to use.
13 Mar 2012
By
, Canterbury
"Nice and easy to use product. Just wipes on with a clean cloth. Three coats is usually enough. You can smooth the surface before the final coat with some fine wire wool. Gives a nice satin sheen. Does smell quite strongly, not an offensive smell though - I quite like it."
Review 18 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danish Oil, a brilliant finish
17 Jul 2011
By
, Edinburgh
"Danish Oil is a simple brush-on wood finish which soaks in and hardens to a natural wood colour. I used to use Linseed oil but Danish Oil is a great improvement.
Unlike varnish, Danish Oil can be added at any time without obvious edges."
Review 19 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job at a good price
23 Oct 2009
By
, Nr Hull
"Easy to apply and gives a nice finish, but pick a fine day as it takes a while to become touch-dry. Screwfix price was well below that of other stockists I tried. It's advertised as interior and exterior wood treatment and I've no reason to doubt its reliabilty or performance. Our fifteen year old garden hammock looks as nice as it's ever done."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ronseal Refined Danish Oil Natural 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garden furniture
14 Aug 2008
By
, nuneaton
"this is the best oil i ever come accross to treat garden wood furniture."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>