Product Reviews

DeWalt XR Charging DAB+ Radio

DeWalt XR Charging DAB+ Radio
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for DeWalt DCR017-GB XR Li-Ion Charger / DAB+ Radio 240V
Review 1 for DeWalt DCR017-GB XR Li-Ion Charger / DAB+ Radio 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
2 May 2015
By
, Southampton
" Great product from Dewalt, worth every penny. The fact I can charge my batteries is Awesome "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DeWalt DCR017-GB XR Li-Ion Charger / DAB+ Radio 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeWalt DCR017-GB XR
3 Apr 2015
By
, mansfield notts
" Great product from dewalt, good bass and volume ,superb Screwfix price and superfast delivery "
Review 3 for DeWalt DCR017-GB XR Li-Ion Charger / DAB+ Radio 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dewalt radio
28 May 2014
By
, Lincolnshire
" Small, compact and much improved on previous analogue radio "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DeWalt DCR017-GB XR Li-Ion Charger / DAB+ Radio 240V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dropout
29 Apr 2015
By
, East London & Heets
" I bought this product a while ago and it is generally good but there is a bad reception drop out in a lot of areas probably due to the areal because mine does not tend to stay in position I have to stick it in place and add a wire to get a clear reception "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DeWalt DCR017-GB XR Li-Ion Charger / DAB+ Radio 240V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeWalt DCR017-GB XR
14 Jun 2014
By
, Kent
" I've had this radio/charger for a few days and it's been great :)
I don't write reviews normally, but I must say I've been impressed with it,
The DAB works as well as you would expect (or may be I'm in a really great reception area) I'm able to tune in to all the rock stations, Kerrang, XFM, etc.
Haven't tried the FM as analogue will be switched off soon(so I'm told but there isn't a set date yet)
So far its been running on a 18V 1.5Ah battery and has lasted for approx 5 hours over 2 days!!
The blurb says that you will get 8 hours out of a 4 Ah batt so 5 hours out of a 1.5Ah batt is better than expected!!
The aux input for a MP3 player works.
What would be nice is if the USB was flash-drive compatible, rather than plugging in a MP3 player and charging it from the USB,
But hey,I am a bit of a tech-head so if that's my only gripe then this must be a Great piece of kit :)
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DeWalt DCR017-GB XR Li-Ion Charger / DAB+ Radio 240V
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
14 Mar 2016
By
, ELLAND
" Bought this as thought it would optimise the use of my 3, 5ah battery's. However the dab is a waste of time as if your lucky to get anything it's constantly dropping out or saying no service. That's surprising when as soon as we get in the Boxer van the dab service from vehicle radio is perfect. Maybe it's the Dewalt? I'll be packing it back up and returning to Screwfix very shortly. "
Review 7 for DeWalt DCR017-GB XR Li-Ion Charger / DAB+ Radio 240V
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dab
8 Nov 2015
By
, Hampshire
" great product with lots of features.
All works great apart from the signal strength is disappointing for dab an not great on fm what's goin on Dewalt!
5 stars for reliability as all my Dewalt stuff has been spot on.
"
Review 8 for DeWalt DCR017-GB XR Li-Ion Charger / DAB+ Radio 240V
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tough beast with design flaws.
8 Dec 2014
By
, London
" Good things:
The only DAB radio I have seen with speakers big enough to be heard throughout a big site.
Very solid and robust.
Incorporates two 13A mains sockets.
Charges batteries very quickly.
Not so good things:
DAB reception breaks up if you walk near it, just like any other DAB radio. FM reception likewise.
Battery compartment latch is very awkward to open, needing two separate actions. Utterly appalling piece of design.
With a charged battery in, if the mains goes off, so does the radio. You have to manually switch it on again to make it run off the battery.
Display screen seems to have an amazing dust attractant property, making it illegible and needing wiping continuously.
Display screen illumination goes off after about 4 seconds so you can never get to read what the station is transmitting on its ticker feed unless you fiddle with the volume knob again and again.
"
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.